Jul 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #29: Sweet Temptation by Wendy Higgins

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: September 8, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 485

"Bad boy Kaidan Rowe has never wanted for anything—money, popularity, musical talent…hot girls—but seducing them is part of his duty as a Nephilim, slave to the demon Dukes. As the son of the Duke of Lust, Kaidan has learned his father’s ways, becoming a master of passion, a manipulator of chemistry. Disobeying his father would mean certain death. Thankfully for Kaidan, he’s good at his job. And he enjoys it. 
Until he meets Anna Whitt—sweet, smart, feisty, and inexplicably good—the one girl seemingly immune to his charms. The daughter of a guardian angel and a fallen one, she has a certain power over him, one that makes him wish for more than he could ever deserve. 
Determined to save all the Neph from their dark lives as the influencers of sin, Anna joins forces with Kaidan to overcome the demons’ oppressive ways. In the light of her affections, Kaidan must undergo his toughest test of all, a battle of the heart.
Sensual and swoon worthy, this companion volume to the acclaimed Sweet Evil series from New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins, told from the perspective of the irresistibly sexy and mysterious Kaidan Rowe, gives readers revealing insights into his struggle, his intense connection to Anna, and most of all, the true emotions that drive him."
AHHH! I did not know this was happening! I loved this series, and I'm so excited I get more of it! I'm sure it will be just as good as the other three books!

Jul 24, 2015

July Update: What's Coming

Hey guys! I just wanted to give a slight update on what's going to be happening for the rest of the summer. Just so you know, this mainly applies to me, Harleen, but some it also goes for Harman as well. So, here we go!

So, for the rest of July the blog will mostly remain the same, but you may not be seeing as many reviews from me. Mostly, that's because I'm trying to finish my summer reading for AP Lang which consists of 6 books. So far I've only finished 1 so.... working on that. But, at least I'm not my sister who has 7 books to read.... and hasn't finished any of them... But, also I have other summer assignments that I would like to finish so that I won't be stressed at the end of the summer and it will be my best work. 

August! There will be a lot more posts... Hopefully! But, we're going to be reading a lot more... Hopefully! This is because there are a lot of major Read-a-thons in August, and we are going to be participating in the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon. I'm really excited, and hopefully I'll get a lot of reading done! 

Oh and just so you guys know, this year Bout of Books is going to be held from August 17th to the 23rd... I'm 99% sure at least...  

So, yeah. That's July and August. After that school starts. And I would just like to emphasize that I am going into my junior year... I know STRESS! And Harman is going to her senior year... EVEN MORE STRESS! For the first half of the year at least... 

So, obviously there will be a decrease in posts, but we will definitely try to post as much as possible. I hope you guys understand! 

But, other than that, I'm done! YAY! I hope you guys enjoy the rest of your summer! 

Jul 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #28: Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: August 25, 2015
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Number of Pages: 352

"To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.
Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.
As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.
West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…"
 A new series by Abbi Glines? Sign me up!

Jul 21, 2015

Review: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Number of Pages: 345


Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.
Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.
With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more.
So, this was on my TBR for this month, and I've wanted to read it for a long time because I loved Rachel Hawkins' Hex Hall series. And let me tell you, this book did not disappoint. 

I would not say this book was cliché at all; it was very original and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The entire plot of Harper becoming a Paladin and having to protect David (who also has problems with the whole prophecy thing) was very entertaining especially because they hated each other. Also, the pacing of the book was amazing! I read the book in about two days and not once did I get bored.

Harper was a very relatable character, to me at least. She's the type of person to who also needs everything, including herself, to be perfect, and while I don't go to such extremes I do stress quite a bit, so I sympathized for her and the situation she was in. But, the best thing had to be her criticism and arguments with David. They were hilarious together, and everyone was rooting for them at the end.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to everyone because it was a great book, not as good as her Hex Hall series but close, with a great plot and amazing characters. 
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Jul 20, 2015

My Favorite YouTubers (BookTubers and Not)

For those of you who don't know, I started this blog as a way to share my love of reading without having to make videos. I still hope to make YouTube videos one day but until then I have my wonderful blog and all of you wonderful readers!!

The reason I decided to write this post is because I watch so many YouTubers and I wanted to share their wonderful selves with you guys. I watch both BookTubers and regular sit-down YouTubers.

Since you guys love to read I will start off with BookTubers. There are two main bookish folk that I watch, Heather aka Bookables and Jesse the Reader.


Heather just has the most amazing personality, she's funny, sweet, and a caring person. You can just tell through her videos. She also has her own blog where she shares more about her life and discusses more topics about books.

Connect with Bookables

Jesse the Reader

Jesse is a pretty popular BookTuber and I'm betting a lot of you know him already. He has been nominated for a Book Shimmy Award over at Epic Reads, and he is absolutely hilarious. 

Connect with Jesse

Now on to the other more typical sit-down YouTubers.

To the first person I subscribed to...


Lilly Singh is someone who just inspires you to be kind to everyone. She's a role model and she's punjabi just like me! :D

Connect with Lilly

The guy who got me totally hooked and is my favorite :D...


I found out about Joe through Buzzfeed and he is the reason I don't post as much anymore :/ Too busy watching his videos...sorry.

Connect with Joe

The guy who always cheers me up...


Tyler has this humor that will make anyone laugh. He is the queen of YouTube!

Connect with Tyler 

My favorite couple ever!!

Alfie Deyes

Connect with Alfie


I also love her makeup tutorials and her style. If only I could pull it off :/

Connect with Zoe


My favorite comedian and pizza lover...

Caspar Lee

He has collabed with people like Chris Pratt, Kevin Hart, and Maisie Williams :D

Connect with Caspar

My favorite vlogger and prankster...

Roman Atwood

As much as I love his pranks, the only reason I started to watch his vlogs is because of his son, Kane Atwood. That guy is such a cutie!!

The prank above his one of his more simpler one but it is my favorite. 

Connect with Roman

My favorite family vlogs...


They just had a little baby boy named Calvin less than 2 months ago! Congrats to them :D

Connect with Ellie and Jared
           Ellie   Jared 

There are so many other YouTubers that I absolutely adore but these are the YouTubers that I watch religiously. People like Tanya Burr, Troye Sivan, Hoodie Allen etc. are all amazing as well. I would have added them but this video took over a month to write with all the links and such but if you guys want a part two in the future let me know!!

Go and watch everyone above! Subscribe if you enjoy their videos :D

What are some YouTubers that you enjoy?