Jan 31, 2016

Sunday Post #26 & January Challenges Update!

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer~It's a chance to share news~A post to recap the past week on your blog, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

Firstlife (Everlife, #1) The Siren An Act of Salvation (Acts Of Honor, #2) Distraction (Underground Kings, #3)


Harman: I read 4 books this month!


Harleen: I read 3 books this month!
Death of a Salesman An Enemy of the People Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (Freakonomics, #1)


Harman: Unfortunately none of these books fell into the TBR challenge for me :(
Harleen: Same

New Release Challenge 2016 - (un)Conventional Bookviews

Harman: 3 books fell into this category for me:
Harleen: None of these books fell into this category for me :(

That Artsy Reader Girl
Neither of us were able to get our hands on any books by debut authors this month. :(

Jan 30, 2016

New Releases (Week of 1/31/2016)

Can I just say how PSYCHED I am for February?! There are SOOOO many new books coming out this month and then on the 20th I turned 18...like WHAT? How am I going to be an adult in 2 weeks? Either way, this week I've got five books whose releases I am ecstatic about.

The first book is being released tomorrow, it is...Beautiful Burn by Jamie McGuire!

Beautiful Burn (The Maddox Brothers, #4)Release Date: January 31, 2016
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 304

"Fresh out of college, Ellison Edson has fallen through the cracks of rock bottom. While staying in her family’s vacation home in Colorado, her behavior has finally gained the attention of her parents—but not in the way she hoped. Cut off from the millions she’s always taken for granted, and left alone to fend for herself, Ellie spirals further out of control, making a mistake she can’t take back.Like his twin brother Taylor, Tyler Maddox is a member of the Alpine Hotshots, fighting wildland fires on the frontline. As arrogant as he is charming, Tyler’s nomadic lifestyle makes it easy to contain his relationships to one night. When he meets Ellie at a local party during off-season, her extreme personality and dismissive attitude fascinates him at first, but as his feelings deepen, Tyler realizes that the crippling inner demons of the woman he loves might be the strongest enemy any Maddox has ever faced."

I feel like it has been forever since I read the last book, Beautiful Sacrifice. I was sure that I had missed a book when I saw this one was coming out. I am so ready to read the last Maddox Brothers book!
This book is one that I'm sure every YA fan is psyched for, it is...Stars Above by Marissa Meyer!

Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles #0.5, 0.6, 1.5, 3.1, 3.6)Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: Fierce Reads
Number of Pages: 304

"The enchantment continues....The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies?With nine stories—five of which have never before been published—and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.--The Little Android: A retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid,” set in the world of The Lunar Chronicles.Glitches: In this prequel to Cinder, we see the results of the plague play out, and the emotional toll it takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….The Queen’s Army: In this prequel to Scarlet, we’re introduced to the army Queen Levana is building, and one soldier in particular who will do anything to keep from becoming the monster they want him to be.Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: Thirteen-year-old Carswell Thorne has big plans involving a Rampion spaceship and a no-return trip out of Los Angeles.The Keeper: A prequel to the Lunar Chronicles, showing a young Scarlet and how Princess Selene came into the care of Michelle Benoit.After Sunshine Passes By: In this prequel to Cress, we see how a nine-year-old Cress ended up alone on a satellite, spying on Earth for Luna.The Princess and the Guard: In this prequel to Winter, we see a game called The PrincessThe Mechanic: In this prequel to Cinder, we see Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s perspective.Something Old, Something New: In this epilogue to Winter, friends gather for the wedding of the century.."

I am so excited for this book! I rarely get to read novellas since they are mostly e-book only and I don't buy e-books unless I have to. Now I can finally read all these amazing stories!
I just discovered this author and I finished this book last night, it is...Distraction by Aurora Rose Reynolds!

Distraction (Underground Kings, #3)Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: N/A

"Distraction: The great intensity, novelty, or attractiveness of something other than the object of attention.Sven is a man who takes pride in his ability to separate himself from his emotions. He's a man who knows who he is and where he’s going in life, a man who needs no one, because needing someone, anyone, is a weakness. His past taught him love isn’t enough.  Maggie wants the happily ever after, but has never picked the right men, or stuck around long enough, to build a forever. It’s always been easier to get out early, before emotions make things messy. When Maggie wakes up naked in Sven’s bed, with no memory of the night before, these two must be honest about their feelings and face their fears, so they can build a future together.Will love be enough for them to get their happy ending together, or will a threat from outside strike them down before they ever have a chance?"

Aurora Rose Reynolds is slowly becoming my favorite adult author. She writes the most amazing alpha males :D I recieved an ARC of this and the review is going up Monday! It was an amazing book so keep an eye out for this one!
I'm not big on sci-fi or fantasy but this is one I have to check out. Starflight by Melissa Landers!

Starflight (Starflight, #1)Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Number of Pages: 320

"Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She's so desperate to reach the realm that she's willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he's been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe..."

The concept and plot are just so intriguing that this is one that I have to check out. Some mentioned there was space pirates so how could I not want to read this book?
The last book of this week's releases is...Assassin's Heart by Sarah Aheirs!

Assassin's Heart (Assassin's Heart, #1)Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 400

"In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down.
Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay.
With shades of The Godfather and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a story of love, lies, and the ultimate vengeance."

Another fantasy novel but it sounds so good! I also am in love with the cover. 

What new releases are you excited for?

Jan 29, 2016

Review: An Unlawful Justice by K.C. Lynn & K Langston

Unlawful JusticeAuthor: KC Lynn & K Langston
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 288

"Seek the truth and you will find justice. The peaceful town of Harmony Falls, Texas, has been rocked to its core by an unspeakable crime. One that harbors revenge and injustice. Schoolteacher Olivia Bradshaw can’t remember what happened that horrific night, but it’s easy to see the effect it’s had on those around her. All she wants is for peace to be restored to her beloved hometown, but Deputy Grayson Taylor is on a different mission. He seeks truth and justice, and he’ll do whatever it takes to find both for Olivia. Lines will be crossed. Secrets revealed. Can justice prevail, or will the citizens of Harmony Falls succumb to the corruption and hate that continues to plague their small town? "

The amount of love I have for this book can honestly not be put into words. With the very relatable struggle that is presented in this book, anyone and anything could fall in love with Olivia and Grayson's story. KC Lynn and K Langston's writing just melds into this perfect blend of a story that every reader craves.

When I read this book I was very hesitant by the fact that KC was collaborating with another author. I never read any of K Langston's book before this and I had read all of KC's books. Well...I don't know why the hell I was worried. Both authors did just a fantastic job working on a story about an issue that is close to my heart and they did such an excellent job. Working on stories that incorporate issues like these can be difficult and to be honest, a bit risky. This story is about racial tensions between African Americans and law enforcement--an issue that the United States seems to be dealing with every other week. Langston and Lynn nailed this story while creating amazing characters.

My favorite part about the story was the fact that these authors weren't afraid to pull out all the stops and present the truth. I don't want to spoil anything but there were scenes that were definitely difficult to read but they realized that they story wouldn't be complete without them. 

The characters in this book are amazing. Olivia is such a brave young woman who has to go through some terrible ordeals and Grayson is the handsome cop who is only looking to bring this town some peace and justice. They were just amazing characters. They just made me feel all the feels. 
This story can be described with that one GIF.

This is a romance novel, but its a romance novel that presents a very real issue that this entire world is facing. The US isn't the only one facing racial tensions.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a romance novel where the problem is more than just a lover's spat. If you love KC's book then you will enjoy this as well. I can't speak for K Langston but I do know that I've already one-clicked a couple of her books and will be reading those ASAP.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the authors for an honest review.