Dec 31, 2015

2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

Thanks to the Perpetual Page Turner for this amazing idea that I love doing every year.
Harleen and I are both participating in this post so Harman's answers will be labeled with LB and in blue while Harleen's answer will be labeled with HK and in red.
best-YA-books-2014-900x244
1. Best Book You Read In 2015?
LB: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
HK: The Martian by Andy Weir
2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
LB: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton. Everyone was loving this book and there was me in a corner just hating it.
HK: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Obviously my sister loved it, but I didn't enjoy the writing style. I didn't hate it, but it was a disappointment.
 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
LB: Forgetting August's ending was....gahhh I can't even talk about. The book was just a disappointment . 
HK: Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson
 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
LB: Definitely Red Queen. I convinced my school librarian and public librarian to buy the book and since I work at Barnes and Noble, a lot of customers as well.
HK: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. An amazing graphic novel I recently read and have gotten my sister and friends to read.
 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?
LB: Best new series: Red Queen or The Lone City (The Jewel) both were absolutely amazing!!
Best Sequel: The Heir by Kiera Cass. The Selection is one of my favorite series and this book broke me.
Best Series Ender: Aflame by Penelope Douglas. I'm so sad to see this series go but I have plenty more to look forward to frome her :)
HK: Best new series: Thunder Road series by Katie McGarry

Best Sequel: The Heir by Kiera Cass. Beautifully written and definitely a good continuation to the series

Best Series Ender: Tied by Emma Chase. I freaking love this series, and Drew is one of my favorite characters of all time. 
 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
LB: KC Lynn, she's a new adult author who is self-published but I can really see the growth in her writing but her characters are 100% swoon-worthy. 
HK: Ernest Cline, he is amazing at both character and plot development. 
7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
LB: Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof. This book brought so much light into my understanding of female inequality. I don't enjoy reading nonfiction but this was the first book I did truly love. 
HK: The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz. I don't really read middle grade, but I had fun with this one especially because of the Disney characters.
 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
LB: Falling for Danger by Chanel Cleeton. Kate is such a badass. 
HK: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. So good, definitely pick it up if you haven't.  
 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
LB: Since Glass Sword is coming out right before my birthday I will probably be rereading Red Queen. 
HK: Probably The Wicked Will Rise because the next book in the Dorothy Must Die series is coming out next year and I'll probably need a brush up.
10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
LB: 
The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)    The Heir (The Selection, #4)
HK:  


11. Most memorable character of 2015?
LB: Definitely Cade in Resisting Temptation by KC Lynn. That man is definitely right up there with Cage York but Cade is definitely much more of a bad boy ;)

HK: Definitely Mark Watney from The Martian. Freaking. Hilarious. Even when he's stranded on Mars.
 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?
LB: The Sleeper in the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. Damn, if you ever need a fast read that will make your mind explode then read this. Not to mention the illustrations are beautiful :D
HK: All My Sons by Arthur Miller. An amazing play that I would definitely recommend. It sends an amazing message, and Miller is a classic author everyone should read.
13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?
LB: Once again that would have to be Half the Sky. The reason for feminism in developed countries seems stupid when you read this. This book will prove to anyone why feminism is needed, and it is definitely not because of unequal pay.
HK: All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque. I've always been interested in war, but this book put it in an entire different perspective. When I got to the epilogue I was truly speechless.
 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 
LB: Persuasion by Jane Austen. The plot was amazing. 
HK: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Why did I wait so long? It's been sitting on my shelf for forever.
 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?
LB: If I'm looking for a fancy quote that destroys me then it is: “In the fairy tales, the poor girl smiles when she becomes a princess. Right now, I don't know if I'll ever smile again.” ~Red Queen

If we're looking for something that makes me smile like an idiots then it is: "He grinned. 'My girl. My fucking jersey.'" ~Until Friday Night
HK: “I guess you could call it a "failure", but I prefer the term "learning experience".” from The Martian. Check out my favorite quotes post here
16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?
LB: Shortest Book: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
Longest Book: Falling Away by Penelope Douglas
HK: Shortest Book: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
Longest Book: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
 17. Book That Shocked You The Most
LB: Falling for Danger...I truly was not expecting the book to end the way that it did. It took me a long time to accept that it ended the way that it did.
HK: I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. 
18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
LB: Sawyer and Grace from Sweet Temptation by KC Lynn. Sexy Sawyer all the way!
HK: Callie and Kayden from The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden <3
19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
LB: Cade Walker and little Ruthie. This relationship might be the only reason that Cade has surpassed Cage. Their relationship melts my heart.
HK: Jude and Noah from I'll Give You the Sun. They're so freaking cool, I can't.
20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously.
LB: The Heir by Kiera Cass
HK: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
LB: The Sleeper and the Spindle. I read this solely because Harleen said it was a fast read and it was still good.
HK: All Quiet on the Western Front. Well... my English teacher didn't really recommend so much as give me a grade for reading this book, but it was still amazing.
22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
LB: Cade Walker from Resisting Temptation by KC Lynn. I think he may have taken over Cage York's position as favorite book boyfriend...sorry Cage.
HK: David from Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins. Funny and smart, what else do you need.
23. Best 2015 debut you read?
LB: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard definitely.
HK: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I'm pretty sure it's the only one I read...
24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
LB: Red Queen. It was one of the reasons I loved it as much as I did. I could picture everything.
HK: Spinning Starlight by RC Lewis. Even though I think she spent too much time on it, it was really well written. 
25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
LB: Until Jax by Aurora Rose Reynolds. 
HK: Either Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins or On the Fence by Kasie West. Both were so freaking cute, I can't.
26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?
LB: Only one book made me cry and that was The Heir by Kiera Cass, that ending plus Shawn Mendes will bring anyone to tears.
HK: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen. The ending... 
27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
LB: Fighting Temptation by KC Lynn. If this wasn't free on Amazon I would have never experienced the magic of KC's books. 
HK: The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill
28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
LB: The Heir by Kiera Cass. THAT ENDING KILLED ME
HK: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen. Again, the ending.
29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?
LB: Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Autobiography. Neil kept it unique as always. 
HK: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. I really enjoyed this book, but it really was weird.
30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
LB: An Act of Redemption by KC Lynn. Why the hell she would put us through that emotional rollercoaster I will never know. 
HK: First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung. I wasn't mad at the book. No it was more the Khmer Rouge. And communism. 

book-blogging-900x244
1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?
2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?
LB: Probably my Red Queen review. I don't think I've ever spent so much time on a review.
HK: Probably my series review of Dorothy Must Die. I had fun writing it, and I had a heart attack once I realized I hadn't written it earlier. 
3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
LB: Most likely the 2015 Debut Author Bash with Stephanie Oakes. I loved interviewing her since I loved her book so much :)
HK: Probably any of my Waiting on Wednesday's. Especially the one I wrote on The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. Those gifs... I crack up every time.
4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
LB: The 2015 Debut Author Bash where I hosted Stephanie Oakes. 
HK: Probably the readathon we participated in over the summer. 
5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?
LB: I beta read a book for the first time! The book is set for release in 2017 but I am so excited for you all to read it! I will post more information on the book when I can.
HK: Well, I started blogging December 2014, so I guess mine would be really starting and getting into the community of book blogging. It's so much fun I'm so glad my sister asked me to join.
6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?
LB: Just getting the motivation to. This year was so stressful with college applications and high school in general that whenever I had a free moment I just wanted to sit and watch TV or read. 
HK: Balancing it out with the stress of junior year. I wish I had more time to read, then I would have been able to write more reviews.
7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

ARC Review & Giveaway: Red Queen Victoria Aveyard

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
LB: The whole blog :P Kidding, but there isn't a specific post
HK: My review of The Martian because I loved that book, and I wish people would read the review and choose to pick it up themselves. It really would be worth it. 
9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
LB: Evie Seo's Society 6 Shop. Dorm room shopping is going to be fun this summer :P (Sorry Mom)
HK: 
10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
LB: I completed my Goodreads goal of reading of 70 books. I read 87 books!
HK: I did accomplish my goal of reading 50 books this year! I read a total of 56. 

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244
1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?
LB: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.
HK: I'm going to reread the entire Lunar Chronicles series so I can finally get to Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer because I remember almost nothing. 
2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?
LB: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. This is one I'm definitely going to buy before reading :D
HK: The Crown by Kiera Cass. The next book in the Selection series.
3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
LB: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
HK: These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker
4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?
LB: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard and The Crown by Kiera Cass. 
HK: The Crown by Kiera Cass 
5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?
LB: Blog more, this year was so complicated and stressful with my personal life that this blog took the back burner. I definitely want to post at least a couple times a week.
HK: I'm striving to read 75 books in 2016 which may be too much, but we'll see....
6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
LB: I haven't read any since I'm still trying to catch up on all the books that came out in 2015!
HK: I haven't read any....

Dec 30, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #38: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Author: Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: January 5, 2016

Synopsis:
"On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.
In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.
Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.
Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.
Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch. "
I didn't love Something Strange and Deadly, but everyone has been really excited for this book and it's making me excited too. Also, can we all just appreciate the cover? I mean, it's amazing. 


Dec 29, 2015

Review: Armada by Ernest Cline

Author: Ernest Cline
Publisher: Crown Publishing
Number of Pages: 349

Synopsis:
"Zack Lightman has spent his life dreaming. Dreaming that the real world could be a little more like the countless science-fiction books, movies, and videogames he’s spent his life consuming. Dreaming that one day, some fantastic, world-altering event will shatter the monotony of his humdrum existence and whisk him off on some grand space-faring adventure.
But hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little escapism, right? After all, Zack tells himself, he knows the difference between fantasy and reality. He knows that here in the real world, aimless teenage gamers with anger issues don’t get chosen to save the universe.
And then he sees the flying saucer.
Even stranger, the alien ship he’s staring at is straight out of the videogame he plays every night, a hugely popular online flight simulator called Armada—in which gamers just happen to be protecting the earth from alien invaders. 
No, Zack hasn’t lost his mind. As impossible as it seems, what he’s seeing is all too real. And his skills—as well as those of millions of gamers across the world—are going to be needed to save the earth from what’s about to befall it.
It’s Zack’s chance, at last, to play the hero. But even through the terror and exhilaration, he can’t help thinking back to all those science-fiction stories he grew up with, and wondering: Doesn’t something about this scenario seem a little…familiar?
At once gleefully embracing and brilliantly subverting science-fiction conventions as only Ernest Cline could, Armada is a rollicking, surprising thriller, a classic coming of age adventure, and an alien invasion tale like nothing you’ve ever read before—one whose every page is infused with the pop-culture savvy that has helped make Ready Player One a phenomenon."
I've been raving about Ready Player One by Ernest Cline this entire year. It is definitely my favorite book of the year, so I had high expectations for this book. I wouldn't say it disappointed me, but it definitely wasn't as good as his other book. I know a lot of people didn't like it because they thought it was a lot like Ender's Game, but I haven't read it so...

The characters were the strongest aspect of the book. The author did a really nice job of creating a group of funny, relatable characters that the reader falls in love with. Although, I will say that I thought the romance aspect of the book was a little unnecessary, but I grew to be okay with it. My favorite character was definitely Zack and his two friends, the Marks, because they were hilarious and relatable.

Although, I didn't love the plot. The entire time I was stuck thinking that this book could have gone in so many better directions. I mean, the book wasn't bad, and the ending definitely came as a surprise but I expected something... more. The whole story seemed a little cliché and typical of a science fiction novel. And I've seen a lot of Goodreads reviews saying the same thing, so just a warning for those of you who love science fiction. This isn't the most original. 

Although, for anyone new to science fiction or looking to get into it, I would definitely recommend this book. It's funny, the characters are amazing, and while the plot isn't the best it's a nice start. Overall, I enjoyed the book, but it could've been so much more and that left me a little disappointed.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!
 
 

Dec 28, 2015

All the Books I Forgot to Review in 2015: Part 2

UnteachableAuthor: Leah Raeder
Publisher: Atria
Number of Pages: 320

Synopsis:
"Maise O’Malley just turned eighteen, but she’s felt like a grown-up her entire life. The summer before senior year, she has plans: get into a great film school, convince her mom to go into rehab, and absolutely do not, under any circumstances, screw up her own future.
But life has a way of throwing her plans into free-fall.
When Maise meets Evan at a carnival one night, their chemistry is immediate, intense, and short-lived. Which is exactly how she likes it: no strings. But afterward, she can’t get Evan out of her head. He’s taught her that a hookup can be something more. It can be an unexpected connection with someone who truly understands her. Someone who sees beyond her bravado to the scared but strong girl inside.
That someone turns out to be her new film class teacher, Mr. Evan Wilke.
Maise and Evan resolve to keep their hands off each other, but the attraction is too much to bear. Together, they’re real and genuine; apart, they’re just actors playing their parts for everyone else. And their masks are slipping. People start to notice. Rumors fly. When the truth comes to light in a shocking way, they may learn they were just playing parts for each other, too.
Smart, sexy, and provocative, Unteachable is about what happens when a love story goes off-script."
So I didn't read the synopsis before requesting this book on Netgalley and I did not expect this. I am someone who steers clear of any books with student-teacher relationship, and so I really didn't like this book at all. I just felt so detached from the book and the characters. To really enjoy a book I feel like you have to be able to relate to a character or be able to imagine yourself in their shoes, and I just couldn't do that.

Leah Raeder writes about topics that are not written as often as your typical sweet romance novels or sweet girls tames the bad-boy romances. She writes books that are different and I applaud her for that, but this was just one book that I felt entirely too uncomfortable reading. The writing style was amazing, Raeder is no newbie when it comes to writing novels, so if you are okay with reading about student-teacher relationships I would recommend taking a look at Unteachable.

I didn't want to give this book a bad review because the writing is good, the character development is excellent, but the concept of the book was just not appealing to me. If Maise and Evan were simply people who had a random hookup and ran into each other at a later time I would have been totally fine with it, that is why I am giving the book 3 out of 5 stars.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher and Netgalley for an honest review.


Author: Elizabeth Reyes
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 327

Synopsis:
"Having made it to the major leagues, AJ "Rage" Romero is determined to shake the stigma his temper has earned him over the years. He's finally managed a shaky hold of that elusive self-control.
Until he meets them . . .
Without warning, his coach and mentor's brilliantly gifted granddaughter Clair and her equally amazing mother Addison Lara blow into AJ's life. The harder he falls for Addison, the closer and more attached he becomes to Clair. 
Having fallen so fast and hard, he agrees to respect the understandably protective single mother's wish to forever keep the identity of Clair's absent father unknown to everyone—including AJ.
But when the ugly truth about Clair's dad begins to surface, the fire in AJ's fiercely possessive heart is lit. As more of the troubling reality comes to light, his zero tolerance for secrets and dishonesty put his temper—and his love for Addison—to the ultimate test.
Self-control has never felt so impossible."
Elizabeth Reyes is one of my favorite authors and she is one of my few "one-click" authors. Rage only disappointed in one way and that was the fact that it wasn't a story about Brandon and Regina :P .

AJ "Rage" Romero is absolutely adorable. I know that isn't a word that many would use to describe him but his relationship with Clair is exactly that, adore. That relationship makes him adorable. While he does have a temper he is mostly a caring guy who only wants the people he cares about to be happy. 

Addison is such a great mother, she's a bit overprotective of Clair as most readers would have noticed but its a good kind of protectiveness. Her chemistry with AJ was mindblowing, they had this connection from the very beginning. She was a bit disappointing compared to some of the other heroines that Reyes has written. As smart as she is, she definitely needed to think through some of the decisions she made towards the end of the book. 

As much I loved the relationship portion of the book, the aspect that really made me love this book was Clair. She reminded me so much of my younger-self (the baseball fanatic, not the smart part) I loved baseball. I was a diehard Yankees fan who worshiped Derek Jeter. Clair is such a ball of light and I like her more than Addy (sorry!). 

I really recommend reading Elizabeth Reyes's books. They will definitely make you feel all fuzzy inside. I always pick up her books when I'm feeling down and they are always a quick pick me up.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the author for an honest review.




Author: Lia Riley
Publisher: Grand Central/Forever
Number of Pages: 384

Synopsis:
"It was only meant to last the summer . . .
Talia Stolfi has seen more than her share of loss in her twenty-one years. But then fate brought her Bran Lockhart, and her dark world was suddenly and spectacularly illuminated. So if being with Bran means leaving her colorless NorCal life for rugged and wild Australia, then that’s what she’ll do. But as much as Talia longs to give herself over completely to a new beginning, the fears of her past are still lurking in the shadows.
Bran Lockhart knows that living without the beautiful girl who stole his heart will be torment, so he’ll take whatever time with her he can. But even though she has packed up her life in California and is back in his arms for the time being, she can’t stay forever. And the remaining time they have together is ticking by way too fast. Though fate seems determined to tear them apart, they won’t give up without a fight—because while time may have limits, their love is infinite . . . "
So...when I was going through the books that I read this year and was supposed to review I thought I had already reviewed this. Somehow I reviewed the first book and the third book in the series but I didn't review the second book...I don't know how that happened but it did and now I'm simply confused between what happened in the second book and the third.

I will say that overall, I do remember loving this book. Bran and Talia have this amazing relationship and it does have a little more than the average number of bumps in their road. The entire series is beautifully written and the characters are amazing. 

I definitely recommend reading this series. If you guys want to read a more in-depth review of Bran and Talia's relationship then click here for the review of book 1, Upside Down.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher and Netgalley for an honest review.


Dec 27, 2015

Stacking the Shelves #28

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Visit Tynga's Reviews to learn more about this weekly meme.

For Review:
 


From the Library:




Bought:


What new books hit your shelves?


Dec 25, 2015

Happy Holidays from Little Bookworm Reviews!!

Harleen and I just wanted to say a quick Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! Hope you all are having a wonderful day filled with friends, family, love, and even more books!

merry christmas christmas gif winnie pooh merry christmas gif micimackó

christmas merry christmas merry various tv christmas

See you all tomorrow with a new post!!

Dec 24, 2015

All the Books I Forgot to Review in 2015: Part 1

So 2015 was probably the worst year for this blog. With me being in the middle of my junior year and then applying to college the beginning of my senior year there has just been no time for myself. I haven't read all that much either but there were some books I read that I didn't get to review...and they were books that I was supposed to :/ . So I decided to start 2016 on a fresh start.

Forgetting August (Lost & Found, #1)Author: J.L. Berg
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Number of Pages: 384

Synopsis:
"She can forgive, but can she forget?Some days, Everly still thinks she sees him. In the food court at the mall, or in a car speeding past as the light changes. It only lasts a second, but when it happens, she slips back to a time when she was ruled-and nearly ruined-by August Kincaid. And it doesn't matter that she's moved on, that she's about to marry another man. In those moments the only thing she can do to regain control is take a deep breath and remind herself that August can't hurt her-because he's in a coma. Except that he's not anymore.August is awake. With no memories, he sets out to solve the mystery of his lost life. He unearths a photograph of a beautiful redhead named Everly and knows instinctively that she's the key. But when he finds her, the August she describes is more monster than man.
Tortured by the thought of having hurt her, August wants only to become the man Everly deserves. As the new August emerges, Everly glimpses the person she first fell in love with. But can she trust that this August is real? When the final secret of their shared past is revealed, one of them will make a choice that changes their future forever . . ."
I had so many problems with this book, even when it started. Everly is with this guy that loves her unconditionally even though she is still in love with August and then discards him for August, and it is all just so frustrating. Even when I continued with the book there were just so many times that I just wanted to punch Everly in the face over and over again. She is exactly the type of person I just absolutely despise. She is stuck in this position where she is constantly hurting people and it honestly doesn't seem like she cares. I understand she has been though a lot but that is not an excuse to continually hurt people over and over again.

Then there was Ryan...oh holy lord was he an amazing character...until the end. I'm gunna leave it at that.

August is a prick. I loved him through the majority of the book but one of the decisions he made just pissed me off so much that I had to put the book down for an entire week before I convinced myself that I had to finish it.

To be honest, a lot of people did enjoy this book. The book is beautifully written in terms of style but I can't get behind the characters or the plot. It really gutted me because I ADORE J.L. Berg's Ready series, so I jumped on the opportunity to read this book and I was so utterly disappointed. I do think that Everly was the main reason I really disliked this book. If she wasn't herself than maybe I could have enjoyed it a lot more. One this is clear, I will not be reading the next book. 

Although I will applause whoever made the cover. It is definitely a favorite of 2015.

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.



Falling for Danger (Capital Confessions, #3)Author: Chanel Cleeton
Publisher: Intermix
Number of Pages: 304

Synopsis:
"Kate Reynolds has just graduated from college and is determined to make it on her own. Her job as a junior political analyst at the CIA is a dream come true and the perfect opportunity to find answers about the night that’s plagued her for four years—the night she lost her fiancé, Matt, on a Special Forces mission in Afghanistan. Kate’s consumed with uncovering the truth and avenging the man she loved and lost, even if it means risking her own life to prove that his death wasn’t an accident.
When she gets too close to discovering what happened that fateful night and danger arrives on her doorstep, Kate’s stunned by the man who comes to her rescue. Together, they begin to dig for the truth, fighting to stay alive as they’re dragged down into a world of secrets and lies. But when the threat hits close to home, Kate must choose between vengeance and a future with the man who’s ignited a fire inside her that she thought died long ago."
I swear Chanel Cleeton writes books the most amazing books. Never have I been so happy with an author. Cleeton writes books that readers swear can't be beat, and with every book she continues to prove them wrong. This is definitely my favorite of her books but I will probably be saying that about her next release.

Kate is definitely my girl. I have never loved a heroine the way I loved her. I'm constantly obsessed with the male characters but Cleeton wrote a female character that I'm obsessed with. The things I would do for a sequel to Kate's story. 

One of the reasons I waited to write this review was because I found it so hard to write this review without spoilers. This story is just filled with so much material that I want to talk about but I can't because it would spoil so much. I will say that Kate's story is very different from what I expected. She continued to surprise me throughout the entire novel as did the story itself. There are no "predictable" moments in this book. Really, this series is very unpredictable. This book changed the way I thought about this series. This isn't another New Adult romance novel that has some serious moments. This entire series could be a thriller. I seriously wonder whether the author herself was expecting the series to go in this direction because there is so much contrast between the first book and Falling for Danger. 

I definitely recommend reading this series or any of Cleeton's books. She is one of my favorite authors and she continues to exceed my expectations. This book is a must for New Adult romance fans.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.


One Last SongAuthor: S.K. Falls
Publisher: Forever Yours
Number of Pages: 336

Synopsis:
"I was seven when I swallowed my first needle.
My mom freaked out and rushed me to the emergency room.
She stayed by my side all night.
I never wanted it to end.
When you spend your whole life feeling invisible-when your parents care more about deals and deadlines than they do about you-you find ways of making people take notice. Little things at first. Then bigger. It's scary how fast it grows. Then one day something happens that makes you want to stop. To get better. To be better. And for the first time, you understand what it's like to feel whole, happy . . . loved. For the first time, you love someone back.
For me, that someone was Drew."
One thing I have to compliment S.K. Falls for is writing about such a original book about a topic that is foreign to so many people. 

I do have to say that this is a very difficult book to read because of the things the main character, Saylor, does to herself. The writing is absolutely beautiful and the author is very talented but I could feel my mind urging me to put down the book so many times while reading this. Saylor has Munchausen Syndrome, an illness that compels a person to make themselves sick so some of the things she does is very graphic and disturbing.

When I first starting reading the book I thought Saylor was just trying to get attention which was part of the illness but nonetheless it is because of her illness.  I did feel for her but there were definitely times where I wanted to smack her or locked her in a room. 

This book is definitely not for people who get quesy or sick easily. It is very hard stomach. It is definitely a book that I read and then pushed to the back of my mind. It is not something I want to be thinking about because the book was so hard to read in the first place that reading it a second time would be impossible. 

S.K. Falls did a beautiful job writing the book and coming up with characters so if you think you can handle the graphic parts then I highly suggest reading it. I read it in parts rather that trying to wrap my head around it at one time.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher and Netgalley for an honest review.

Author: K.C. Lynn
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 263

Synopsis:
"She saw in him what no one else could see. 
He found in her what he could never find. 
One moment changed everything but, even with a break in time, their connection could never be severed. 
In the beginning he may have been her salvation, but in the end she will be his redemption. "
Okay, I'm just do this before I start this review so I can actually concentrate on writing this review... Logan is such a hottie and it is really hard to concentrate on anything else (unless it is Cade :P ) so I'm just say this know. Logan is amazing. He said and did so many things that made me melt right where I was sitting and I would just read those lines over and over and over again. He is definitely my second favorite of K.C.'s guys, the first being Cade. :D

K.C. Lynn is a go to author. Whenever I want to reread something or I want something that I just want to disappear into I read K.C.'s books. Her books are books that I pick up the second I get a chance. The second I found out that I could read this book I did.

Anna is someone we met in K.C.'s first book, Fighting Temptation, and we fell in love with. She was the sweet kid who went through something horrible but still was an amazing person. We ended Resisting Temptation with Logan, Anna's boyfriend, being arrested for murder and this is their story.

Anna is such an rich character (not money rich), she just has so many great qualities and some that aren't so great. She's human and she is definitely a character that makes me want to change so I can be a better character. Anna is genuinely an selfless person which is seen from her relationship with Sarge, who I might add is freaking hilarious. 

I did feel that the book was a bit short and it was rushed towards the end where the climax occurred, but other than that I found the book to perfect.

K.C. did a fantastic job writing Anna and Logan's story and I couldn't have been happier. The ending definitely made me want to bawl my eyes out, this book was such a tearjerker! I highly recommend reading this book and the series. All the guys that K.C. writes about are the type of guys I wish there were more of in this world. I can't really see someone not enjoying her books.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the author for an honest review.

There are 4 more books that I still have to review so look out for that soon!