Sep 26, 2015

Discussion Post: Reading Multiple Books at the Same Time

I have been wanting to write this post for a long time now because I am in the position right now where I have been reading a minimum of 3 books at one time since May. And it's annoying.

Now you may be wondering why I'm reading so many books if I don't like doing that. Well, it's because I get bored of certain books, and instead of pushing through to finish them I put them aside and start a new book. I know, I'm horrible. It's just that I don't want to push through a book and then end up hating it. Instead, I want to read it when I'm in the mood to and actually end up enjoying it.

That part is okay, but what sucks is when you see the number of books on your currently reading list on Goodreads. I just want to get through the books, but then I go to pick them up and I don't want to anymore. It's so overwhelming!

But, my goal is to get through all the books that are on my Goodreads currently reading list by the end of the year. I can do it!

But, overall I don't recommend reading multiple books at one time because it can get overwhelming when they start to pile up. If you aren't enjoying a book I would recommend to stop reading that book and pick it up when you feel like reading it, or push through the book and try again if you didn't like it.

How do you feel about reading multiple books at the same time?

Sep 24, 2015

TV Review: Scream Queens (Episode 1)

To be honest I wasn't planning on watching this. Agents of SHIELD is on Tuesdays so I wouldn't have time to watch this. However, I was flipping through the channels trying to find something to watch since I had Wednesday off for Yom Kippur and could stay up later and I came across this.

I started the show right in the middle of the character introductions and kept watching until the last 30 minutes of the show.

I have mixed feelings for the show. I didn't find that it was comedy and it wasn't horror. It seems like a mix--and a confusing mix. The two genres seemed very separated from each other and the comedy wasn't all that funny. I was more intrigued by the horror than anything. It isn't something that is really scary to watch. It is light horror with really bad stabbings and killings. Like something that is supposed to be funny but its really not. With that it would definitely be something I would watch if it were ever on Netflix (I am not letting go of SHIELD...EVER!) I did stop watching the show with only 30 minutes left of it because I got sick of the commercials so I didn't watch the ending.

I didn't really like one thing about the show--one was a scene that reminded me of the Nicole Arbour video that had recently become very infamous. I realize that this episode would have been filmed before that video came out and it didn't quite get to that level. I'm not even slightly overweight or anything and even I found that some people could be offended and turned off by it. Unfortunately, it isn't something that you wouldn't find in a comedy movie. 

I did love seeing all these different faces in the show--many of who haven't been seen on TV in a long time. I loved seeing Nick Jones, Ariana Grande, and Diego Boneta. Diego was my favorite on the show!

Overall, I found that I would watch the show if it didn't conflict with Agents of SHIELD and if commercials didn't exist. Hopefully it will be on Netflix shortly after the season ends. Harleen also enjoyed the show but thought that it would quickly become a disappointment. I can definitely see where she is coming from. With the comedy and horror mix they have going on they will have to be careful. 

Fans of Pretty Little Liars would enjoy this as long as they don't mind the comedy in it. 

I give the show a 7 out of 10. 

Sep 23, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #33: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights 
upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: February 9, 2016
Publisher: Harper Teen
Number of Pages: 304

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.
But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.
With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.
With lush writing and a star–crossed romance, Reign of Shadows is Sophie Jordan at her best.

What books are you "waiting on"?

Sep 22, 2015

Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

1. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

2. Armada by Ernest Cline

3. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

4. Throne of Class by Sarah J. Maas

5. Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

6. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

7. Grimm's Fairy Tales by Jacob Grimm

8. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

9. Far, Far Away by Tom McNeal

10. Percy Jackson's Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

Sep 19, 2015

Review: Violent Ends edited by Shaun David Hutchinson

Authors: Shaun David Hutchinson, Kendare Blake,Steve Brezenoff, Delilah S. Dawson,Trish Doller, Margie Gelbwasser,E.M. Kokie, Cynthia Leitich Smith , Tom Leveen, Hannah Moskowitz, Elisa Nader, Beth Revis, Mindi Scott, Neal Shusterman, Brandon Shusterman,Courtney Summers, Blythe Woolston, Christine Johnson
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Number of Pages: 384

"It took only twenty-two minutes for Kirby Matheson to exit his car, march onto school grounds, enter the gymnasium, and open fire, killing six and injuring five others. 
But this isn't a story about the shooting itself. This isn't about recounting that one unforgettable day.
This is about Kirby and how one boy—who had friends, enjoyed reading, played saxophone in the band, and had never been in trouble before—became a monster capable of entering his school with a loaded gun and firing on his classmates.
Each chapter is told from a different victim's viewpoint, giving insight into who Kirby was and who he'd become. Some are sweet, some are dark; some are seemingly unrelated, about fights or first kisses or late-night parties. 
This is a book of perspectives—with one character and one event drawing them all together—from the minds of some of YA's most recognizable names."
I don't think I have ever read a book like this one. It was not only powerful but unique as well. Definitely one of my favorite books of the year.

I can't say too much about the characters because you only read about each for a chapter. But, you did learn a lot about Kirby as the book went on. The reader gets a lot of mixed signals about his character as a whole, and I think that's partially because each chapter is by a different author. Still, I think that that displayed reality in that not everyone is going to like you and everyone has a different view on your personality.

The plot alone seemed different for each chapter, but there was always the focal point of Kirby. I thought this was a very interesting concept that keeps the reader guessing and emotional because each character's story was different, and you start to feel for all of them. Some of the chapters were a little uncomfortable for me, but when I think back to it I know that it's really just reality.

I would recommend this for everyone over the age of 13, and I really hope you guys pick it up. It's a very powerful book, and one that will definitely be one of my favorite books of the year.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Sep 16, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #32: Reading the Sweet Oak by Jan Stites

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights 
upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: Sept. 29th, 2015
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Number of Pages: 375

"Along the banks of the Sweet Oak River, deep in the heart of the Ozarks, a romance novel book club takes five women on stunning journeys of self-discovery.
After losing first her husband, then her daughter, seventy-eight-year-old grandmother Ruby wants to teach her risk-averse granddaughter, Tulsa, that some leaps are worth taking, no matter how high the potential fall. Tulsa loves her grandmother dearly, but she has a business to run and no time for romance—not even the paperback version. But when Ruby ropes her into a book club, Tulsa can’t bring herself to disappoint the woman who raised her.
Together with Ruby’s best friend, Pearl, as well as family friends BJ and Jen, the women embark on an exploration of modern-day love guided by written tales of romance. What they discover is a beautiful story that examines the bonds of friendship and the highs and lows of love in all its forms. "

What books are you "waiting on"?

Sep 15, 2015

Top Ten Dystopian Novels I Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

2. Across the Universe by Beth Revis
3. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

5. Defiance by C. J. Redwine

6. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

7. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

8. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

9. Legend by Marie Lu

10. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau