Jun 30, 2015

Top Ten Books I've Read So Far in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Not going to lie, this list was kind of easy since I've only read about 25 books so far, but here are my favorites!

1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

2. Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
3. I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
4. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

5. The Heir by Kiera Cass

6. Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

7. Miss. Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

8. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

9. Beautiful Sacrifice by Jamie McGuire

10. Tear Your Apart by Sarah Cross

Tell us your favorite books that you read in 2015!

Jun 28, 2015

Review: Tamed by Emma Chase (Tangled #3)

18279145Author: Emma Chase
Publisher: Gallery Books
Number of Pages: 256

"Stop me if you’ve heard this one before: girl meets player, they fall in love, player changes his ways.
It’s a good story. But it’s not our story. Ours is a lot more colorful.
When I met Dee I knew right away that she was special. When she met me, she thought I was anything but special—I was exactly like every other guy who’d screwed her over and let her down. It took some time to convince her otherwise, but turns out I can make a convincing argument when sex is at stake.
You might know where this story’s headed. But the best part isn't where we ended up.
It’s how we got there.
TAMED goes back in time to the Tangled days. But this time around, it’s not Drew dishing out the advice and opinions—it’s his best friend Matthew, who of course is dealing with Dee Dee."
Being the third book in the Tangled series I just had to read this book, and I'm so glad I did. It was a great story that was thankfully completely different than Drew and Kate's story. 

My favorite part of this story was the characters. I loved Dee's strong willed nature yet softness at heart. She's one of those people who doesn't care what other people think of her as long as she herself is happy, and that added a lot of spice and interest in the story. And I thought that Matthew was the perfect guy: funny, talented, and all around sweet. So, even though they were completely different, I thought Matthew and Dee were perfect for each other. 

I also loved the plot, and I thought every conflict that arose was not too predictable but very realistic. But, my only thing was that there were some things while I was reading that I disagreed with. It wasn't anything that was directly related to the plot, but there were certain comments in the narration that annoyed me or put me off to the characters. Like the author commented how The King's Speech was such a girl's movie, which I would totally disagree with, but let's not get into that. 

Overall, I liked this book because it had a good plot and strong characters. I know those little things in the narration are nothing but difference in opinion, but they annoyed me sometimes and kind of put me off to the book. 

Anyways, I would recommend this to anyone who has read the first two books in the Tangled series because it doesn't disappoint. This is NA/Adult so anyone thinking of picking up the Tangled series make sure you are comfortable with that much romance.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Jun 26, 2015

Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

Author: Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Number of Pages: 496

"An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.
Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. 
Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. 
No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home."

I've wanted to read this book ever since it came out because I love Katie McGarry, but I didn't really know what it was about when I started it. And even when I put it on my TBR list I didn't expect much from it because I really just wanted more about from the Pushing the Limits series, but what I found was better than I what I wanted.

When I started reading this book I found that I couldn't stop. It's one of those stories that just pulls you in, right up until the end. I loved the concept of an unknown side of the family that's actually a biker gang kind of thing. It added a sort of spunk not only to the plot, but also to the characters. 

The plot was to me the perfect balance of conflict and romance. There wasn't so much romance that it became the focal point of the entire story, but there was enough for you to fall in love with Oz and the relationship he had for Emily. Also, the book didn't have dragged out conflicts. There were multiple conflicts that Oz and Emily had to face, either together or separately, but it didn't seem as if there were so many problems that it became unrealistic or pathetic. It was the perfect balance and I loved it!

My favorite part of the book, and what made me so happy to find out that it's a series, was the characters. Not only were Emily and Oz cute, hilarious at time, and perfect for each other, but so were their family. Trust me when I tell you that if you ever read this book you will love Olivia. But also the book opened up paths to other characters, mainly Oz's friends, which makes you want to read about them because you already known some of their internal conflicts.

Overall, I loved this book, and I have absolutely no complaints. The book was perfect, and I can't wait for the next one! I would recommend it to everyone who loves YA especially if you have read Katie McGarry's Pushing the Limits. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jun 24, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #26: Chasing Impossible by Katie McGarry

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Release Date: July 1, 2015

Tough and independent, 17-year-old Abby lets very few people into her inner circle. It’s common knowledge in her Kentucky town that she deals drugs, but not even her closest friends know why. But when a deal goes south and Abby’s suddenly in danger, she finds herself reluctantly forced to lean on daredevil Logan—a boy whose restless spirit matches her own.
Logan has his own reasons for wanting to keep Abby at arms’ length. But he never expected to find in her the one person who might help him face the demons he’s tried so hard to run from.
Together, Abby and Logan will have to make a decision: let their current circumstances weigh them down forever…or fight for the future they both thought was impossible.
AHHH! Another Katie McGarry novel? Sign me up! She's definitely one of my favorite authors, so I'm fangirling real hard right now. Although, I don't know if I love Abby and Logan together right now (I wanted Abby with Ethan...), but I'm sure once I read it I'm going to love it!

Jun 22, 2015

Review: Lying and Kissing by Helena Newbury

Lying and KissingAuthor: Helena Newbury
Publisher: Foster & Black New Adult
Number of Pages: 388 

"I am out of my depth. Yesterday, I was just a CIA languages geek, safe behind a desk. I thought I wanted a taste of the action.
Then I met him.
Luka. Arms dealer. Russian mafia. A man who'll kill to get what he wants. And he wants me.
Now I'm on a plane to Moscow with orders to "accidentally" run into him again. Seduce him. Sleep with him.
I can’t control myself when I’m near him. And if he finds out who I really am, I'm dead."
**Book was previously three different books called Seduced, Conflicted, and Betrayed.

This book is a lot different than the other books by Helena Newbury, well...she's only got one other series but it is different. I felt like this book was a lot more on the fifty shades end of the spectrum but still pretty far away from fifty shades...does that make sense?

It was a very enjoyable book with the characters, plot, etc. The books overall were short but they are only about 100 something pages each.

Helena really didn't disappoint, she gave us the characters, story, and sexual tension that she promised us. I did wish that we got more of the story, it is a very intricate and interesting plot line and these characters have such rich backstories--especially Luka--I just felt like he really deserved more. Maybe we can get a little novella about him that might include Luka and Arianna's future *nudge nudge*.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!!

*A copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Jun 16, 2015

Top Ten Books On My TBR For Summer 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Hey guys! So, I actually have A LOT of books on my TBR list for the summer so this was a hard list to come up with. But, I've narrowed it down and here it is!

Also, I know I did a Top Ten similar to this last month, but I keep having a change of heart... and I keep buying more books. So, that's why books have changed, but I will be reading books from that list as well.

Tell us what books you're planning to read this summer!

Jun 12, 2015


Hi everyone! Hope all of your are happy and healthy. I just finished my last day of classes for my junior year of high school and Harleen just finished her last day of sophomore year. We are so excited! We each only have about 3 or 4 exams and then it is on for the real fun.

water animated GIF

Just like two summers ago I managed to post something every day, sometimes twice a day. That is my goal for this summer, not posting twice a day (only when I have to) but posting once a day and scheduling the rest for sometime during the school year. 

So what is my schedule/goals for the next couple of months?

13: Take my ACT exam for college 
24-26: Grad parties and crying with all the friends who are going off to college
27: Packing for vacation
28-July 4: VACATION

Rest of the month: Have fun reading and blogging :D
*Throughout the month: work and go to internships

1: Start college applications *cries*
Rest of the month: Cry and finish internships

7: Start senior year of high school

That is basically the rough schedule for now. Harleen and I are already planning some fun blog posts and review to post while we are on vacation with our family (Let us know if you want a blog post on it!) and for the rest of the summer. We have a lot more time to spend on the blog so we want to create some fun content. Maybe even a video or two? 

I already have some non-bookish blog posts started as well as some reviews and book discussions. 

Let me know if you want to see a bookshelf tour (video or regular post) or whatever else. I'm thinking of some regular lifestyle stuff like movies, TV, YouTube, fashion etc. Let me know what you would like and I might choose to do one!

I hope you guys have an amazing summer and I am looking forward to getting back to blogging :D