Apr 29, 2014

Out of Mind Release Day!

Out of Mind (Out of Line, #3)Author: Jen McLaughlin
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 222

Synopsis:
"Reaching for sunlight...
Finn survived the ambush and came home to me, but in his head, the battle is still raging. He’s falling apart and I’m trying my best to pick up the pieces of him, to find the us we used to be. I love him as much as I ever did, but love isn’t enough to fix this. I thought telling my father about our relationship would be the hardest thing we’d ever have to face. I was wrong.
Lost in shadows...
All I wanted was to be worthy of Carrie. One mission, just one, and I’d be able to give her the future she deserved. Then everything went wrong, leaving me tainted and broken. Carrie wants me to be who I was, but all that’s left is what they made of me. I’m no good for her. No good for anyone like this. I have to figure out how to move forward. Alone.
Sometimes love isn’t enough…"

Buy Links 
OUT OF LINE (Book #1)

OUT OF TIME (Book #2)

OUT OF MIND (Book #3)


Author Bio 
Jen McLaughlin is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. She writes steamy New Adult books for the young and young at heart. Her first release, Out of Line, came out September 2013. She also writes bestselling Contemporary Romance under the pen name Diane Alberts.Since receiving her first contract offer under the pen name Diane Alberts, she has yet to stop writing. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.
Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, a cat, and a Senegal parrot. In the rare moments when she’s not writing, she can usually be found hunched over one knitting project or another. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Apr 28, 2014

ARC Review: Out of Mind by Jen McLaughlin

Out of Mind (Out of Line, #3)Author: Jen McLaughlin
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 222

Synopsis:

"Reaching for sunlight...
Finn survived the ambush and came home to me, but in his head, the battle is still raging. He’s falling apart and I’m trying my best to pick up the pieces of him, to find the us we used to be. I love him as much as I ever did, but love isn’t enough to fix this. I thought telling my father about our relationship would be the hardest thing we’d ever have to face. I was wrong.
Lost in shadows...
All I wanted was to be worthy of Carrie. One mission, just one, and I’d be able to give her the future she deserved. Then everything went wrong, leaving me tainted and broken. Carrie wants me to be who I was, but all that’s left is what they made of me. I’m no good for her. No good for anyone like this. I have to figure out how to move forward. Alone.
Sometimes love isn’t enough…"
The last book in the Out of Line series was a beautiful, heart-throbbing show of what Carrie and Finn are made of.

To be honest I'm very skeptical of last books in series. I'm a YA and NA reader and I have see a LOT of bad endings so I'm always hesitant but I love this series I just jumped right in. Jen McLaughlin nailed this ending. This whole entire book had me on edge, the beginning, middle, and ending.

Carrie and Finn are obviously going through so many different things with the way that Out of Time left off and they both handle all of the emotions in different ways. This book is definitely a bit more heavy and serious than the first two books.

My favorite part of this book is how much we get to see the characters grow in this book. It does take place over a a couple of years and it was just perfect. We definitely see more of the senator-best thing ever! We really got to meet the senator and get a feel for why he does certain things.

Jen McLaughlin did a smashing job (did I just sound a little Australian there?) of this book I am very sad that the series is over. I am definitely looking forward to more of Jen's books. 

Also, just so you guys to the Epilogue of the book might be a bit familiar to some of you. Look for Jen's Author's Note at the back of the book to figure out why. :)

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!

*A copy of this book was provided by the author as a giveaway.

Apr 27, 2014

Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves #24

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer~It's a chance to share news~A post to recap the past week on your blog, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.
Review



Features
Giveaways
Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Visit Tynga's Reviews to learn more about this weekly meme.

For Review
Thousand Words    The Battle of Darcy Lane    Tease
From the Library
Deception (Defiance, #2)    Tremor (Pulse, #2)
Bought
What I Thought Was True
What new books hit your shelves?

Apr 26, 2014

New Releases (Week of 4/27/14)


I have 5 amazing new releases this week that I'm practically drooling over!!

The first new release is AMAZING, it is....Tease by Amanda Maciel!

TeaseRelease Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: Balzar+Bray
Number of Pages: 336

Synopsis:
"From debut author Amanda Maciel comes a provocative and unforgettable novel, inspired by real-life incidents, about a teenage girl who faces criminal charges for bullying after a classmate commits suicide.
Emma Putnam is dead, and it's all Sara Wharton's fault. At least, that's what everyone seems to think. Sara, along with her best friend and three other classmates, has been criminally charged for the bullying and harassment that led to Emma's shocking suicide. Now Sara is the one who's ostracized, already guilty according to her peers, the community, and the media. In the summer before her senior year, in between meetings with lawyers and a court-recommended therapist, Sara is forced to reflect on the events that brought her to this moment—and ultimately consider her own role in an undeniable tragedy. And she'll have to find a way to move forward, even when it feels like her own life is over.
With its powerful narrative, unconventional point of view, and strong anti-bullying theme, this coming-of-age story offers smart, insightful, and nuanced views on high school society, toxic friendships, and family relationships."
Kai is one of my favorite bad boys, the next book is...Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins!

Sweet Reckoning (The Sweet Trilogy, #3)Release Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 464

Synopsis:
"It’s time. 
Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.
The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.
In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom."
The next new release is one with music, it is...Exile by Kevin Emerson!

Exile (Exile, #1)Release Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Number of Pages: 320

Synopsis:
"Catherine Summer Carlson knows how to manage bands like a professional—she’s a student at the PopArts Academy at Mount Hope High, where rock legends Allegiance to North got their start. Summer knows that falling for the lead singer of her latest band is the least professional thing a manager can do. But Caleb Daniels isn’t an ordinary band boy—he’s a hot, dreamy, sweet-singing, exiled-from-his-old-band, possibly-with-a-deep-dark-side band boy. And he can do that thing. That thing when someone sings a song and it inhabits you, possesses you, and moves you like a marionette to its will.
Summer also finds herself at the center of a mystery she never saw coming. When Caleb reveals a secret about his long-lost father, one band’s past becomes another’s present, and Summer finds it harder and harder to be both band manager and girlfriend. She knows what the well-mannered Catherine side of her would do, but she also knows what her heart is telling her. Maybe it’s time to accept who she really is, even if it means becoming an exile herself. . . .
On sale in April 2014, Kevin Emerson’s EXILE is a witty and passionate ode to love, rock and roll, and the freedom that comes in the moment when somebody believes in you, even if you’re not quite ready to believe in yourself."
I've already read this series ending, it is...Out of Mind by Jen McLaughlin!

Out of Mind (Out of Line, #3)Release Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 222

Synopsis:
"Reaching for sunlight...
Finn survived the ambush and came home to me, but in his head, the battle is still raging. He’s falling apart and I’m trying my best to pick up the pieces of him, to find the us we used to be. I love him as much as I ever did, but love isn’t enough to fix this. I thought telling my father about our relationship would be the hardest thing we’d ever have to face. I was wrong.
Lost in shadows...
All I wanted was to be worthy of Carrie. One mission, just one, and I’d be able to give her the future she deserved. Then everything went wrong, leaving me tainted and broken. Carrie wants me to be who I was, but all that’s left is what they made of me. I’m no good for her. No good for anyone like this. I have to figure out how to move forward. Alone.
Sometimes love isn’t enough…"
Fool's Gold is a community full of love, the next book in the series is...When We Met by Susan Mallery!

When We Met (Fool's Gold, #13)Release Date: April 29, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin HQN
Number of Pages: 352

Synopsis:
"Angel Whittaker earned his scars the hard way, but the scars that can't be seen are the ones that haunt him the most. Since he moved to Fool's Gold, California, he's cobbled together a life for himself as a bodyguard trainer. If he's not exactly happy, at least his heart is safe. 
Working with pro-football superstars taught tough-talking PR woman Taryn Crawford one thing—she can go toe to toe with any man. But then dark, dangerous former Special Ops Angel targets her for seduction…and challenges her to resist his tempting kisses. 
Even in four-inch heels, Taryn never backs down. Unless, somehow, Angel can convince her that surrender might feel even better than victory."

What new releases are excited for?

Apr 23, 2014

Out of Line Fan Week!

Displaying OOTFan_day3.jpg
I am so happy to be a part of the offical Out of Line series Fan week! I absolutely ADORE this series and everything about Finn and Carrie's story. If you haven't read this series I highly recommend that you do!

Series Overview

Out of Line (Out of Line, #1)Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin

Synopsis:
"Desperate to break free…
I've spent my entire life under my father’s thumb, but now I'm finally free to make my own choices. When my roommate dragged me to my first college party, I met Finn Coram and my life turned inside out. He knows how to break the rules and is everything I never knew I wanted. A Marine by day and surfer by night, he pushes me away even as our attraction brings us closer. Now I am finally free to do whatever I want. I know what I want. I choose Finn. 
Trying to play by the rules...
I always follow orders. My job, my life, depends on it. I thought this job would be easy, all the rules were made crystal clear, but when I met Carrie Wallington, everything got muddy. She's a rule I know I shouldn't break, but damn if I don’t inch closer to the breaking point each time I see her. I’m ready to step out of line. And even worse? I’m living a lie. They say the truth will set you free, but in my case…
The truth will cost me everything."
Buy Links



Out of Time (Out of Line, #2)Out of Time by Jen McLaughlin

Synopsis:
"Desperate to keep him...
I've finally gotten everything I ever wanted: love, freedom, happiness, and, most importantly, Finn. Our love is everything I expected it to be and more. We've finally found each other, but the world seems determined to tear us apart. We thought my father was the only obstacle between us, but now it's the military. With Finn’s departure looming, we’re squeezing in every moment together before we run out of time.
Trying to make every moment count…
Being Carrie’s bodyguard was one thing. Being her boyfriend is another. Every day she’s mine is a day the sun shines in my life. Yet our time together is running out. Her father will never think a tattooed Marine will be good enough, so I’ll do whatever it takes to be worthy of her love. But the road will take me away from the girl who makes me feel alive--the girl I can't live without.
Time only gets us so far..."
Buy Links



Deleted Scene from Out Of Time: Part One of Three

This was the original ending to Out of Time, before I decided to change it from a novella to a full length novel. Once I made the book longer, a bunch of stuff changed, including the way/place/time that Finn told Carrie he would be leaving. As did the reasons why. Enjoy! --Jen

A. Freaking. Mess.
That’s what I was right now. What I’d been ever since Finn told me he might be leaving. Even more so now that I knew the time for the truth grew rapidly closer. It was Sunday evening at five-forty five and I was a hysterical wreck. And I’d been that way all weekend long, especially once my parents were gone.
In a way, I’d been grateful they were here like they’d been. It had been a welcome distraction. But then they went home yesterday, and I was all alone. Last night and today had passed the slowest any day had ever been. I’d gone to the soup kitchen with Darren. Handed out tons of gift cards. Done my homework. Worked on my thesis. Washed my new car. Done research. Cleaned the apartment, which had been an adventure all in itself. Gotten ahead in class, even.
And I’d still had hours and hours to sit around twiddling my thumbs, slowly going insane as I waited for six o’clock to come around. In a matter of minutes, Finn would be here on this beach with me. And knowing he was going to tell me whether or not he was going to freaking war…yeah.
Manic. That pretty accurately described my state of mind.
Despite the “unhappy” circumstances behind this picnic, I’d tried to set a romantic scene, complete with a red and white checkered blanket, a wicker basket, and a pilfered bottle of wine from Finn’s cabinet. There was also a bunch of grapes and strawberries, and a couple of sandwiches for us both.
I’d spent the night at his place last night, putting my clothes away and just being there. I slept in his bed, hugging his pillow, and had laid awake almost all night long. I tugged my navy blue and white sweater down and fidgeted with the hem of my jean shorts. I’d left my hair down for Finn, since he liked it that way, but now I was wishing I’d taken the time to do something with it. If I’d done my hair, it would have taken me even longer to get here, and I wouldn’t be sitting here fidgeting and wondering and stressing.
As Finn would say…this fucking wait was fucking killing me.
But no matter what he said, no matter what happened, I was standing by him. I wouldn’t leave him, and I wouldn’t move on and forget about him. Hopefully he didn’t really think I would. Long ago—at least, it seemed long ago—he’d told me if he went to war I would forget all about him. God, if he really thought that…
I’d have to do my best to show him he was wrong.
The hair on the back of my neck stood up and I got that tingling sensation that warned me I was being watched. I remembered having the same type of feeling the first night I met Finn, when he’d been guarding me and watching from the shadows.
Who would have known that he would have come to mean so much to me in so little time? That I’d need him so badly I couldn’t imagine a life without him in it. Who would have known the man who was sent to watch me would want me, too?
I rolled clumsily to my bare feet, my heart racing and seeming to painfully climb up from my chest until it felt as if it rested in my throat instead of my chest. I knew that wasn’t possible, of course, but I’d swear to it anyway. He walked toward me steadily, his light blue jeans folded up at the ankle to keep them clean. He wore a grey hoodie and a pair of sunglasses. I couldn’t read his freaking eyes. Had no clue what to expect.
But suddenly it didn’t matter anymore, because he was here.
And that’s all that really mattered, wasn’t it?
I took a step toward him, then another. By the time my foot hit the sand a third time, I was running. I’m talking, hair flying behind you, full on sprint. Finn picked up the pace, too, his long steps growing even faster. By the time we met, I was out of breath and fighting back the tears threatening to escape.
Even though he hadn’t opened his mouth, I just knew what he was going to say.
He caught me in his arms, spinning me in a giant circle and hugging me to his chest. I could feel his heart thumping, beating against my own almost in tandem. He opened his mouth to talk, but I kissed him before he could. I didn’t want to hear it. Didn’t want my worst fears to become so utterly, horrifically, devastatingly alive.
When I was a little girl, I’d been terrified of monsters that hid under my bed. Now, as an adult, I knew the real terror lie in words and actions and in life or death. Not in scary, hairy, huge beasts.
I kissed him with a desperation I hadn’t felt before, knowing if I stopped he’d tell me the words I didn’t want to hear. Knowing if I stopped, I’d utterly lose it. There was a good handful of people on the beach, and they were probably all watching us with wide eyes, but I didn’t even care. All those silly fears I’d had over the years seemed so freaking pathetic in the face of this.
Of Finn.
He moaned into my mouth and stumbled back, his hands supporting me. I knew I was attacking the poor man, but I couldn’t stop. Not now. Not ever. From a distance, I heard the waves crashing on the sand and a few voices carrying off from the distance, but I shut it all out. All I wanted to focus on was Finn.
When he broke the kiss off, his breathing heavy and his grip on me unbreakable, I dared a glance up at him. Even with his shades on, I could see the tension in the way he smiled. And the way his shoulders were tight and hard. “Hey, Ginger,” he said lightly.
I forced a smile for him, my hands gripping his shoulders so hard it probably hurt him, but he didn’t so much as flinch. “Hey, yourself.”
“I like this kind of greeting.” He swung me into his arms, cradling me against his chest. “But now I’m not going to put you down.”
“I don’t want you to,” I said, my voice breaking on the last word. When he shot me a concerned look and opened his mouth to talk, I pressed my fingers against his mouth. “No. Don’t say it. Not yet.”
He kissed my fingers and nodded, but he looked away from me. Probably trying to hide his own tortured feelings from me, to protect me, but it didn’t work. I could feel his pain as if it was my own—and he could probably feel mine. “Okay. What’s for dinner?”
“Wine. Lots of wine.”
He laughed, but it sounded forced. Of course it did. “Let me get this straight. You want me to publicly provide a minor with wine? Seriously?”
“Seriously.” He set me down on my feet next to the picnic blanket, and I buried my toes in the cool sand. Funny how that used to feel like such a thrill to me. How na├»ve I’d been. “I want this to be the perfect date. And once it’s over…then we talk. Deal?”
“Have I ever denied you something you wanted?” He sat down and patted the spot directly next to him. “If that’s what you want, you’ll get it.”
I wanted to demand he not leave me. Wanted to demand he not go to war.
He’d promised to give me everything I wanted, hadn’t he?
But that wouldn’t be fair. Even I knew he didn’t have a say in whether he left or stayed. It was all up to men like my father. To the men in the government who sat behind desks and demanded that men like Finn go overseas to fight for oil and other crap they tried to put a pretty face on.
“I want you, here with me.” I grabbed a grape and pressed it to his lips. “And I have that now.”
He took the grape out of my fingers, licking them as he sucked it in. Something in my stomach tightened, despite the emotional turmoil I was in, and I leaned closer, watching his mouth hungrily as he chewed. It wasn’t until I looked away that I noticed he still wore his dog tags. I gently grasped the chain and pulled them out from under his shirt.
I scanned the words that denoted his name, social security number, blood type, and religion. Guess I now knew he was O positive. Weird way to find out, though. I didn’t even what the heck type of blood I had, but I knew his. And knowing that this was how they kept track of who was who felt so cold and impersonal.
But then again…that’s how life was, wasn’t it?


Out of Mind (Out of Line, #3)Out of Mind by Jen McLaughlin

Synopsis:
"Reaching for sunlight...Finn survived the ambush and came home to me, but in his head, the battle is still raging. He’s falling apart and I’m trying my best to pick up the pieces of him, to find the us we used to be. I love him as much as I ever did, but love isn’t enough to fix this. I thought telling my father about our relationship would be the hardest thing we’d ever have to face. I was wrong.Lost in shadows...All I wanted was to be worthy of Carrie. One mission, just one, and I’d be able to give her the future she deserved. Then everything went wrong, leaving me tainted and broken. Carrie wants me to be who I was, but all that’s left is what they made of me. I’m no good for her. No good for anyone like this. I have to figure out how to move forward. Alone.Sometimes love isn’t enough…" 

Watch out tomorrow for my review of Out of Mind!!

Author Bio
Jen McLaughlinJen McLaughlin is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. She writes steamy New Adult books for the young and young at heart. Her first release, Out of Line, came out September 2013. She also writes bestselling Contemporary Romance under the pen name Diane Alberts.Since receiving her first contract offer under the pen name Diane Alberts, she has yet to stop writing. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.
Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, a cat, and a Senegal parrot. In the rare moments when she’s not writing, she can usually be found hunched over one knitting project or another. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6921962.Jen_McLaughlin

Goodreads Links

I really hope you will try this series! It is absolutely amazing and I'm really sad that it is over. Don't forget Out of Mind comes out April 29, 2014! 

Waiting On Wednesday #23: The One by Kiera Cass

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's "Waiting On" Wednesday is...The One by Kiera Cass!

The One (The Selection, #3)Release Date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 336

Synopsis:
"The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.
America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.
From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers' hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey... Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned."
What book are you "waiting on"? 

Apr 22, 2014

ARC Review: Tease by Amanda Maciel

TeaseAuthor: Amanda Maciel
Publisher: Balzar + Bray 
Number of Pages: 336

Synopsis:
"From debut author Amanda Maciel comes a provocative and unforgettable novel, inspired by real-life incidents, about a teenage girl who faces criminal charges for bullying after a classmate commits suicide.
Emma Putnam is dead, and it's all Sara Wharton's fault. At least, that's what everyone seems to think. Sara, along with her best friend and three other classmates, has been criminally charged for the bullying and harassment that led to Emma's shocking suicide. Now Sara is the one who's ostracized, already guilty according to her peers, the community, and the media. In the summer before her senior year, in between meetings with lawyers and a court-recommended therapist, Sara is forced to reflect on the events that brought her to this moment—and ultimately consider her own role in an undeniable tragedy. And she'll have to find a way to move forward, even when it feels like her own life is over.
With its powerful narrative, unconventional point of view, and strong anti-bullying theme, this coming-of-age story offers smart, insightful, and nuanced views on high school society, toxic friendships, and family relationships."
This is such a wonderful story about bullying, how it happens without you even knowing, and the consequences that follows. Amanda Maciel has written a debut that is already listed as one of my 2014 favorites.

I was planning to start off this review with a bunch of gifs that showed how mind blown I was by this book but I decided not to. Instead I decided to tell you how amazing this book is first and then show the gifs. I can not express the utter happiness and awe this book as put me in. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! It just blew my mind and for a debut this was just so top-notch. 

When I first got this book in the mail there was one thing that just fell in love with. THE COVER! It is so shiny that it's like a mirror...a freaking mirror. I CAN SEE MY FACE IN IT! I know your not supposed to judge a book by it's cover and all but I do because there are too many amazing book in this world to pick them up by what they are about. Covers are part of the selection process. The words you see behind the title are the first two pages so if you can read that you've got an excerpt right there. I knew the minute I saw this cover that I was going to read this book.

The plot of this book is phenomenon. For a debut it was very daring to do. This book is very emotional, heartbreaking, and it could strike very close the heart. What Amanda Maciel showed us in this novel was extremely different. We always hear of those books and movies whose main character is the one getting bullied, you rarely hear the main character being the bully. We definitely don't here about what goes on after a person commits suicide because of bullying, we don't here the bullies point of view on what happened and this book really brought that to life. 

The biggest thing that struck me was the fact that you may be bullying someone without even realizing it. You think you might be getting revenge for something that person did to you and think it is completely harmless. This especially goes on in high school. I'm currently a sophomore in high school and I know it's common to throw around insults that you don't give a second thought about. We don't realize what we meant as a joke might actually hurt to the other person. This had to be the biggest reason I completely fell in love with Tease.

I strongly recommend that once this book is released that everyone should read it-especially teenagers. THIS INCLUDES GUYS! Just because the cover looks girly doesn't mean the book is girly! Bullying is a serious subject and it is one that is a very sensitive topic right now in the US. People do commit suicide because of bullying, you might think it doesn't happen to you or to the people around you but it does. Please everyone be conscious of what you are saying to others and never let anyone feel left out.

Amanda Maciel wrote an amazing novel that is my favorite book of 2014 so far and will definitely remain one of my favorites.

Here are the gifs I said I would add:







  
I don't usually give books more than five stars unless they just leave me speechless and just wanting to shove this at everyone and this book definitely did that.

Rating: 6 out of 5 stars!!

Apr 16, 2014

Blog Tour+Giveaway: Scare Crow by Julie Hockley

Author: Julie Hockley
Publisher: iUniverse
Number of Pages: 284

Synopsis:
"Nineteen-year-old Emily Sheppard is losing her sanity. Ever since her mob king boyfriend, Cameron Hillard, abandoned her for her own good, Emmy has been attempting to move on with her charmed college student life as if nothing happened. Now rejected from the underworld and left grieving over Cameron’s alleged death, Emmy realizes she belongs nowhere. Worse yet, she is now keeping a dangerous secret. 
After just a short time with Emily, Cameron has lost control over his world. As he miserably attempts to return to what is left of his life and unravel the mess he has made of the underworld, Emily’s hate turns to desperation. She needs to kill the kingpins responsible for Cameron’s death before they come looking for her. As Cameron secretly observes Emily, he has no idea of the danger he has placed her in—or that it may already be too late for him to save her. 
Scare Crow is a tale of revenge, terror, and love as Emmy and Cameron embark on separate journeys to face enemies, correct past mistakes, and find their way to their destinies."

Review
Okay it took me a solid two days to write this review. I have VERY mixed feelings about this book. I was very peeved about how long it took for this book to come out so when it did come out I was missing a few key details but I'm fine with that. I just hope the wait for book 3 won't be as bad. 

Overall this book was pretty good I could say but there were somethings that just killed me. I've had very bad experiences with books where the two characters are separated for the whole book until the end. If the book is about two characters wanting to be together then LET THEM BE TOGETHER! I get it if you make them suffer for even half the book but after that it's a bit excessive. So I guess that this book was okay in a way but I'm still not the happiest. I think that is why the book dragged a little in the middle of the book.

The characters were just as amazing as they were in the first book. Emmy was great, very strong but the synopsis was a bit misleading with what I thought she was going to do and Cameron was irresistible as usual. I really felt the loss of Rocco in this book and I REALLY missed him. He just lit up everything in the first book and you really felt that in this book.

The ending was a bit calming and I really loved and it has me wanting the third book already. I really would recommend reading this next book. I was really happy to learn there was a third book and I hope the wait won't be as long. 

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the tour host and author in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Links
Amazon US:  http://goo.gl/2hN4UZ


Click HERE to see the Crows Row/Scare Crow Trailer!


Author Bio
A former germaphobe and clean-freak turned mother of two, Julie collects enough tears and snot in a month to recreate Slimer Monster from Ghostbusters. Other than playing devoted wife and mama, Julie is the funniest person in the room (according to the 3 year-old and 2 year-old in said room) and can build the most awesome Lego rocket ship you’ve ever set your eyes on (according to her). Oh, and she has a full time career and has also written a bestselling novel. Superhero, or just downright insane?

Author Links
Website: http://juliehockley.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Crows-Row/236568926357075
Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=julie%20hockley&src=typd\
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4943235.Julie_Hockley


OPEN INTERNATIONALLY