Jan 29, 2014

Review: The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) by Richelle Mead

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Number of Pages: 438

"Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives.
In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .
But the struggle isn't over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there's still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure — and re-education — looms larger than ever."
The minute I finished this book, I knew. I knew that the review was going to be a gif filled mess. I finally got my Sydrian fix after months of waiting and what happens...? I'm a freaking heap of tears.
This book has to be the best out of the series so far. This books was just so…I don’t even have words! I can’t even comprehend that amount of craziness I am feeling right now. This book pretty had me feeling all the feels, and I am obviously going to list them all down.

  • SYDRIAN!!!!! (Sydney & Adrian)
  • We see Rose and Dimitri again! :D
  • Who doesn't get a rush from sexy vampires??
I really have to take the time to talk about the ending. For those of you who have read the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, take the ending of Opal and the amount of feels you had and multiply that by...I don't know...20. I was literally on the floor clutching the book, rolling around crying like the baby that I am. 

I can promise you I was not drinking. I'm only 15! 

If you guys haven't read any of Richelle Mead's books then you should get up and go buy one and then notice that HER CHARACTERS ARE SO AMAZING! Like she's just an amazingly talented writer that I worship a little bit. Her characters are very rich, and they just come to life in your mind. They are so real that I'm in love with Adrian and I'm not sure whether I will ever get over it, probably won't. Also, I'm in that phase where I am just striving to be Sydney.

I highly recommend reading at least one Richelle Mead book in your life. If you decide you should read this then guess what? You're going to be hella confused. Read the Vampire Academy first and then keeping reading until you're obsessed like the rest of us.

After this book I've been in a bit of a book slump but hey! It will be okay...eventually. If you are going to read this book then read it before you go on vacation so you can heal properly because you won't want to touch another book for the fear of going through what you just went through again.

Now that you are afraid of reading of this book, I'm going to apologize for such a weird review. I'm really sorry, but this really is an amazing book written by an amazing author. Not any book or writer can give me this kind of a reaction to a book.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!

January TBR Challenge Wrap-Up Post

I'm here with my January TBR Wrap-Up post. I didn't read as much as I would have liked this month but I did get some great reads in.

Here are the books I read for this challenge:

The Essence (The Pledge, #2)    The Offering (The Pledge, #3)    Stir Me Up     
The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)    Crash into You (Pushing the Limits, #3)

I only got to review 3 of these so far and I will be reviewing the last two soon!

Waiting On Wednesday #20

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's "Waiting On" Wednesday is...Split Second by Kasie West!

Split Second (Pivot Point, #2)Release Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 360


"Life can change in a split second.
Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too . . . but not without a price.
When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.
Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.
As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot . . . and a future that could change everything."
What book are you "Waiting On"?

Jan 24, 2014

A Little Too Hot Blog Tour +Giveaway!

Author: Lisa Desrochers
Series: A Little Too Far #3
Publication Date: January 21, 2014
Publisher: William Morrow Impulse

From USA Today bestselling author Lisa Desrochers, comes the third book in her sizzling New Adult series.
"If you play with fire…Tossed out of college and cut off by her parents, Samantha West is in pretty dire straits. So when her rocker best friend hooks her up with a job dancing at a gentlemen’s club, who is she to turn it down? Plus, there are rules to dancing at Benny’s: No touching, keep your clothes on at all times, and never get closer than three feet. Unfortunately for Sam, her first private client makes her want to break every single one of them.Harrison Yates is scorching hot, but he’s got a past that involves being left at the altar not too long ago. Sam is determined to make him forget about his ex, but when she makes her move, it flings her life into a spiral of chaos she never saw coming.Because Harrison Yates isn’t who he seems to be. And his secret will probably get her killed."

I honestly really enjoyed this book. This book had me hooked. Sam and Harrison were such amazing characters. They were both strong, amazing characters that I ended up loving. I must say Harrison, you are one guy that I definitely want standing next to me! Lisa Desrochers made her characters really come to life for me and that is what really makes me love a book. I can't stand reading a book where the characters don't come off the page for me or just don't haunt me after I finish reading the book. Harrison you are definitely haunting me...in a good way. I just can't stop thinking about that boy. I definitely recommend reading this book. It is definitely a really good read that I enjoyed. I am currently re-reading this book just to get more of Harrison. I think that may count as being a stalker but whatever help right?

Author Bio
Lisa Desrochers is the USA Today bestselling author of A LITTLE TOO FAR , courtesy of HarperCollins, and companions, A LITTLE TOO MUCH (Nov 12, 2013), and A LITTLE TOO HOT (Jan 21, 2014). Also in stores is her YA PERSONAL DEMONS trilogy (Macmillan).
She lives in central California with her husband and two very busy daughters. There is never a time that she can be found without a book in her hand, and she adores stories that take her to new places, and then take her by surprise.

Note: This giveaway is shared between both tours for A LITTLE TOO HOT and is not run by Rockstar Book Tours. It is hosted by the author who will choose the winner.
The giveaway is international.

The GRAND PRIZE is a blurb pack of all three REAL series books signed by Katy Evans, all three Marked Men series books signed by Jay Crownover and FOREPLAY signed by Sophie Jordan, plus signed swag.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jan 22, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday #19

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's "Waiting On" Wednesday is...Cress by Marissa Meyer!

Cress (Lunar Chronicles, #3)Release Date: February 4, 2014
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Number of Pages: 560

"In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 
Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 
When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can."
What book are you "Waiting On"?

Jan 20, 2014

Review: The Essence(The Pledge #2) by Kimberly Derting

The Essence (The Pledge, #2)Author: Kimberly Derting 
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Number of Pages: 352

"At the luminous conclusion of The Pledge, Charlaina defeated the tyrant Sabara and took her place as Queen of Ludania. But Charlie knows that Sabara has not disappeared: The evil queen’s Essence is fused to Charlie’s psyche, ready to arise at the first sign of weakness.
Charlie is not weak, but she’s being pushed to the brink. In addition to suppressing the ever-present influence of Sabara, she’s busy being queen—and battling a growing resistance determined to return Ludania to its discriminatory caste system. Charlie wants to be the same girl Max loves, who Brook trusts, but she’s Your Majesty now, and she feels torn in two.
As Charlie journeys to an annual summit to meet with leaders of nearby Queendoms—an event where her ability to understand all languages will be the utmost asset—she is faced with the ultimate betrayal. And the only person she can turn to for help is the evil soul residing within."
The Pledge came out in 2011 and I read it a couple of months after that and it left me wanting more, but when I finally got my hands on The Essence I wasn't really in the mood for it anymore. I really wish I hadn't waited. I really enjoyed reading this book. The feels that it left me with is...just mean. I really was so mad that we were left off like that. I really needed the next book ASAP.

While I started this series thinking romance would play a somewhat big role in this book I was wrong. There is romance in this book but it is kind of left on the back burner to simmer and just excite us. The romance doesn't play a big role in this series as much as I love Maxon. (Maxon is so freaking dreamy!!)
While I am the type of person who reads 95% of books that revolve romance, I really think that this book would have been great with or without the romance. Maxon and Charlie's chemistry is obvious and you can easily see how much they belong together, but Sabara being the lead role in this book is really worth focusing on without the romance. 

I found the characters in this book to be well-written and strong. They each handle things as a real human being would probably handle things which made them all very realistic. 

The end of this book just left my feels everywhere and I'm still trying to recover so it just tells you how strong the writing is and that I will be picking up the next book ASAP.

I really do think that Kimberly Derting is a very strong, talented writer and I really enjoyed reading this sci-fi/dystopia/fantasy or whatever it is. (I'm really bad at telling what genre books are.)  I highly recommend reading this series, if you love whatever genre this is. It is kind of a dark novel and I don't read many dark books so this was kind of new. 

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

Jan 17, 2014

Blog Tour + Review: Vendetta by Autumn Karr and Sienna Lane

VendettaAuthor: Autumn Karr & Sienna Lane
Publisher: Createspace
Number of Pages: 316

"Please note: this is not dark romance.
I am not a good man. I have lied and cheated and stolen. I've decided between life or death, like it was my due. None of it matters, not anymore. These are not my sins. I see her raise her hands, the dark metal she's clutching reflecting the moonlight. Her finger trembles as she cocks the gun pointed at me. Her eyes are cold, determined, but I know. I know her.
My name is Devon Andre and I confess my sin. I am not a good man because this is the woman I love. She pulls the trigger."

I'm honestly not sure on how I felt about this book. On one hand I really like the plot as a whole and I really enjoyed the characters, but on the other hand I just feel confused. There is a lot that goes on in this book and overall I did like it and I feel that it was a read that is for someone that isn't looking for something that is really light with no substance but doesn't want something that will make them think a lot.

The plot of this book is great. We really don't know whats going on with these character but as the plot develops the story behind these two characters really starts to unravel and we see a lot more history between these two. This where I find the story confusing at times. These new details are thrown into these stories and I feel as if the new information is just dumped there without any lead into it. It really just feels like a bucket of cold water is dumped on you and you really just don't know why. Once you got over those confusions that story continues to develop very nicely.

The characters in this book are great. I find them to be very entertaining, interesting, but also kind of a mystery-in a good way. There is this sense of mysterious behind these two characters that really set the mood that this story has. It's almost brooding in a way. There is a lot of history between these two and it really just does get dumped on you but you get over and it does make sense since all the signs were there from the beginning.

Overall I did enjoy this story and while it isn't for everyone (especially if you are under the age of 18) I would recommend at least trying it and giving it a chance.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
*A copy of this book was provided by the author and tour host in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Links:
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00HCR24SA
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HCR24SA
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/vendetta-autumn-karr/1117712091
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/vendetta/id780540815

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/vendetta-39

Author Bio

Sienna Lane and Autumn Karr are two friends with a joint love of reading, writing, 
candy, and Disney heroes (and Disney songs, of course.)When they aren’t scheming against fictional characters, or talking about their 
favourite books, you can find them ogling tattooed models and trying to figure out 
how to get them to do a cover shoot for their next book.
Together they wrote VENDETTA, releasing this December, and hopefully many more 
books to come.They love to hear from readers, so don't hesitate to contact them 
through their Facebook page (http://on.fb.me/18TGRU9).

Author Links:
(2) Signed copy of Vendetta
(2) $10 Amazon Vouchers
(5) eBook copy of Vendetta
(2) Vendetta swag pack 
The tour wide giveaway is open internationally. Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM CST 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jan 13, 2014

Another Little Piece of My Heart Scene & Giveaway!

Hi everyone! Today I am lucky to have Tracey Martin, author of Another Little Piece of My Heart, sharing a scene from her newly released novel!

Another Little Piece of My Heart
Another Little Piece of My Heart
by Tracey Martin
Published by Harlequin Teen

"At her dying mother’s request, Claire dumps Jared, the only boy she’s ever loved. Left with a broken family and a broken heart, Claire is furious when she discovers that her biggest regret became Jared’s big break. While Jared is catapulted into rock-star status, another piece of Claire’s heart crumbles every time his song plays on the radio.
The summer after her senior year, it’s been months since the big break-up, and Claire is just trying to keep her head down and make it through a tense trip to the beach with her family. But when Jared shows up, and old feelings reignite, can Claire and Jared let go of the past? Or will they be stuck singing the same old refrain?"
 Bonus Scene
“Dude, I can’t believe you’re doing this.”
Mike’s shaking his head at me from the doorway. Ignoring the disbelief in his voice, I toss my empty Coke can in his recycle bin and grab my guitar. “You’ve said that like five times now. I’m doing this. Let’s go.”
Let’s go before the event is over. Let’s go before Mike’s asshole roommate, Zach, shows up. Let’s go before I decide trying to win my ex-girlfriend back using the very same method that made her hate me is not the best decision I ever made.
Let’s fucking go.
Mike unlocks his car, and I carefully strap in my guitar case on the back seat. Smacking a mosquito, I climb in the front. Let’s go before I contract Lyme Disease or Triple E.
Neither of us say much on the drive to Eliot Beach. I don’t know what Mike’s thinking as he plays with the radio, but my mind is so far away I can barely hear the music. Connecticut, New Hampshire, Connecticut… My memories ping pong back and forth until I’m dizzy with them.
For the past two years, my last memory of Claire was the way her lip trembled that day in the mall, her brown eyes wide and almost eerily unseeing. Her face vacant and distressed. It didn’t make for a good last memory, not for a girl whose smile used to make my heart stop, and whose one-liners used to make me wonder how I’d duped her into thinking I was smart enough to hang out with her, and whose lips on my skin...
I should stop there. She’s not mine to kiss anymore, and if I follow that line of thought, I’ll just get depressed.
Point is, that scene didn’t make for a good last memory, but I’m the one who made it my last memory. Until a few weeks ago, that is, when I ran into her in the strangest, most unlikely place in the entire country. How does that happen? What kind of twisted deity arranged for that?
I hadn’t wanted a second chance. I’d told myself I’d moved on. But her constant presence was too much.
I didn’t deserve a second chance. So I told myself she was better off. But the way she played that day in the park was too irresistible. I knew then I had to have her back anyway. She’s either my muse or some demon sent to torment me.
So here I am, either about to do something really romantic or something incredibly stupid. With my luck, probably stupid. If I hadn’t been an idiot two years ago, I might not have lost all that time.
My stomach twists thinking about it, and I consider that downing that Coke so fast was not a good move. I close my eyes, concentrating on my new song and playing air guitar with my seatbelt. It helps relax me, but it’s not performing the song tonight that’s making my insides roll like the waves.
Finally, Mike parks under a streetlamp by the house where Claire’s family is staying. I force myself to breathe. I inhale the scent of the beach through the open car window and realize I’m about to spin my thumb ring off.
Mike realizes it too. “You sure you—”
“Yes, damn it.” I pry my fingers away from the ring and open the door. “Don’t ask me that again.”
But he asks me that again when we reach the coffee shop, too.
I shoot him a nasty look, and he laughs, and now I know he’s just trying to bug me. “Come on.” I push him into the crowd.
The shop is packed, laughing and whispering people spilling onto the boardwalk. Over the ocean, the sky is already turning dark and the temperature is dropping as fast as the light is fading. But inside the store, it’s barely brighter.
The show’s begun and the lights have been dimmed. I follow Mike to the counter, grateful that no one’s paying any attention to the guy the with the guitar case for a change. That’s because some other guy with a guitar is already performing, regaling everybody with my least favorite Dylan song. I tune him out, just like I always try to tune out Dylan whenever anyone puts on his music.
After signing some paper and buying some over-priced coffee, I worm my way to the back. Mike’s head is swiveling around, searching for Claire and company, I guess. I let him look out for friends. I have to look out for my guitar. There’s not enough room for all of us.
“Found them,” he whispers at last, just as the guy on the makeshift stage finishes. Mike motions with his cup to the other side of the room, and I push hair out of my eyes, squinting through the mass of bodies that block my view.
It’s Claire that I find first. Of course. It could be that crazy orange hair—what the hell was she thinking dyeing it orange of all colors?—but I think it’s just that my gaze will hone in on her no matter what. Especially with that hair, she’s like a flame. I can’t not stare.
But she doesn’t seem to notice me. She’s not noticing much if I had to guess. Her face is strained. She looks nervous. I can’t tell from here, but I’d bet she’s gripping her case strap with white knuckles.
Poor Claire. I used to tell her all the time she shouldn’t be nervous about performing because damn, she’s good. But I don’t think she ever believed me.
If she’d let me, I’d make her believe it. But I’m not sure she will.
My hand runs to the Buddha charm hanging around my neck, a tiny silver thing that she once gave me for my birthday. Although I’d stopped wearing it because it was too painful after we split, I kept the charm in my guitar case this whole time. When I finally put it back on tonight, I was thinking I needed the Zen. From the looks of it, though, Claire might need it more than me.
That’s it. I have to go to her now. I have to say something.
I pick up my case, ready to risk clocking a bunch of innocent people with it in order to cross the shop, but then the guy at the mic calls out her name. Too late.
As usual for me.
I settle back against the counter instead, drinking coffee I don’t really want.
“You coming?” Mike asks while Claire gets settled up front.
There’s only one seat open at the table since she got up, so I shrug. Not worth assaulting people to get to it. “I’m good.”
As soon as Mike moves away, I return my attention to Claire. She’s tuning her guitar and saying something to the owner. Even from this distance, I can feel the spark in her—the heat and the life—and I wonder if other people can too. It’s this crazy way she lights up a room that make my lips dry, as though needing her to wet them for me. Her wide nervous eyes and that smile filled with self-doubt only add to her presence. It makes her charming too. And it’s making me crazy.
Some girls think they’re the hottest things on the planet, and I’ve met way more than my share of them. But they have no idea.
She is, without question, the hottest thing on the planet, and she doesn’t even know it. And if she did, she wouldn’t care. That’s part of what makes it so true.
Claire’s talking, and I have to refocus to hear her. “But I did have an ex who wrote more than one unflattering song about me. So this is the song I wrote about the experience.”
I cringe and drink more. If that’s the worst she has to say about that whole ordeal, she’s being too nice. I’m guessing “Romeo Must Die” is one of the least angry songs she wrote in retaliation. Not sure I want to hear the others.
Then she starts to play, and even though I’ve watched videos of her performing this song online, watching her live is amazing. She’s changed so much. Gotten so much better.
And right there I decide she’s the hottest, most talented girl on the planet, too. I might be a bit biased, but screw it. I’m allowed to be. She sounds damn good. Someone else can play critic.
I can’t drag my gaze away until she finishes, and then I assess the audience. They’re smiling and staring at her like I was. That’s my girl, I start to think, except she’s not.
“Um, yeah. New song,” Claire’s saying. “Let’s hope I don’t forget it like I’m forgetting what I’m saying, you know? It’s called ‘That Girl.’”
I lean forward with interest until I hear her lyrics. The words wrap around my chest like a rope, pulling me toward her and crushing the life from me at the same time. I’m not sure what to think, what to make of this plea that she’s singing. But it’s directed at me. I can sense that through and through.
At one point I almost catch her eye but she quickly looks away, and for a half beat, she fumbles. I hear the rhythm crash like the breakers on the rocks. Then she recovers, almost seamlessly.
I don’t, and I close my eyes.
“So why can’t I make you see?
That girl is gone
This girl is here
That girl’s a ghost
This girl is near
That girl hurt you
This girl hurts too
This girl’s sorry for what she did to you”
As her clear, silky voice fades, the room bursts into applause, but I can’t move. Why is she apologizing? I’m the one who’s supposed to apologize. She did that years ago. I’m the one who refused to listen.
I’m the one. And she’s the one. It’s my job to make her see, not the other way around.
For the first time tonight, I feel a little less crazy about what I’m going to do. Not any less nervous because there’s probably never a time when telling the girl you love that you need her in your life is not going to be vomit-inducing, but less crazy. Hopeful even.
I remain by the counter, finishing my coffee for several more performers, but I don’t hear a damn thing until my name. When the owner calls out “Jared Steele,” sounding hilariously confused, I’m ready. Inside, I know I’ve been ready for longer than I care to admit. Claire’s been stuck in my head and heart like the catchiest damn tune ever, so it’s time to make good on this unexpected second chance.
What music hurt, it must also be able to heal.

I don't know what you guys think but I think it looks amazing. I am really looking forward to reading this!

I just want to remind you all that this book is out so go buy it!!
Tracey Martin is giving away two prizes!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jan 12, 2014

Review: Breaking Brandon by Elizabeth Reyes

Breaking Brandon (Fate, #2)Author: Elizabeth Reyes
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 286

"He ruled out attachments years ago. Then one day he crosses paths with a beautiful but pampered daddy's little princess. History has taught him one thing about women like her--steer clear.
She was starting over. She moved back to her home town, took a new job assignment, and left her past behind. For the first time in over eighteen months, she's even intrigued by a man--a sexy but cold and indifferent drill sergeant. Despite feeling drawn to him, she has no time to figure out his inexplicable aversion to her.
Then Fate steps in one night, forcing them together. There's a connection neither can refute, and they both consider giving into the undeniable attraction.
Fate however can also be cruel. Just when they surrender to their heart's desires, past demons resurface in the most unexpected way, threatening the happiness neither realized they so desperately needed."

Breaking Brandon is sexy, daring, and is definitely one of Elizabeth Reyes's best book yet.

I read this book the day of release and once I finished it I had to take a couple of days to take it all again, and then of course I had to read it all over again before writing a review on it. This has happened a couple times and I finally think I have the capability of writing all my feels down on paper...er, on the internet.

I really want to talk about the character's in this book, because I feel that their one of Elizabeth Reyes's best written characters and I just loved them so much.

Brandon's had some bad luck in his life. His Dad wasn't really the Dad a kid wishes for, his Mom wasn't much help and the one girl he ever liked was pretty much off limits. He's had a tough life but he's still such an amazing character. He's strong, passionate, and he when he cares for someone it's genuine. Also, he's a sergeant. If that isn't hot then I don't know what is, military men and bad boys have to be the two type of guys that I just will give anything to read about. They are just so hot!! Brandon is no exception.

Regina has had some very tough times in her life too and she's still trying to get past those moments. I really loved how independent this women is in her life, though she does have her weak moments. She really cares about people and loves the people around her.

Brandon and Regina's chemistry is really hot and sizzling. The feelings that it evokes in both of them is something really new for them and at first they aren't sure how to handle it but they both work through that. In this book I really thought that the way their relationship is portrayed is one of the most life like type of relationships. It has those up and down moments and those moments when your just sure that there is no way that this relationship could work out.

In my opinion this has to be the best Elizabeth Reyes written yet. It has so much passion, romance and just tells a beautiful story about two characters trying to get over their pasts and just trying to moving forward.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

Jan 10, 2014

Bout of Books Updates: Day 4

Bout of Books
Bout of Books Day 4 was an epic day of fails for me...I finally went back to school after two days of school days and I had choir rehearsals. I very busy day for me so I didn't get a lot of reading done. I finished Sunrise Over Fallujah for school and hated it, and I got through 2 pages of The 5th Wave. Yes only TWO pages. Fail!
Sunrise Over Fallujah     The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)

Number of pages I’ve read today: 62
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books I read from: Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers & The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
#todayinsixwords: The worst day of reading yet. :(
So I had school again today, on Day 5, so I'm planning to at least get halfway into the The 5th Wave and read some more out of my JFK book for my final project in history class.
I just wanted to let all of you know that my total page count up until and counting Day 4 is....1100!! I am also 2 books ahead from where I should be in my challenge for Goodreads!
Let me know how all of you are doing in your read-a-thon in the comments below! Keep Reading! 

Blog Tour: Stir Me Up by Sabrina Elkins

Author: Sabrina Elkins
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Number of Pages: 268

"Cami Broussard has her future all figured out. She'll finish her senior year of high school, then go to work full-time as an apprentice chef in her father's French restaurant, alongside her boyfriend, Luke. But then twenty-year-old ex-Marine Julian Wyatt comes to live with Cami's family while recovering from serious injuries. And suddenly Cami finds herself questioning everything she thought she wanted.
Julian's all attitude, challenges and intense green-brown eyes. But beneath that abrasive exterior is a man who just might be as lost as Cami's starting to feel. And Cami can't stop thinking about him. Talking to him. Wanting to kiss him. He's got her seriously stirred up. Her senior year has just gotten a lot more complicated…."

Buy Links: Amazon l Barnes & Nobles l Kobo Bam l iTunes l Zola

Stir Me Up is one of the most amazing YA book I have ever read. It's funny, tragic, steamy, and just and amazing well written book. I can not express how much I adore this book. I stayed up until 12:30 AM to read this not caring if I got my e-reader taken away because of it. I simply could not let go of this book.

The premise of this story is very unique when it comes to the YA genre. You don't see a YA romance that has an injured solider in it...or maybe you do and I'm just missing all those books. I don't know, but to me this book was quite unique.

Cami is a really strong 17 year old girl. No one can deny that. She has determination, will-power, a great personality-not to mention she can cook (I'm going to admit that I'm addicted to food yet can't cook...). While she does stand up for herself I felt as if sometimes she was standing up for herself at the wrong times. She would fight with Julian over something stupid he said but never stood up against her father or step-mother when they were wrong, or maybe only I was the one thinking they were wrong. No matter what Cami should have stood up for herself when her Dad was picky and was very judgmental-especially when it came to cooking.

Julian on the other hand...he's a hot head. Likes to yell, wants to seem strong and powerful, all the usual guy stuff you know? But the difference is that Julian is an injured solider that just lost half a leg. He's dealing with PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder) very mild case, losing his leg and getting adjusted into a new home. It's not easy yet he still gets up every morning and goes to eat breakfast. I really admire his for that.
“I rest my head against him when our mouths break apart, and breathe him in. I love the smell of him, that mysterious, perfect, warm, delicious taste that is him.”
Of course, what kind of review would this be if I didn't mention a hot guy so I just have to say that...holy smokes-Julian is one good looking piece of man! I really just wanted to push my hand into my e-reader and pull Julian out into the real world and leave Cami behind. Julian is just so freaking hot!!! Pepe Toth was a perfect choice for Julian on the cover-kudos to whoever chose that! 
“Julian, I need you. Not in ways you can see. But in ways that I feel. If I’m your life raft, we’re in trouble—because you’re mine.”
The romance is this book is just steaming hot. I really needed the fan on and it was below zero the day I was reading this...I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON!! The romance in this book might be lethal. I'm going to leave it at that.

If Sabrina Elkins keeps writing books like this then she may end up having a crazy stalker-fan. (Wait...what? I don't recall writing that.) This book was absolutely amazing and I really can't wait to see more of her work and hopefully see more of Julian and Cami (I doubt it but begging works right?).

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the publisher and tour host in exchange for an honest review.

Author Bio
I am a former journalist who worked for the Los Angeles Daily News and other newspapers in the greater Los Angeles area. Prior to this I worked in advertising, writing ad copy for corporate travel accounts and major motion pictures. My first job out of college was as an administrative assistant to an executive chef and a food & beverage director at a Four Seasons hotel. I also spent some time working as a prep cook for Spago in Beverly Hills.
I received my Master's degree in Journalism from the University of Southern California. While in graduate school, I had the privilege of studying fiction writing under renowned author Hubert Selby, Jr., and comedy writing under famed comedian Shelley Berman. I am a past participant of the Squaw Valley Community of Writers Summer Writing Workshop.
Raised in the woods of Vermont, I now live in the greater Los Angeles area with my husband and three children. STIR ME UP is my first novel.
Author Links: Website l Goodreads l Twitter l Facebook

Cami’s Cookbook Pack 
Le Petit Paris: French Finger Food by Nathalie Benezet
500 Soups by Susannah Blake
Godiva chocolate bar
Stir Me Up magnet  
Julian’s Late-Night Pack 
George Noory’s Late-Night Snacks by George Noory
Dinner and a Movie by Katherine Bebo
Godiva chocolate bar
Stir Me Up magnet  
Sweet Desserts Pack 
Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Connor
Cutie Pies by Dani Cone
Godiva chocolate bar
Stir Me Up magnet

Contest is void where prohibited. Entrants must be 18 or else have parent or guardian’s permission to enter. Winners will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond  or another winner’s name will be selected. Winning entries will be verified for authenticity.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Hosted by:

Displaying YA Bounk Tour Button.png