Dec 31, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday #12 : Top 10 Reads of 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Indelible (The Twixt, #1)    Rush (The Game, #1)    Dare You To (Pushing the Limits, #2)
10. Indelible by Dawn Metcalf
9. Rush by Eve Silver
8. Dare You To by Katie McGarry

The Fault in Our Stars    The Vow    Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)
7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
6. The Vow by Jessica Martinez
5. Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

Eleanor and Park    Pivot Point (Pivot Point, #1)    The Elite (The Selection, #2)
4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
3. Pivot Point by Kasie West
2. The Elite by Kiera Cass

And the best book I read in 2013.......
The Sea of Tranquility
1. The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay 

What were some of your 2013 favorites?

Dec 27, 2013

2013 End of the Year Survey

best books 2013 end of year survey
I saw this survey and it looked like fun so I decided to do it as well. It was created by Jamie over at the Perpetual Page-Turner. It's pretty long so you don't have to read the whole thing!

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

*Book titles lead to reviews or Goodreads links.

Contemporary YA – Dare You To by Katie McGarry
Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic – The Elite by Kiera Cass 
Historical Fiction – I didn't read any this year but I really dislike this genre.
Paranormal - Indelible by Dawn Metcalf
Science Fiction - Rush by Eve Silver
Fantasy - Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund. This book was just so bad for me. i didn't even finish the last 10 pages because I was just so done.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Death Note. If you know me then you know that I HATE manga and I really did like this series. I got 6 books in before I stopped.

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  My sister said this right away once I asked her.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

I fell in love with the Lunar Chronicles right after I read Cinder with my book club. So obsessed with this series and I can't wait for Cress to come out 6 days before my birthday!

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Penelope Douglas, author of Bully and Until You. I am not ashamed to say that I stalk this amazing lady on Facebook...okay maybe a little.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

As a rule (that my parent's hate) I avoid non-fiction or anything like it. I love Audrey Hepburn: An Intimate Portrait, a biography. Her life is so interesting!

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black is a must read for all of you. I highly recommend you all read it. I am trying to patiently wait for the sequel and I'm not sure it's working... 

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay. This is the first book that I gave 6 out of 5 stars!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)

11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

I'm going to take a nap after this survey. I'm cheating so...Nastya Kashnikov from The Sea of Tranquility, America Singer from The Elite, and Beth Risk from Dare You To. All 3 of these women are people who have remained strong through so many hard situations and they inspire me to be better. A book can't get 5 stars from me without some strong, amazing characters.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Easiest question on this whole survey so far, The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay. I'm telling you people that you have to read this!!

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

I really have to go with Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell for this. (I was debating between this and Sea of Tranquility again.) This book really has an important lesson woven between the words-domestic violence/harassment. My life has been particularly impacted by this issue, especially this year, and I really respect Rainbow Rowell for this book.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I still haven't written a review on this but I really loved it! I waited on this because sad books really just tear me apart and I finally read it with my book club last month.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

“People like to say love is unconditional, but it's not, and even if it was unconditional, it's still never free. There's always an expectation attached. They always want something in return. Like they want you to be happy or whatever and that makes you automatically responsible for their happiness because they won't be happy unless you are ... I just don't want that responsibility.”

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest –  Late Night With Andres by Debra Anastasia (80 pages)

Longest - Entangled by Annie Brewer (550 pages)

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

The end of Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout. It practically killed me.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Romance – Jared and Tate (Bully by Penelope Douglas)
Friendship – America and Marlee (The Elite by Kiera Cass) 
Familial - ....I really can't think of one at the moment. If I find one I will update this post!

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Vow by Jessica Martinez! It's an amazing book and I highly recommend that you all read it. Her previous book that I read was Virtuosity.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Death Note (A Manga)

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

No surprise for me but Paranormal or Contemporary! 

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?
Reed from The Vow by Jessica Martinez. Not the main character but he's amazing!

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Pivot Point by Kasie West.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

For 2013 it is definitely Indelible by Dawn Metcalf. The imagery definitely makes this a great horror/paranormal read.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

Rush by Eve Silver. This is a book definitely written for gamers, I used to be a BIG gamer so it was a lot of fun knowing what they were talking about and making connections to real games.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Book that made me sob the most: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay. First book to ever make me cry.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black. One of my favorite books of 2013 and I really don't think that enough people know about it.


1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014?

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead! I need my Sydrian fix and yet I can't seem to find a copy and I'm broke....anyone want to give me a copy? 

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

Landline by Rainbow Rowell. 

3. 2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings. It looks like a Stephan King book.

 4. Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014?

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014?

I have a new feature that I will be introducing for 2014 and I'm really excited. I hope it will really kick off and a lot of people will join in. I also hope that I can get more comments in this upcoming year.

If you participated in this survey then link up your post in the comments!

2014 Standalone Reading Challenge

2014 Standalone Reading Challenge

So I'm very excited to be participating in Iceybooks & Disneeee's 2014 Standalone Challenge! As much I love sequels and series and all that jazz I really wish I could read more standalones and this challenge is perfect for that!

The Challenge
To read 15 Young Adult and Middle Grade standalone novels in 2014 released in the United States between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014.

Eligible Books
-YA/MG standalone novels. This means that the book can not have an announced (sometimes sequels happen unexpectedly) sequel, prequel, follow up, etc.
-Companion novels count towards the challenge as well. Companion novels take place in the same world as a novel but usually follows the life of a different character. It can be read independently from the book that came before it.
-Released between January 1 – Decemeber 31, 2014 in the United States. If a book was previously released in another country but is being releasing in the US for the first time, it is eligible. At the same time, if you live in a country where it was previously released, but it is being released in the states for the first time – lucky you – it counts.
-Must be read in 2014
-Can be read in any (legally) readable format: ARC, Paperback, Hardcover or e-book. Audio books do not count toward the challenge.

I plan on using the Goodreads list as a guideline but will be adding my own books...maybe.

To participate just go to the 2014 Standalone Reading Challenge sign up page

Let me know below if you are participating! Good luck to all of you.

Dec 25, 2013

Merry Christmas!!

Hello all you Little Bookworm Reviews followers! 

I just wanted to take the time to wish you all a very Merry Christmas!
 I don't celebrate Christmas but I still love the concept of it.

So I hope your day is filled with joy, presents (preferably bookish presents) and all that yummy food!

Now here is a ton of a gifs:

And if your a huge Doctor Who fan like I am...!

Merry Christmas!

***Don't forget to enter my 1 Year Blogiversary Giveaway!!***

Dec 22, 2013

Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves #22

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer~It's a chance to share news~A post to recap the past week on your blog, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

There were no features this week :( I'm really sorry...

  • Out of Time -Enter to win gift cards & your name in the acknowledgements of book 3. 
  • Until You -Enter to win a Kindle, gift cards, swag packs & books.
Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Visit Tynga's Reviews to learn more about this weekly meme.
For Review
Fire & Flood (Fire & Flood, #1)    Return to Poughkeepsie (Poughkeepsie, #2)    Torn (Torn Heart, #1)    Heart Breaths

From the Library
The Beginning of Everything

Ashes to Ashes (Ashes, #1)
What new books hit your shelves?

Dec 20, 2013

Blog Tour + Giveaway: Until You by Penelope Douglas

Until You (Fall Away, #1.5)Author: Penelope Douglas
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 368

"Have you ever been so angry that hitting things felt good? Or so numb that you actually felt high? The past few years have been like that for me. Traveling between fury and indifference with no stops in between. Some people hate me for it, while others are scared of me. But none of them can hurt me, because I don't care about anything or anyone.Except Tatum.I love her so much that I hate her. We used to be friends, but I found out that I couldn't trust her or anyone else.So I hurt her. I pushed her away.But I still need her. The sight of her centers me, and I can pool all of my anger into her. Engaging her, challenging her, bullying her...they are my food, my air, and the last part of me that feels anything human.But she left. She went to France for a year, and came back a different girl.Now, when I push, she pushes back."

Beautiful, unique, and an just plain amazing, Until You will pull you in even more into the amazing series that is Fall Away.

This is book 1.5 of the Fall Away series. There is no new character or new romance, but it's the same story as Bully just in Jared's POV. Could things even get more enticing than this? Yes, yes it can because book two is Madoc's story! But we will get to that later.

This book has got to be the best change-of-POV-sequel I have seen so far in my life. Most of the time I usually feel very unsatisfied when I read a sequel in another character's POV. This book was still amazing. I was enraptured into the story and I just couldn't let go..of Jared. I really, really love Jared!

The characters in the book were so amazing and I love them even more than I did before-of that's even possible. Jared, of course, was his amazing self and Tate was just great with her awesome name and even better personality.

I know in my Bully review I talked a lot about Tate and Jared and how I felt about them (click here to read my Bully review) so I thought instead of talking about Tate and oh-so-hot-he's-a-god Jared I would talk about the guy that is my second favorite character (after Jared)...Madoc!
“Oh baby", Madoc groaned to the girl next to him. "Snickers ain't the only thing king sized.” 
Madoc is the absolute funnies character in this book. He's funny and can be a jerk but from the heart he's a real teddy bear. You end up falling in love with him and you just want to see more and more of him. Thank god he gets his own book! Hopefully it comes out soon!

I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who read Bully or just wants to read a unique New Adult Contemporary Romance. This is definitely your book. I would say that due to the graphic sexual content that only read this book if you are 17+ or are comfortable with the situations. Otherwise everyone should read this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!
*A copy of this book was provided by the author and tour host in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Links: Amazon l Amazon UK l Barnes&Nobles l Kobo l Smashwords

Author Bio
Penelope Douglas is a writer and teacher in Las Vegas. Born in Dubuque, Iowa, she is the oldest of five children. Penelope attended the University of Northern Iowa, earning a Bachelor's degree in Public Administration, because her father told her to "just get the degree!" She then earned a Masters of Science in Education at Loyola University in New Orleans, because she hated Public Administration. One night, she got tipsy and told the bouncer at the bar where she worked that his son was hot, and three years later they were married. To the son, not the bouncer. They have 
spawn, but just one. A daughter named Aydan. Penelope loves sweets, the show Sons of Anarchy, and she shops at Target almost daily.

Author Links: Website l Facebook l Goodreads l Twitter l Pinterest

Penelope is offering up (1) Kindle Paperwhite, (5) $50 gift cards to either Amazon or B&N, (5) Prize packs (bookmarks, rack cards, a custom key chain and signed copies of Bully and Until You) or (10) eBook copies of Bully up for grabs. The giveaways are open internationally. Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM CST 12/23/2013.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Dec 19, 2013

Blog Tour + Giveaway: Out of Time by Jen McLaughlin

Author: Jen McLaughlin
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 216

"Desperate to keep him...
I've finally gotten everything I ever wanted: love, freedom, happiness, and, most importantly, Finn. Our love is everything I expected it to be and more. We've finally found each other, but the world seems determined to tear us apart. We thought my father was the only obstacle between us, but now it's the military. With Finn’s departure looming, we’re squeezing in every moment together before we run out of time.
Trying to make every moment count…
Being Carrie’s bodyguard was one thing. Being her boyfriend is another. Every day she’s mine is a day the sun shines in my life. Yet our time together is running out. Her father will never think a tattooed Marine will be good enough, so I’ll do whatever it takes to be worthy of her love. But the road will take me away from the girl who makes me feel alive--the girl I can't live without.
Time only gets us so far..."

Even better than first book, Jen McLaughlin is definitely a book that just makes you want to cry when it ends.

This series has become so amazing and it has definitely become one of my go to reads when I just need something random to read that I've already read. The characters have touched my heart and I know I'm itching to get my hands on the next book.
"She really liked me just like I was, and that fucking amazed me."
Carrie has become someone that I wish were read and that I could be best friends with. She is just so...pure. She doesn't judge people on what they look like, what their status is or anything like that because she knows how that feels. She loves and cares for people based on their heart and how they treat others and not just her. She's very saint like in my eyes and that has to be the one thing I love most about this character. She doesn't care about wealth but she just wants to live happily ever after with the man she loves.
“I don’t think you need to be any guy but you. I love you the way you are—tattoos and all.”
Finn is the type of guy that your mother probably won't approve of (I know my mother wouldn't)...with the tattoos, drives a motorcycle etc, but he's exactly the type of guy that us girls would fall for (I've fallen hard already for Finn). Throughout this book he's become this sweet guy who, at times, you can't even picture with tattoos or anything like that. He's just become that boy that every girl dreams of falling in love with and personality wise he is that guy. Judging by looks, your mother might glare at you. 
"This was a pattern in my life. The second things started to look up for me, shit always blew up in my face."
The romance in this series is hazardous. I absolutely adore it! Carrie and Finn just connect and have just amazing chemistry, it actually makes me depressed. (Jen, what are you doing to me?!) In the first book it was all about the forbidden love and it still is in this book but not as much, at this point in their life it's more about trying to find a way to put all the loose ends together..if you understand that.

My favorite part of this book has to be all the quotes. The quotes that I could pull out of this book are just mind blowing. Jen McLaughlin is ridiculously skilled at writing and you can tell by these quotes. I could probably pull out pages and pages of sentences that I fell in love with in this book. Here are two more that I loved,
"Fuck, I love you. So damn much it scares she shit out of me. I've never been scared of anything before. Guns. Surfing. War. But now I have the biggest fear of all--losing you."

“I don’t care about his fucking campaign! I care about you. About us.”
This series has become a drug for me, I keep on reading it over and over again. Ugh! I really can't wait for the third book for this series, and I know I will be waiting very impatiently! 

This series is a must read and you should go one click this right now if you are smart and/or need a good book to read. I have fallen hard for this series and I never want to go back.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!! (What else would I give it?)

*A copy of this book was provided by the author and tour host in exchange for an honest review.

Author Bio
Jen McLaughlin is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. She writes steamy New Adult books for the young and young at heart. Her first release, Out of Line, came out September 2013. She also writes bestselling Contemporary Romance under the pen name Diane Alberts.Since receiving her first contract offer under the pen name Diane Alberts, she has yet to stop writing. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.
Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, a cat, and a Senegal parrot. In the rare moments when she’s not writing, she can usually be found hunched over one knitting project or another. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Author Links: Website l Facebook l Twitter l Goodreads

Jen is giving away 4 $10 Amazon Gift Cards and an amazing grand prize! The grand prize winner will get to help name a character in book 3 of the series, and will get their name in the acknowledgement section of the book! Contest is international.
If the book happens to hit the top 10 on amazon during the blog tour, there just might be another special surprise in the works for the fans!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Dec 15, 2013

Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves #21

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer~It's a chance to share news~A post to recap the past week on your blog, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Visit Tynga's Reviews to learn more about this weekly meme.

For Review
Defy (Defy, #1)
  • Defy by Sara B. Larson

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)    Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry, #1)    Rules of Attraction (Perfect Chemistry, #2)    Bittersweet

From the Library
Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)    Christmas on 4th Street (Fool's Gold, #12.5)    Real (Real, #1)
What new books hit your shelves?