Aug 31, 2013

New Releases (Week of 9/1/13)

Hope everyone is doing great! I know I start school again this Tuesday and it's a bittersweet type of anticipation. Some of you have already gone back to school, how's it going?

I have 4 releases this week and the first one is....Eternal by Kristi Cook!!

Eternal (Winterhaven, #3)Release Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Number of Pages: 384

"True love and destiny collide in the conclusion to the Haven trilogy, which Booklist called “a blend of the Gemma Doyle trilogy, the Twilight saga, and Lois Duncan’s thrillers.”
Forced to endure the violent punishment of the Tribunal for murders he has no recollection of committing, Aidan is slowly rotting away in a Paris dungeon. Violet is all but an unreachable dream to him now.
But unlike Aidan, Violet has not given up hope as she works tirelessly with Matthew, her guardian and protector, to prove Aidan’s innocence and unravel the haunting vision that plagues her thoughts—the death of someone closest to her.
Determined to set Aidan free, Violet discovers that a dangerous vampire war is brewing—and that Aidan may be at the center of it all. It’s only when the war reaches the doors of Winterhaven and tragedy strikes the school that Violet has to finally accept her fate. But that could mean losing Aidan—forever.
With no other option, Violet must choose between true love and fulfilling her destiny…unless she can find a way to have them both."
Loving the cover for this book and it is...All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill!

All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles, #1)Release Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Number of Pages: 368

""You have to kill him." Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.
Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside. 
Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was. 
All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice."
The concept of this book makes me fall in love already and it is...The 100 by Kass Morgan!!

The 100 (The Hundred, #1)Release Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 277

"In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth's toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland... before it's too late.
Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they've only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they're haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust - and even love - again."

This book makes me want to have it right now and it is....Project Cain by Geoffrey Girard!!

Project CainRelease Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 368

"Fifteen-year-old Jeff Jacobson had never heard of Jeffrey Dahmer, the infamous serial killer who brutally murdered seventeen people more than twenty years ago. But Jeff’s life changes forever when the man he’d thought was his father hands him a government file telling him he was constructed in a laboratory only seven years ago, part of a top-secret government cloning experiment called ‘Project CAIN’.
There, he was created entirely from Jeffrey Dahmer’s DNA. There are others like Jeff—those genetically engineered directly from the most notorious murderers of all time: The Son of Sam, The Boston Strangler, Ted Bundy . . . even other Jeffrey Dahmer clones. Some raised, like Jeff, in caring family environments; others within homes that mimicked the horrific early lives of the men they were created from.
When the most dangerous boys are set free by the geneticist who created them, the summer of killing begins. Worse, these same teens now hold a secret weapon even more dangerous than the terrible evil they carry within. Only Jeff can help track the clones down before it’s too late. But will he catch the ‘monsters’ before becoming one himself?"
What new releases are you excited for?

Aug 29, 2013

Aberrant Book Blitz

Aberrant (Aberrant )
Release Date: 04/17/13

"In the future Dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government's match in marriage and "The Day of the Chosen", a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn't existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she's arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence. Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from "The Day of the Chosen." The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system.
With Joshua's help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive."

Available from:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg

Author Bio:

Ruth Silver first began writing poetry as a teenager and reading heaps of fan fiction in her free time. She has written under three unique pseudo names and penned well over a hundred stories.

She attended Northern Illinois University in 2001 and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication. While in college she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, "Deuces are Wild", which she self-published in 2004. Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories.

Her love of writing, led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia. Silver enjoys reading YA novels and sharing her favorite books with other readers. She runs her own book blog and also enjoys photography and traveling.

Her favorite YA genre is a mix of Dystopian & Fantasy which is evident in the upcoming release of her latest book, Aberrant. Slated for release April 2013 by Lazy Day Publishing, it is the first in a trilogy.

***Author Links***
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png


1 signed paperback of Aberrant (US only)
3 scrabble tile necklace charms & signed
bookmark (INT)
3 bottlecap keychains & signed bookmark (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz
Organized by:

Aug 28, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #14

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's "Waiting On" Wednesday is...The 100 by Kass Morgan!!

The 100 (The Hundred, #1)Release Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 277

Here's the synopsis:
"In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth's toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland... before it's too late.
Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they've only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they're haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust - and even love - again."

What books are you "Waiting On"? 

Aug 27, 2013

Blog Tour: Bully by Penelope Douglas

Author: Penelope Douglas
Publisher: Self-Published
Number of Pages: 290

Here's the synopsis:
"My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all.
We're neighbors, and once, we were best friends. But then, one summer, he turned on me and has made it his mission to screw up my life at every opportunity. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to hide from him. I worried about what was around every corner and behind every door. 
So I left.
I spent a year studying abroad and bathed in the freedom of life without Jared. Now I'm back to finish up high school and get the hell out of here forever. I'm hoping that after a year of breathing room, he's moved on and forgotten all about me. 
But even if he hasn't changed, I have. I'm not interested in avoiding him or turning the other cheek anymore. We're going to go head to head, because neither of us wants to back down."

Gut-wrenching, heart-warming, and an amazing story, Bully is a must-read for all.

I adored this story. I went into this book kind of blind. I had heard that the book was good so I decided to read this without knowing what it was about or anything and this blog tour presented a perfectly good opportunity to do that. I loved this book beginning to end. I really can't wait for the second book and I wish I had it in my hands right now.
“This is how bullies are made.” 
This book presented a very big problem that many of us face in today's world and society. Bullying. This book definitely addressed the problem, but it didn't let it take over the book and just make you ignore everything else.You were still very aware of the past between Jared and Tate, the passion, anger, and everything else between.
“There was a time when I had all of his attention and loved it. As much as I wanted him to leave me alone, I also liked how he seemed surprised. I liked the way he was looking at me right now. And then I remembered that I hated him.” 

The characters in this book were amazing if not just a tad bit I-want-to-smack-some-sense-into-you. Jared I thought was a total prick in the first half of the book but as the book went on I became totally smitten with him and now I want one for myself. Why can't there be more of you?!?! I just wanted to hug him for all the despair that he had been through and how he just pushed everyone away. He just made me feel so...sensitive? Do you guys get that?

Tate-LOVE the name- was also a character that I loved but I really just wanted to smack her a couple of times. She was really insensitive at points with Jared and others. At times I even felt embarrassed for her and I had to put the book down and cool down for a few moments before I could continue. I don't like feeling embarrassed for a character I'm reading about, but oh well. Otherwise I loved her new attitude with her new tough guy/girl attitude.

“Don’t touch me.” I’d meant to yell, but it came out as a whisper.Jared moved his head from side to side trying to catch my eyes, his lips inches from my fave. “If I ever lay my hands on you,” he said low and husky, “you’ll want it.”
The romance in this book was amazing! It had me weak at the knees and I was all over this couple. They had such chemistry that they tried to deny and we all know that denial makes chemistry much...much hotter. My favorite part of this book had to be this-the romance. It was just so amazing on how it was portrayed, that I just fell in love with this couple. I wanted to scream out "OTP!!" multiple times while I read this, but most of all...while I was reading this I wanted to scream out....SHE WENT TO JARED'S! I don't know if you guys get that reference but it cracks me up every single time.

Overall, this book was funny, beautiful, amazing, and it had some AH-MAZING cars. I loved it and I highly recommend it to everyone...well 17 and older since this is New Adult. I know you guys will love it!
“Tate, you’re mine, and I’m yours. Every day you’regoing to realize that more and more. When you believe it without a doubt, then I’ll have earned your trust.” 
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!!

Purchase Links: Amazon eBook I Amazon Paperback


“I like storms. Thunder torrential rain, puddles, wet shoes. When the clouds roll in, I get filled with this giddy expectation. Everything is more beautiful in the rain. Don't ask me why. But it’s like this whole other realm of opportunity. I used to feel like a superhero, riding my bike over the dangerously slick roads, or maybe an Olympic athlete enduring rough trials to make it to the finish line. On sunny days, as a girl, I could still wake up to that thrilled feeling. You made me giddy with expectation, just like a symphonic rainstorm. You were a tempest in the sun, the thunder in a boring, cloudless sky. I remember I’d shovel in my breakfast as fast as I could, so I could go knock on your door. We’d play all day, only coming back for food and sleep. We played hide and seek, you’d push me on the swing, or we’d climb trees. Being your sidekick gave me a sense of home again. You see, when I was ten, my mom died. She had cancer, and I lost her before I really knew her. My world felt so insecure, and I was scared. You were the person that turned things right again. With you, I became courageous and free. It was like the part of me that died with my mom came back when I met you, and I didn’t hurt if I knew I had you. Then one day, out of the blue, I lost you, too. The hurt returned, and I felt sick when I saw you hating me. My rainstorm was gone, and you became cruel. There was no explanation. You were just gone. And my heart was ripped open. I missed you. I missed my mom. What was worse than losing you, was when you started to hurt me. Your words and actions made me hate coming to school. They made me uncomfortable in my own home. Everything still hurts, but I know none of it is my fault. There are a lot of words that I could use to describe you, but the only one that includes sad, angry, miserable, and pitiful is “coward.” I a year, I’ll be gone, and you’ll be nothing but some washout whose height of existence was in high school. You were my tempest, my thunder cloud, my tree in the downpour. I loved all those things, and I loved you. But now? You’re a fucking drought. I thought that all the assholes drove German cars, but it turns out that pricks in Mustangs can still leave scars.”

Author Bio
Penelope Douglas is a writer and teacher in Las Vegas. Born in Dubuque, Iowa, she is the oldest of five children. Penelope attended the University of Northern Iowa, earning a Bachelor's degree in Public Administration, because her father told her to "just get the degree!" She then earned a Masters of Science in Education at Loyola University in New Orleans, because she hated Public Administration. One night, she got tipsy and told the bouncer at the bar where she worked that his son was hot, and three years later they were married. To the son, not the bouncer. They have spawn, but just one. A daughter named Aydan. Penelope loves sweets, the show Sons of Anarchy, and she shops at Target almost daily.

Author Links: Facebook l Goodreads l Twitter

Penelope is offering up (3) $25 Amazon gift cards (INTL) and (5) signed copies of BULLY (US/CA) up for grabs.  Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM CST 09/01/2013.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

I am giving away 1 ebook of Bully from Amazon (INTL). Giveaway ends at 12:00 AM ET 09/04/2013
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Entangled Teen Release Launch-August 27

Welcome to the Entangled Teen August 27 release party! Today, we're celebrating the release of The Liberator by Victoria Scott, Relic by Renee Collins, Everlast by Andria Buchanan, Ward Against Darkness by Melanie Card, and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Liberator 
by Victoria Scott
"Bad boy, meet bad girl.
Dante has a shiny new cuff wrapped around his ankle, and he doesn't like that mess one bit. His new accessory comes straight from Big Guy himself and marks the former demon as a liberator. Despite his gritty past and bad boy ways, Dante Walker has been granted a second chance. When Dante is given his first mission as a liberator to save the soul of seventeen-year-old Aspen, he knows he’s got this. But Aspen reminds him of the rebellious life he used to live and is making it difficult to resist sinful temptations. Though Dante is committed to living clean for his girlfriend Charlie, this dude’s been a playboy for far too long…and old demons die hard. With Charlie becoming the girl she was never able to be pre makeover and Aspen showing him how delicious it feels to embrace his inner beast, Dante will have to go somewhere he never thought he’d return to in order to accomplish the impossible: save the girl he’s been assigned to, and keep the girl he loves."
Buy Links: 
Author Links:

by Renee Collins
"After a raging fire consumes her town and kills her parents, Maggie Davis is on her own to protect her younger sister and survive best she can in the Colorado town of Burning Mesa. In Maggie’s world, the bones of long-extinct magical creatures such as dragons and sirens are mined and traded for their residual magical elements, and harnessing these relics’ powers allows the user to wield fire, turn invisible, or heal even the worst of injuries. Working in a local saloon, Maggie befriends the spirited showgirl Adelaide and falls for the roguish cowboy Landon. But when she proves to have a particular skill at harnessing the relics’ powers, Maggie is whisked away to the glamorous hacienda of Álvar Castilla, the wealthy young relic baron who runs Burning Mesa. Though his intentions aren’t always clear, Álvar trains Maggie in the world of relic magic. But when the mysterious fires reappear in their neighboring towns, Maggie must discover who is channeling relic magic for evil before it’s too late.Relic is a thrilling adventure set in a wholly unique world, and a spell-binding story of love, trust, and the power of good."
Buy Links:

Author Links: 
Website| Twitter | Goodreads

by Andria Buchanan
"Allie Munroe has only ever wanted to belong, maybe even be well liked. But even though she’s nice and smart and has a couple of friends, she’s still pretty much the invisible girl at school. So when the chance to work with her friends and some of the popular kids on an English project comes up, Allie jumps at the chance to be noticed.And her plan would have worked out just fine…if they hadn’t been sucked into a magical realm through a dusty old book of fairy tales in the middle of the library.Now, Allie and her classmates are stuck in Nerissette, a world where karma rules and your social status is determined by what you deserve. Which makes a misfit like Allie the Crown Princess, and her archrival the scullery maid. And the only way out is for Allie to rally and lead the people of Nerissette against the evil forces that threaten their very existence."
Buy Links:

Author Links:
Website |Twitter | Facebook| Goodreads

Ward Against Darkness
by Melanie Card
"The last thing Ward de'Ath wants is more trouble. On the run from both the law and the criminal underworld, Ward and Celia flee Brawenal City only to stumble into the mansion of a powerful evil necromancer. And when Ward discovers the man possesses a dangerous grimoire, his duty leaves him no choice. He can't allow the necromancer to keep the grimoire. But the mansion is filled with monsters--human and undead--and Ward has no way of telling who's friend or foe. The only person he can trust is Celia who dominates more of his thoughts and feelings everyday. But there are still laws in the way of anything but friendship. She's still dead and he's still alive . . . for now."
Buy Links:

Author Links: 
Website | Twitter| Facebook| Goodreads

by Jennifer L. Armentrout
"Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.
After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.
All Katy can do is survive.
Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?
Together, they can face anything.
But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?
And will they even be together?"
Buy Links:

Author Links: 
Website| Twitter | Facebook| Goodreads


To celebrate the new releases, Entangled is giving away a paperback copy of each book. Enter using the Rafflecopter below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Aug 26, 2013

Without You Cover Reveal

Release Date: 10/22/13

Summary from Goodreads:

*A novella to the best-selling New Adult novel STRIPPED*
"I’m the knight on the white horse in her eyes, the one who broke down her defenses after her sister’s death until she realized she was capable of love. To her—aside from my name, Torrin Kingsley—I’m perfect.
But there’s a sliver of my past I’ve never shared with her. One that is now haunting me with every breath I take. One she is starting to raise her brow to.
I’m not certain how much longer I can keep it from her. To be honest, I don’t know that it would make a difference anyway, because it seems no matter which path I choose, they all lead to the same end point. A place without Quinn.
My demons run bone deep. I guess burying them forever wasn’t possible."

Book One:

Author Bio
Brooklyn Skye grew up in a small town where she quickly realized writing was an escape from small town life. Really, she’s just your average awkward girl who’s obsessed with words. Her Best-Selling New Adult debut, STRIPPED, is out NOW! Represented by Bree Ogden of D4EO Literary Agency.

***Author Links***
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png

Entangled Teen Release Launch- August 26th

Welcome to the Entangled Teen ember, a division of Entangled Teen August 26th launch
party! Today, we're celebrating the release of DARKER DAYS  by Jus Accardo and CHAOS by Christine O’Neil!

by Jus Accardo
"Jessie Darker goes to high school during the day, but at night she helps with the family investigation business. Cheating husbands and stolen inheritances? They’re your girls but their specialty is a bit darker. Zombie in your garage? Pesky Poltergeist living in your pool? They’ll have the problem solved in a magical minute. For a nominal fee, of course...
When gorgeous new client, Lukas Scott, saunters into the office requesting their help to find a stolen box, it sounds like a simple case—until the truth comes out. The box is full of Sin. Seven deadly ones, in fact. They’ve got five days to recapture the Sins before they're recalled by the box, taking seven hijacked human bodies with them. Easy peasy—except for one thing... There’s a spell that will allow the Sins to remain free, causing chaos forever. When the key ingredient threatens the life of someone she knows, Jessie must make the ultimate choice between love and family—or lose everything."
Author Links: 

by Christine O’Neil
"My name is Maggie Raynard. After sixteen years being just plain me, suddenly I can kill people when I lose my temper. Turns out I'm a semi-god, descended from Aphrodite. Sounds cool in theory, but when I accidentally put my ex boyfriend in a coma, things go downhill pretty fast.
Now some new guy named Mac Finnegan has made it his mission in life to continually piss me off. I'm stuck learning how to use my new powers while also dealing with regular high school problems, and with this---annoying and super-hot---guy all up in my business, I'm about to flip out.
But it gets worse. I just learned there's this council for semis that wants me dead. They think I'm bad to the bone and when my ex suddenly dies, it's like everyone is determined to take me out. Mac might turn out to be my only salvation, but he's got secrets of his own---that may just kill us both."
Buy Links:

Author Links: 
Website/Twitter/ Goodreads

To celebrate, Entangled is giving away a Nook Simple Touch [US Only] and 2 copies of each book [International]! Check out the Rafflecopter below to enter.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spring Training Blog Tour

"For baseball superstar Garrett Donovan, his contract with the New York Empire baseball team meant he’d finally have the means to secure a future for his family. He should focus on that…not on the sassy, beautiful Jessa Montgomery — or what she looks like naked. Getting involved with the daughter of the Empire’s owner would be career suicide. Jessa is a distraction he can’t afford.
Her father had warned her never to get involved with his athletes, so his request that she keep an eye on his new star player came straight out of left field. The last thing Jessa needs is another spoiled, egotistical ball player to deal with. But Garrett is none of those things. His no-nonsense attitude and smooth Southern charm make her blood burn and her knees weak. Giving into temptation, she is consumed by the pleasure she finds in Garrett’s arms.
Jessa wants to protect his career. Garrett won’t let anything get in the way of their passion.
A passion that could cost him everything."



This book was pretty much what I expected. It was a light read, nothing too heavy. While I enjoyed it, it wasn't something I would like to read all the time. For a beach read, or for something just to relax with this is your pick.

I love the baseball part in this book. I was born in New York City and therefore are a hardcore Yankees fan. I wished there were scenes where we actually saw the baseball side of Garrett come to life. Instead all we saw were small glimpses.

I found the chemistry between the two characters to be amazing. I really didn't get to know the characters as well but the chemistry was still amazing.

I found the overall problem to be kind of lacking, but as I said this is a light read so I kind of expected that.

I definitely recommend this to readers if they are looking for something light to read. 

*A copy of this book was provided by the author and tour host in exchange for an honest review.

About Parker

Parker Kincade is an award-winning erotic romance author of The Martin Family Series. Her first novel, One Night Stand, won the category of Best Erotic Romance in the Celtic Hearts Romance Writers Golden Claddagh contest and was named finalist in the Romance Writers of America/Passionate Ink Stroke of Midnight contest.

Parker lives in the southern United States with her husband, children and beloved boxer sidekick. She loves reading, playing golf, spending time with her family and friends, ice cream from the ice cream truck, taking her dog to the park and watching old musicals.  


a Rafflecopter giveaway