Jul 31, 2013

"Waiting On" Wednesday #10

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's "Waiting On" Wednesday is.....Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout!

Origin (Lux, #4)Release Date: August 27, 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Number of Pages: 400

Here's the synopsis:

"Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he's facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anything who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don't seem entirely crazy, but the group's goal are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the read bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together they can face anything/

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?"

So my heart just broke...I'm going to go sob in my corner. 

What book are you "Waiting On"?

Jul 30, 2013

Fearless Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal

Fearless(Jesse #2) by Eve Carter
Publication Date: August 28, 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary


"I am strong, because I’ve been weak. I’m fearless, because I’ve been afraid. I’m wise, because I’ve been foolish.

Life is looking up for Jesse. With expert help from Chase, his injuries are healing and he makes preparations to enter the Pro motocross circuit again. A decision that could force Niki to make a difficult choice.

Kenny starts chemotherapy treatments but his bar, Rookies, is hurting from the lack of attention and lack of customers. As Jesse and Niki work to find a way to keep the bar from going under, life throws other obstacles in their way. From a manipulative dad and flirtatious step mom, to news from home about Jesse’s mother, that lands them in New York state in search of answers from the past. Dark secrets that were never meant to be revealed."

Author Bio
I am a true romantic at heart and with a modern contemporary erotic twist to my romance novels, you had better fasten your seat belt, as the ride is always fun, exciting and fiery.
Living in Southern California, but a mid-westerner at heart, I find plenty of inspiration for 
my books in my own exciting life. I have always loved the arts and as a young girl, I took dance classes and spent the summers reading books from the local library. Fascinated with the written word and its power to guide the imagination, I started writing short stories and later took Creative Writing classes in college. I graduated from The University of Iowa with a B.A. in Journalism and an M.A. in Higher Education. I also have a Teaching Credential from Chapman University in Southern California.

Author Links

Top Ten Tuesday #8

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week's Top Ten is...Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books!! I am so excited. I think I'll do both favorite beginnings and endings, but most of them will be endings. Endings are what really tell me whether the book is good or not. How the book is executed is crucial for me. It basically decides whether I read the next book or not.

Stolen: A Letter to My Captor10. Stolen by Lucy Christopher. [Ending] I read this book about three years ago and the ending still has me yearning for a sequel. It is still undecided whether Ms. Christopher will be writing one or not.

The Host (The Host, #1)9. The Host by Stephenie Meyer. [Ending] She's finally writing a sequel!! The ending of this book is so amazing. I absolutely adored it. It is a cliffhanger that doesn't have to have a sequel.

Heaven (Halo, #3)8. Heaven by Alexandra Adornetto. [Ending] The ending of this book is very bittersweet. We finally get to see a happy ending between these two characters yet will are sad that we will never get to read more about them.

Entwined with You (Crossfire, #3)7. Entwined With You by Sylvia Day. [Beginning] The beginning of this book is a bit unpredictable from where we left off in the last book. We end up getting an amazing beginning that we absolutely love!

To see my review click here.

While It Lasts (Sea Breeze, #3)6. While It Lasts by Abbi Glines. [Both] This book starts off in such a way that you are instantly hooked. The whole book is amazing , but when you reach the end you will be grinning like an idiot. This is my favorite book by Abbi Glines!!

The Elite (The Selection, #2)5. The Elite by Kiera Cass. [Ending] The ending left me grinning like a fool and jumping up and down in my seat and screaming "MAXON!!" No joke, my mom thought I was going crazy. 

To see my review click here.

Arouse (Spiral of Bliss, #1)4. Arouse by Nina Lane. [Beginning] The only reason I really liked this beginning is because it immediately indicates the the two are married. I've never read a book where the two are married at the beginning of the series. It was nice :)

Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)3. Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black. [Ending] The ending beginning totally changes this book. It turns it from a contemporary novel to a paranormal novel. Amazing!!

To see my review click here.

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)2. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. [Ending] Do I have to explain? The ending really hit me when I realized that I had to wait two years to read City of Heavenly Fire. I was debating whether to burn the book, fortunately I thought better of it.

Opal (Lux, #3)

1. Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout. [Ending] I honestly should not have to explain this ending. This ending tore me apart, shredded me, and just stomped over what was left of me. It brought sobs and tears. So beautiful yet I wanted to throttle Ms. Armentrout for making me wait a year to read the next book. It's a good thing I love her so much and she doesn't live close to me. ^_^

To see my review click here.

What are some of your favorite beginnings/endings?

Now or Never Blitz

Author: A.J. Bennett
Release Date: June 19, 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary

Here's the synopsis:

"Twenty-one year old Grayson Alexander finally breaks away from an abusive relationship and finds herself free for the first time in three years.
Determined to enjoy her new-found freedom, Grayson is intent on sticking with ‘no strings attached’ relationships—one-night stands, and steamy sex.
But she didn’t plan on Derrick.
Her attraction to the sexy man in uniform quickly turns into an unhealthy relationship. They both try to resist the pull, but neither can stay away.
When tragedy strikes, Grayson realizes it’s now or never—walk away or make it work."


Why was she acting like an idiot?  He was just a guy; he probably didn’t even give her another thought after their brief eye gaze exchange.
     Once she got her drink, she made her way to the cream and sugar stand to grab a napkin and hightail it out of there. Grayson turned to leave and slammed into a solid wall of muscle.
     Coffee spilled on her hand and down the front of his black T-shirt. As she held the remains of her coffee out of harms way, her chest pressed firmly against his. Horrified, she lifted her gaze.
      He cupped her elbows with both hands and steadied her, his startling green eyes ringed with gold swept over her. Then he reached around her, grabbed a napkin, and wiped the hot coffee off her hand. She caught herself giving him the once over while she had his gaze elsewhere; he was so hot, his dark red hair was so fitting to his rugged facial features.
     “You alright?”
     Grayson mumbled something that didn’t sound like English. Her breath caught at her throat as she took in his powerful frame: his legs were slightly parted and his faded jeans clung to his muscular thighs. His T-shirt was stretched over his broad shoulders. 
     He smiled instantly softening his hard face. “Why don’t you come and sit down with me?”
     “Um, what?”
     He tilted his head towards his seat, “The cafe is full. You can share my table.”
     Good grief.
     All she did was make eye contact with the guy, and now he thought that gave him the right to invite her to sit down? She’d clearly been in a relationship way too long, because she had no idea how to react to his question. A part of her was curious about this man who made her heart rate speed up with just a glance, but a much bigger part of her wanted to turn and run. She just got out of one relationship; she wasn’t about to start another the moment she drove into town. Besides, she’d always heard two redheads were a disaster waiting to happen.
     No thanks, she thought, I have had enough disaster in my life for at least five more years. 
     Although, her mother claims she’s only half redhead, the other half light blonde. So maybe it would only be half a disaster?
     Snap out of it Grayson, she thought, trying to get her shit together and not look like a blabbering idiot.
     “I can’t. I have to meet my family. But thanks for the offer.” Grayson tried to step by him, but he widened his stance and blocked her. 
     “Can I at least give you my number?”
     Oh my God, Grayson thought, this guy was persistent. He was hot as hell, but come on.
     “Do you hit on every girl who walks through the door?” Grayson asked with a little attitude in her voice; she couldn’t let another man gain the upper hand on her so fast.
     He laughed, his eyes crinkling at the corners, and she wondered how old he was. “Not all of them.”
Author Bio
A.J. Bennett lives in Nashville, TN with her husband and bulldog. She’s addicted to coffee, popcorn and books. Becoming an author has been a lifelong dream, and she’s extremely excited about her debut novel Now or Never.

Author links:

1 Ebook of Now or Never. Ends August 19th. [Intl.]

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jul 29, 2013

[Adult] Mini Review: Wicked Beat by Olivia Cunning

Wicked Beat (Sinners on Tour, #4)
Author: Olivia Cunning
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Number of Pages: 416

"From the moment he lays eyes on Sinners’ new front of house soundboard operator, drummer Eric Sticks knows he has to make Rebekah his. Unfortunately, she’s too busy trying to seduce guitarist Trey Mills to pay him much attention. Rebekah never planned to fall for the tall, goofy drummer with the weird sense of humor and a heart the size of the galaxy. But Eric makes her laugh and his constant attention makes her feel sexy and irresistible–exactly what she needs after the things her last lover said to her. A woman who gives as much as she takes, Rebekah makes Eric feel like a total stud–exactly what he needs after surviving a decade of watching the incredibly talented members of Sinners from the wings."
The Sinners are definitely my favorites rock stars when it comes to adult reads, but this book didn't really hit it for me. I still really enjoyed it but it wasn't as amazing as the rest. Eric is one of my second favorite band member after Jace Seymour *licks lips* and Rebekah is a great girl for him, but she was using Eric at the beginning to get to Trey. That really hurt and I wasn't even the one that was being used. Eventually it all got resolved and I really started to like the book a lot better.

I really felt for Rebekah during this book. She's a cancer survivor and she's had to face many difficult things because of that. I really admire her for being so strong even with what as happened. 

For the most part this book was very enjoyable and I do recommend it as long as you are over 18, but even though the book had a great plot the book had a lot of sex in it. I am not the greatest advocate of sex every three pages which it started to feel like after a while. Of course we want to see some steamy scenes but not so many that we get bored. Otherwise this book was amazing and I was very happy to see Eric finally get the type of girl that he deserves.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars!!

*An ARC was provided by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Mini Review: V For Vendetta by Alan Moore

V for VendettaAuthor: Alan Moore, David Lloyd (Illustrator)
Publisher: Vertigo
Number of Pages: 296
8This is a graphic novel*

"A powerful story about loss of freedom and individuality, V FOR VENDETTA takes place in a totalitarian England following a devastating war that changed the face of the planet. 
In a world without political freedom, personal freedom and precious little faith in anything comes a mysterious man in a white porcelain mask who fights political oppressors through terrorism and seemingly absurd acts. It's a gripping tale of the blurred lines between ideological good and evil."
Ever since I heard of this book I have been dying to read it! The concept struck me as very cool and I wanted to try out graphic novels.

This book has definitely been loved around the bookworm community. I was never a really big fan of graphic novels, anime, manga or anything like that, but now if you look around that is what a lot of people read. So I decided to pick up a graphic novel, I didn't pick up an anime or manga because I loathe them. I looked around for recommendations and the majority of what I found was one word Watchmen. Of course, because the world hates be my libraries didn't have it so I picked V for Vendetta instead.

This book is amazing. The concept of the book is that the government is very strict, and somewhat corrupt. Then there comes a mysterious man in a mask who is trying to fix this. This story was very put together for the most part. Towards the end I felt as if it was a bit rushed and they weren't really explaining anything. I finished the book feeling very confused and not knowing how the book ended. 

Otherwise this was a great read for my first graphic novel I will definitely pick up another one soon!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars!

Jul 28, 2013

Sunday Post&Stacking the Shelves #12

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

Hi everyone! So July is coming to an end and August is approaching! For some of us that means one last month of freedom and some are going to back to school. Either way I hope you're are having a great summer!!

So here's the recap:

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! Visit Tynga's Reviews to learn more about this weekly meme.

Now or Never    Two of a Kind (Fool's Gold, #11)

From the Library
Ink (Paper Gods, #1)    The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)

What books hit your shelves this week?

Review: Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)Author: Yelena Black
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA for Children's Books
Number of Pages: 469

Isn't that cover just gorgeous? I saw this book online and instantly fell in love. The cover plus the story itself makes it absolutely unstoppable.

Here's the synopsis:
"Dancing with someone is an act of trust. Elegant and intimate; you're close enough to kiss, close enough to feel your partner's heartbeat. But for Vanessa, dance is deadly – and she must be very careful who she trusts . . .
Vanessa Adler attends an elite ballet school – the same one her older sister, Margaret, attended before she disappeared. Vanessa feels she can never live up to her sister's shining reputation. But Vanessa, with her glorious red hair and fair skin, has a kind of power when she dances – she loses herself in the music, breathes different air, and the world around her turns to flames . . . 
Soon she attracts the attention of three men: gorgeous Zep, mysterious Justin, and the great, enigmatic choreographer Josef Zhalkovsky. When Josef asks Vanessa to dance the lead in the Firebird, she has little idea of the danger that lies ahead – and the burning forces about to be unleashed . . ."

Gorgeous, dauntingly beautiful, and haunting Dance of Shadows is a must read.

I absolutely adored every single little minuscule of this book. This was just a book that I get hooked on immediately. This was definitely not was I expected yet I still loved every single word of it. This book completely owned me while I was reading it. At times I felt like I was flying with joy, then it shredded me, and the next moment I was hurling it at the wall. This book made me feel all the emotions that any book should bring out in a reader.

The main character, Vanessa, is beautifully written and her strength is clearly shown in this book. The only reason she has come to this school is art is to find something that will help her find her sister, Margaret, who went missing while attending this school. The boys in this book are also written perfectly. They each bring out something new in Vanessa, we get to learn something new about her. 

The plot of this book is very interesting. I honestly have never seen anything like it. At first the book starts off as a contemporary book but then as the book continues it sort of turns into a paranormal read. This is what really made me put this book on my favorites list. This threw the book into a whole different category, I don't know whether to call it contemporary, paranormal, or both. THIS BOOK IS FREAKING AMAZING!! 

The only problem I really had with this book was the synopsis-it is a bit misleading. The second part of the synopsis makes you think that the story has a love triangle, or even a love square which it really doesn't. I don't know if I'm the only one who felt this way or if others feel the same way.

I really can't wait until the next book comes out. I will be waiting impatiently until I can get myself that copy and just throw myself into the world of this book. I will have to wait until the winter of 2014. The next book is called the Dance of Fire and I love it.

I highly recommend that everyone read this book. 

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!!
*An ARC copy of this book was provided by Cuddlebuggery's LBBA and The Girl in the Cafe for an honest review.

Dare Me Trailer Blast!


Dare Me trailer from Patrick Willems on Vimeo.

Author: Erin Devine
Release Date: October 8, 2013


"When Ben Candido and his friends, Ricky and John, decide to post a Youtube video of themselves surfing on top of a car, they finally feel like the somebodies they are meant to be instead of the social nobodies that they are. Overnight, the video becomes the talk of the school, and the boy are sure that their self-appointed senior year of dares will live in infamy. Every dare beings an increased of bodily harm, but Ben cannot deny the thrill and sense of swagger that come with it. The stakes become even more complex when a mysterious donor bankrolls their dares in exchange for a cut in the online revenue the videos generate. But at what point do the risk and the reward come at too high of a price? What does it take to stay true to one's self in the face of relentless pressure?"

  • Buy Dare Me (Paperback)

  • Author Bio
    Eric Devine is the Young Adult fiction author of Dare Me (pub. date 10/8/13), Tap Out and This Side of Normal
    He is also a high school English teacher and education consultant. 
    Eric married his high school sweetheart, and together they are raising two daughters in Upstate, NY.
    He is represented by Kate McKean of the Howard Morhaim Literary Agency

    Both Dare Me and Tap Out are edited by Lisa Cheng and published by Running Press.

    An awesome t-shirt as shown in the picture below and an ARC of Dare Me by Erin Devine! [US Only]

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Jul 27, 2013

    New Releases (Week of 7/28/13)

    Hi guys! So I'm here with this week's New Releases! Also, later this month I might have some interesting news for you guys. I'm so excited!

    So this week's first release is...Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor!

    Prep School ConfidentialRelease Date: July 30, 2013
    Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
    Number of Pages: 304


    "In this breathtaking debut that reads like Gossip Girl crossed with Twin Peaks, a Queen Bee at a blue-blooded New England prep school stumbles into a murder mystery.

    Anne Dowling practically runs her exclusive academy on New York’s Upper East Side—that is, until she accidentally burns part of it down and gets sent to a prestigious boarding school outside of Boston. Determined to make it back to New York, Anne couldn't care less about making friends at the preppy Wheatley School. That is, until her roommate Isabella’s body is found in the woods behind the school. 

    When everyone else is oddly silent, Anne becomes determined to uncover the truth no matter how many rules she has to break to do it. With the help of Isabella’s twin brother Anthony, and a cute classmate named Brent, Anne discovers that Isabella wasn’t quite the innocent nerdy girl she pretended to be. But someone will do anything to stop Anne’s snooping in this fast-paced, unputdownable read—even if it means framing her for Isabella’s murder."

    Next we have an adult read The Marriage Merger by Jennifer Probst! (To see my review click here.)

    The Marriage Merger (Marriage to a Billionaire, #4)Release Date: July 30, 2013
    Publisher: Gallery Books
    Number of Pages: 400


    "Her sisters have found wedded bliss with their wealthy,wonderful dream men, but not Julietta Conte. She’s stayed on terra firma as top executive of the family’s corporation, La Dolce Famiglia bakery. Work is her passion, and her trendy Milan apartment her sanctuary . . . until Sawyer Wells, a masculine masterpiece in a suit, lures her out of hiding with an irresistible offer: an exclusive partnership with his international chain of boutique hotels.

    Julietta’s been burned before—and trusting her brother-in-law’s friend, whose powerful gaze alone has her rethinking the best use of a conference room, is the riskiest proposition. But with a once-in-a-career chance to take the bakery global, will she mix stone-cold business with red-hot seduction?"

    Number three on the list is...Three Little Words by Susan Mallery!!

    Three Little WordsRelease Date: July 30, 2013
    Publisher: Harlequin HQN
    Number of Pages: 336


    "Can first love turn into the real deal in a sizzling new Fool's Gold story from New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery? Isabel Carlisle thinks she's cursed in the romance department. Her teenage crush, Ford Hendrix, ignored all her letters. Her husband left her for another...man. So Isabel has come home to dust off her passion for fashion and run the family bridal shop until her parents are ready to sell it. Then she'll pursue her real dreams. At least, that's the plan, until sexy, charming Ford returns and leaves her feeling fourteen all over again.... 

    Seeing Isabel all grown up hits bodyguard trainer Ford like a sucker punch. Back when heartbreak made him join the military, her sweet letters kept him sane. Now he can't take his eyes-or his lips-off her. The man who gave up on love has a reason to stay in Fool's Gold forever-if three little words can convince Isabel to do the same...."

    Also coming out is Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike!

    Earthbound (Earthbound, #1)Release Date: July 30, 2013
    Publisher: Razorbill
    Number of Pages: 352


    "Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told. 

    Tavia immediately searches for answers, desperate to determine why she feels so drawn to a boy she hardly knows. But when Tavia discovers that the aunt and uncle who took her in after her parents' death may have actually been responsible for the plane crash that killed them--and that she may have been the true intended victim--she flees for the safety of Camden, Maine, where the boy she sees in her visions instructs her to go.

    Now, Tavia is on the run with no one to trust. No one, that is, except for her best friend and longtime crush, Benson.

    Tavia feels torn between the boy who mysteriously comes to her at night and the boy who has been by her side every step of the way. But what Tavia doesn't know is that the world is literally falling apart and that to save it she will have to unite with the boy in her visions. Only problem? To do so would mean rejecting Benson's love. And that's the one thing Tavia Michaels swore she'd never do."

    Looking for a debut? Look no further than Indelible by Dawn Metcalf!

    Indelible (The Twixt, #1)Release Date: July 30, 2013
    Publisher: Harlequin Teen
    Number of Pages: 384


    "Some things are permanent.


    And they cannot be changed back.

    Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

    Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future...and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

    Somewhere between reality and myth lies…


    What new releases are you looking forward to??