Jan 29, 2013

Review: Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Wither (The Chemical Garden, #1)Author: Lauren DeStefano
Publisher: Simon & Schuster for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 558

Here's the synopsis:
"By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children. When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement. Her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next, and Rhine is desperate to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Will Rhine be able to escape--before her time runs out?
Together with one of Linden's servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?"
What to say about this book....Here's what I'll say: THIS BOOK WAS FREAKING AWESOME. IT F*CKIN BLEW MY HEAD OFF! Okay, sorry about the language but I just had to get that out. I've known about this book for like ever. I just never picked it up because the cover is kind of creepy and weird looking. So I was in Canada for Boxing Day and I went to Chapters and saw this on the bargain books shelf. Now let me tell you a book that is actually $18 and getting it for only $6? I just had to get it, especially since Bookables on Youtube loved it.

So this book was filled with awesome-sauce. I don't know what it was about this book, but from page one I was hooked. I found myself vying for Rhine to choose Gabriel and for them to be happy, but at the same time you see Linden and your just like "He's SO nice! His father's a jerk but he didn't do anything wrong." Your heart just breaks for him a little bit. I really liked that about this book. The fact that there is a love triangle and yet I can't really pick a team. I have NEVER had that happen to me before. That just proves that this book is 5 star worthy.

Then this society...at first I felt that it was a little bit cliched but later on it didn't matter. This is the type of stuff that we are all into, and want to read so whatever. I also want to discuss the two "sisters" of Rhine that are also married to Linden. I felt as if Rhine should have been glaring at them and just hating them all together. Then I realized that she didn't love Linden so she got along with them. Now Cecily was a bit of a pain in my butt. She was way too curious about all the things that had to do with um...getting pregnant. Then when she did get pregnant she was all grumpy and rude to everyone, she didn't really feel happy about finally getting her wish.

Otherwise I really don't know what to say about this book. It was magical. The ending made me sad and happy at the same time. It made me want to read this one all over again and at the same time pick up the next one, Fever. I wanted to go get Fever from the library right now, but I also wanted to get to experience the next book with my own copy, who cares if I have to wait. 

This book had my emotions everywhere. So I'm off to find some cash so I can buy the next book! I might have to wait until my birthday which is on February 20th though!

If you guys are looking for a good book, pick this one up! I promise you, you will not regret it.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!

Jan 25, 2013

Got some News

Hey Guys! Just wanted to let you guys know some stuff.

I just finished all my mid-terms yesterday so I will get to that review of Cinder by Marissa Meyer and Wither by Lauren Destafano soon.

I also might have a giveaway coming up soon! I'm really excited for my first giveaway, so tell your friends to follow so they know when the magic happens.
Yeah! You go Leo!

After those two I have some other not as exciting news, but I guess it is somewhat exciting. So I got a facebook page! Yeah compared to the giveaway your reaction is probably this:
  I think I have an addiction to .gifs.....

Either way, I will update it every time I post a new post or review. I will post giveaway news, random pictures I find. You can click the book with the facebook icon on it on the right side of the page under "Stalk Me" or you can click this link: https://www.facebook.com/LittleBookwormReviews

Please go "like"! Next to the facebook icon I have a Goodreads icon. You can friend me on Goodreads as well! I am debating whether to make a Twitter account or not. Tell me what you guys think. I'm not really on board with Twitter but if you guys use Twitter and would follow me then I will make one. Tell me what you think.

Guys go "Like" me on Facebook and tell me what you guys are reading! Tell your friends too!

Hope you guys have an amazing weekend! 
Happy Reading :3

Jan 22, 2013

Favorite Youtubers!

Hey guys! So awhile back I told you guys that I was going to make a video about my favorite book-tubers on Youtube and so I decided to do that today. So when I went to Youtube and checked out all my subscriptions I realized that I didn't have a lot of book-tubers on my list. In fact there are only 4 on that list. Yeah....I don't watch a lot of book-tubers. So I decided to do all of my favorite you-tubers in general.  That raises the list to 9 people, but I'm not going to tell you one of them because it's a cultural thing and honestly the guy might as well delete his channel because he never makes any videos anymore so....I'm gunna stop talking about him because this is usually what happens....
Somehow Neil Patrick Harris was able to take his awesomeness and send it to the light, making the light a little bit brighter.(I <3 HIMYM& Barney Stinson)

Moving on, let's start with the book-tubers. This book-tuber is possibly my favorite. She is amazing, and he bookshelf is to die for. She is Heather, otherwise known as Bookables. This is her most recent video. It is a review on My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick.

My next favorite book-tuber is Raeleen or Padfootandprongs07. I freaking love this girl. She is so amazing. Her enthusiasm is just like mine. I swear I'm not even lying. I was introduced to her by one of my friends. My friend told me that I acted just like her so I checked her channel out. I love her taste in book, and oh my god, I am jealous of her friends. They are amazing people. I wish I had friends like her who hacked my blog and sent me books, but whatever. Not important, as long as my friends love me. Here is her review of Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I love this book!
Next book-tuber is the Readables! I don't know what it is about her but I love watching her videos! Her videos are so high tech too! It's just amazing what she can do with video editing. So here is her video of Top 12 Books of 2012.
Last book-tuber is InkandPaperTwin. Personally I don't find her that great anymore. I haven't seen many videos by her and if there are videos they are usually just rants about stuff. I still love watching them though, but I am starting to miss her book enthusiasm. This is a month old video but I wanted to give you a video that is book related. Here is her review on Divergent.
Guys, I love all of them and so go subscribe to their videos they are all awesome.

Okay, so 2 of my non-book related subscriptions are music subscriptions. It's Taylor Swift and Billboard Goddess. Taylor Swift I never actually watch but am too lazy to unsubscribe to and Billboard Goddess just gives me a chance to see what music is on the charts.

Okay my first favorite non book-tuber is Joseph Birdsong. This guy is pretty funny. I would not recommend you watch this guy if you do not like swearing. This guy swears A LOT! Not even kidding. He also drinks in all his videos. So unless you are at least over 14 please do not watch his videos. Also, FYI he's obsessed with cardigans and he's gay and likes to make a lot of dad jokes so...I know I watch some weird people on Youtube. Anyway, here is the video that got me obsessed with this madness.
Next guy is actually pretty normal so all of you guys can go ahead and take a look at this video. He calls himself Nigahiga and he's pretty entertaining as well so take a look. Let's all save the twinkies! TEHE
Hope you guys subscribe to some of these people! Though maybe subscribing to Joseph Birdsong wouldn't be such a good idea. Tell me who you subscribe to!

Oh, and I wanted to add this picture just because I love How I Met Your Mother.

Jan 17, 2013

Liebster Blog Awards!

Wow! As a fairly new blogger I never thought that I would actually be getting this. I've only been blogging for about 2 months now. I want to thank Bookaholic Corner, Sincerely, Steph, and Luoqi for nominating me for this amazing award. I really, really love blogging and being able to share my thoughts on books with all of you guys, who follow my blog.

Okay, so a week or two ago I saw one of the bloggers I follow get this award. I was surprised that I had never heard of this so I looked it up. This is what I found on Google Images. It's the origin of the Liebster Award!

Yeah, sorry I had to make that so big but I wanted to make sure you guys could read it. So the rules are as follow:

1. Thank your Liebster Award presenter and link back to them in your own post
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by your presenter, state 11 random facts about yourself and create 11 questions for your nominees 3. Present the Liebster Award to 11 bloggers who you think deserve the award with under 200 followers and leave a comment on their blog telling them that you nominated them. 4. Copy and Paste the award on your blog

So here are the questions:
  1. What was the book that got you to fall in love with reading?
 I had always had that small love of reading but I used to live in NYC and there you don't read. You just play outside all day and study for school. When I moved to where I live now, I read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer and fell in love with the book. (I can hear you all groaning.) I started reading a ton of books trying to find one that I loved just as much as Twilight. Eventually, I became obsessed with reading and I just read all the time now, to my mother's disappointment.

  1. What's a book you decided to read by judging it's cover?
I think most of my reading decisions are made on what the book cover looks like. Yes, I do judge a book by its cover, but I don't do that with people. When I get recommended books on Goodreads I get book recommendations by the lot, so I usually press "Not Interested" on the ones with ugly covers.
  1. What 's a book that you read, but did not like?
Oh god, that's hard. If I don't like the book then I usually put it down without reading the whole thing. I guess the last one that I read all the way through and really hated was Rapture by Lauren Kate. It was actually kind of sad, it's the last book in the Fallen series. I loved the rest of the series but just hated this last book.
  1. What is your biggest pet peeve?
Wierd, scratch-your-nails-against-the-blackboard kind of noises. They piss me off. I will literally attack a person if they do that. I also hate any type of disturbances if I'm watching How I Met Your Mother or reading.
  1. Have any funny jokes you wanna share?
Nope. I can't tell jokes but I can tell funny stories. I'm never going to be a comedian. If I do then I will get tomatoes thrown at me.
  1. What other hobbies do you have, other than reading?
Watching How I Met Your Mother (TV Show) is a biggie. I will watch that for hours if I could. Otherwise I love to watch any Batman, or Marvel Avengers movie. LOVE superheroes. I <3 Iron Man! I also love writing.
  1. What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading Deadly Little Lessons by Laurie Faria Stolarz. It is the fifth book in the Touch series. I am loving it so far.
  1. What is your favorite book?
I don't really have a favorite book as much as a favorite series. I love The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Jace is mine ladies! If I had to choose a favorite book out of the whole series so far I would say, City of Fallen Angels.
  1. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?
France. I am a hopeless romantic and I love Amy Plum's Revenant series. France is such a beautiful country!
  1. What have you always wanted to do in your life, but haven't done yet?
Finish writing a book and publish it. I am in the middle of writing one and I really hope I can get it published by a real publishing company.
  1. Why did you decide to start a blog?

I love to read, and I love talking about books. What better way to do that than make a blog?

So now I have to state 11 random facts about myself. This should be interesting.
11 Random Facts:

1. I really want to learn how to street dance. Ever since I watched Step Up I have been obsessed. 
2. I am a total tomboy except for the fact that I read romances. I suspect its from my mother dressing me as a guy when I was a little kid. 
3. My favorite car is an Audi R8.
4. I love to sing, and I'm actually pretty good according to my Chorus teacher.
5.  I plan to be buried with my favorite books. They will be in my coffin with me. I know that sounds uncomfortable, but who cares? I'm dead.
6. I want to be a published author, but at the same time I want to be an engineer. The writing will be a come home from work activity.
7. I hate makeup, it makes me crazy, except for nail polish. Love that stuff.
8. I chew my nails, it's gross and I've tried to stop but I always relapse. Nail polish keeps me from chewing.
9. I want to go sky diving above some really super cool looking place. I still have yet to find that place.
10. I want to meet Cassandra Clare and Stephanie Meyer before I die. I will die the minute I hold their hands to ensure I die happy.
11. It took me wayyy to long to write 10 random facts about myself.

 My Nominees:

Sorry guys. I only know about 6 blogs that I read and I really didn't want to go around nominating random blogs. :(

Questions for my Nominees:

1. Who is your book boyfriend? Or if your a guy who is your book girlfriend or your favorite book character?
2.  Do you want to be a writer?
3. What is your favorite book of all time that you want buried in your grave with you?
4. If you could meet any author, alive or dead, who would it be?
5. Do you read Shakespeare? If yes, what's your favorite book?
6. At what age did you find your passion for reading?
7. Do you read the book first before the movie comes out?
8. Where's your favorite place to read?
9. Favorite TV show?
10. What's one book that made you cry?
11. What fictional world would you live in?

Thanks so much, and nominees please leave a link to your answers! Thanks!

Keep Reading :3

Jan 16, 2013

Review: Pulse by Patrick Carman

Author: Patrick Carman
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Number of Pages: 371

Here's the synopsis:
"The year is 2051, and the world is still recognizable. With the help of her mysterious classmate Dylan Gilmore, Faith Daniels discovers that she can move objects with her mind. This telekinetic ability is called a “pulse,” and Dylan has the talent, too.
In riveting action scenes, Faith demonstrates her ability to use her pulse against a group of telekinesis masters so powerful they will flatten their enemies by uprooting street lights, moving boulders, and changing the course of a hurtling hammer so that it becomes a deadly weapon. But even with great talent, the mind—and the heart—can be difficult to control. If Faith wants to join forces with Dylan and save the world, she’ll have to harness the power of both.
Patrick Carman’s Pulse trilogy is a stunning, action-filled triumph about the power of the mind—and the power of love."

Yeah, so pretty long synopsis but doesn't it sound good? I thought it sounded good when I signed up to win this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I freaking loved it! So as I said Goodreads was having a giveaway of advanced readers copies of this book and I won! Trust me that does not happen often. So I got this book in November I waited until a couple of days ago to actually read it. I've tried reading it a couple of times before but I never really got into it. I'll try not to put in any spoilers and if I do I'll warn you guys.

This book is really good. It was really close to get all 5 stars but I do have a problem with about two things in the book which I will discuss a little bit later. Let's talk about the gazillion good things I have to say about the book. I loved the characters in the book. Faith is so cool! I love how she fits in with the society as much as she can without having to live in the actual states, but at the same time she's different because she has the capability of living without her Tablet. It's sort of the way I would want to be if I ever ended up in a futuristic city, I would want to fit in with the rest of the society but at the same time I would have my own personality.

At first in the book Wade pissed me off, I was like "out of all personality he had to have one that made him an asshat". Sorry about the language. Then Dylan came in and I was all "EFF YEAH!" This book has made me have those reactions over and over and over again.

The ending was extremely cute and I just loved it. I'm not even going to tell you why because I know I'm going to ruin in for you guys. So I'll leave at I LOVED it!

Now let me tell you about the things that I didn't really like. The way Patrick Carman switches character POVs is a bit confusing. He doesn't do the typical scene change or spaces between the paragraphs like other authors do. He just let one paragraph be about one character and the next was in another POV. This was the main reason this book didn't get a 5 star rating.

The other thing I didn't like was that the ending sort of sped up, but I doubt I would have noticed it if I hadn't read the ending over a million times because it was so awesome. Dylan also came in kind of randomly but it wasn't that bad. She had noticed him at the beginning of the book, I guess I should have took that as foreshadowing.

That is basically all the complaints I have. Just so you know If you are looking for something with romance in it, I wouldn't really say this is the book. I thought this would be that book but it wasn't. There is romance, but just the tiniest bit.

Enjoy and Keep reading. :3

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!!

*An ARC was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Jan 15, 2013

Review: Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Cover Image Author: Tabitha Suzuma
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
When I originally picked up this book from the library I thought it was a just an everyday book that could do no harm, obviously I didn’t read the synopsis very carefully.

Here’s the synopsis:
"Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending."
This book just made me sick. It wasn’t that the book was bad it was just that the concept of the book just sickened me. Okay, I know that it is the twos own opinion, but their siblings and they love each other! In our society today, it has been considered taboo and disgusting. I’m sorry but I have been brought up that way. At times they didn’t even act like siblings; I would randomly forget that Maya and Lochan were siblings. I would read the book as if they were just two regular people who weren’t related and were in love.  

 I do find it kind of weird and disgusting, but that is just the rational side of me speaking. The romantic side of me says that if they want to be together they should be allowed to. Overall when I think of me kissing my brother it grosses me out, but then again he’s only 8 years old. Even when I think about one my cousins it still makes me shudder. Either way, on with the book.


 The ending of this book kind of depressed me. It really didn’t seem like it had good editing or it wasn’t very thought out. At certain points in the book, Lochan and Maya were saying that they won’t do “it” with each other because it’s illegal. Then the minute their alone they go right ahead and do “it”. That really just made me angry. They told each other that they would wait until they moved out. Then the ending Lochan just stopped trying. The ending was just so depressing. How is Maya supposed to take care of that many kids alone now? He didn't think about that at all. Then Maya was going to end her misery and leave the kids alone? WTF?!?!? I know that she loved Lochan but it was just kind of disgusting how easily she was going to let those kids to to some orphanage and end her won misery. It caught me as kind of selfish.
*End of Spoilers*
Overall, this book was very well written and I really would have liked it if they weren't siblings. I know that some of you would think that I'm narrow minded and a bit mean, but you should think about it. Wouldn't you find it at least just a little weird? I know I do.
I'm sorry but I really don't recommend this book to anyone unless they can really deal with this kind of stuff. I don't recommend it to anyone under the age of 14. Seriously, don't read it. There is some mature content.
Sorry, but I really wanted to give you guys an honest review.

Jan 13, 2013

Important News! Book Reviewers MUST Check This Out!

Hey guys! I have two things to say.

First, Entangled needs book reviewers!

Do you have a blog?

Do you love to review books?

Do you want access to books before they release?

If yes to these questions then just  go to this link: http://kateevangelistarandr.blogspot.ca/2013/01/we-want-youto-be-part-of-list.html

This is an amazing opportunity! I am definitely doing it! So check it out.

Head out over there!

Second, If you look to the right, you will see a goodreads icon and a facebook icon. The Goodreads icon leads to my page, so friend me! The Facebook icon leads to the Little Bookworm Reviews page, so please "like". I will start having start posts soon!

Little Bookworm

Jan 10, 2013

Review: Red Dirt Rocker by Jody French

Red Dirt Rocker by Jody FrenchAuthor: Jody French
Publisher: Neverland Publishing Company
Number of Pages: 180

Here's the synopsis:

"Based, in part, on the true and incredible adventures of teen MTV musician Forrest French, this hip and vibrant page-turner filled with pop culture references will draw the young reader in as they see the story unfold through the eyes of this straight-edge teenager from a tiny, hick, country town, whose life is about to change forever.
His strict dad raised him to be a football jock—his free spirited mama raised him on classic rock. Small town athlete and teen musician Forrest French finds himself torn, having to decide between public high school, sports and his simple, country life in Coweta, (aka Cow-Town) Oklahoma; his deep Southern roots and strong family ties, or the jet-setting life of an MTV rock star. While dealing with the team bully and facing the fickleness of teen dating relationships, Forrest depends on his faith to keep a cool head. In this story filled with teen angst and teen hopes, Forrest holds fast to his beliefs as he hangs on for the ride of his life in the upside-down, backward and thrilling world of rock-n-roll."
I was shocked when I finished this book. I never expected it too be this....good. I have no idea why but I didn't I got this book from Jody French herself, thank you Ms. French, and when I got the book it was skinny. Okay, whatever. Skinny books can still be good...at times. Then I looked in side of the book. Holy crap, that is some BIG print. Let me say that I was not so eager too read this book now. I like books with details. Skinny and big print book usually ends up with a 2 or 3 star rating because they have no detail. So there the book sat on my shelf for days, but my gaze kept on floating back to this book. The synopsis sounded so amazing. 

So a couple days ago, I decided I was going to read this book once and for all. I freaking loved it. Forrest is such an amazing guy. I loved how he stayed true to himself. He didn't fall into the lure of alcohol or the chance to be an ass just because he was famous now. That just made me want to meet him and just get to know even more about him. It was sweet how he liked Sophie. It was so adorable to read about him falling for this girl and how he truly liked her. 

I absolutely hated Heather. She...she was such a snob! D.J. as well. Though I must say, he has one awesome name. I loved how his mom wanted to capture every single moment of his career. I felt bad for him when he was torn up about not being able to play in the football because he had to go to a concert but I was glad he was following his dreams. 

This book was truly enjoyable to read. I am really glad now that I read it. The cover is so cool. I looked up the real Forrest French and I think that he is on the cover. I looked up their music as well, and my oh my are they good. I really enjoyed listening to them. Maybe I'll end up downloading all of their songs, who knows? I had never heard of him before, so when I saw that he was a MTV artist I just had to look him up.

Guys, I really recommend that you guys read this book. I had a lot of fun reading this book. Also, I just want to tell Jody French that she is awesome. This is her first book and it just rocked. 

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

*A copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Jan 8, 2013

The Ultimate Book Tag!

Hey Guys! So I watch a lot of booktubers and they are always having a ton of fun being tagged. Then I saw a tag on Sincerely, Steph, a blog that I read. I loved that she tagged all of us and so I did one. Next I want you guys(if you have a blog) to make one has well, and post the links in the comments section.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
No, and it would suck if it did because I go on really long car drives in the summer. My ultimate reading time. I guess the only reason I would get sick in the car is if there is hot coffee in the car. I HATE the smell of coffee.

2. Which author's writing style is completely unique to you and why?
Well when I read Over You by Emma McLaughlin the writing style hit my in the face(literally my sister bumped into it and the book hit me in the face -.-). That's all I can think of.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
 Twilight Saga. It has vampires, they aren't as long of a series or in book length, and it has two hot guys. You my friends, have been lawyered!

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books...)?
 Medicine for those off days, a bunch of pens just rolling around, and I hate to say...old food wrappers. Oh, and I always have gum with me.

5. Do you smell your books?
 Depends. If it's a book I checked out from the library definitely no, who knows what's been done to it! Otherwise yes. I love smelling new books. If there was a prefume that smelled like Barnes and Nobles, I would own it.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?
 Without. I need to picture my own setting and characters, or else everything gets befuddled. The exception is the picture books.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn't quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)
I agree with Twilight. Don't get me wrong it is still one of my favorite series (#2 coming right after the Mortal Instruments) but I felt as if the love story went wayyyy too fast. This was basically my reaction when I read it:

Nothing more, nothing less. And yes, that is Loki from The Avengers/ Thor. LOVE Superheroes  My favorites are Batman and Iron Man.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
 Actually I don't. I wasn't as big of a reader when I was little because I lived in NYC, and lets just say that we don't read there, we just played baseball. So most of the time I was outside, then in the winter we were just inside playing board games.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
Red Dirt Rocker by Jody French. (180 pages)

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Steig Larsson. (820 pages)

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
 Yes! I write and I hope that one day I will be able to become an author. It is my biggest goal. Maybe I can put some excerpts up for you guys if I ever get close to finishing a book. The future looks bright!

12. When did you get into reading?
 In about 5th grade when I read Twilight. I fell in love with the series and ended up loving it. I ended reading my whole library after that trying to find a book just as good. I found some that lived up to the expectation and now I'm addicted to reading.

13. What is your favorite classic book?
I haven't read many classics but I have to say To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?
In middle school, no. English was probably my worst subject. Now I'm in high school, I am totally rocking that class!

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated...what would you do?
 Well...there better be a gift receipt with it, and if not tell Barnes and Nobles that I received it as a gift and most of the time, the store will give me the money in a gift card.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
I have no idea!
17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
 Chewing my fingernails. I will be thinking about what I should write and I will starting chewing them away.

18. What is your favorite word?
Don't have one.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
Nerd. I don't really know how to explain it.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Vampires. After the Mortal Instruments series I hated fairies, but others are okay. Also, vampires live for eternity. I'M IMMORTAL!!!!! Plus, they are super fast and basically do a lot of stuff. They are also super good looking, but at the same time SCARY!

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
Shapeshifters, just so I could scare the crap out of my friends......and I could stalk people by turning into a kitten. Angels are pretty cool but then I'd probably turn into a fallen angels for something stupid like sassing God.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Werewolves. Jacob is just super hot. I could turn into a dog and scare the crap out of people. (I'm starting to sense a theme.)

23. Zombies or Vampires?
I am soo not answering this question. Zombies are super cool. I am hot for vampires. I AM NOT ANSWERING THIS QUESTION.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Love triangle. Who doesn't want two guys fighting over them? I don't want to have to sneak around.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
..................................................................................................Depends on how the community functions. Most of the time I would choose full on romance. Unless I am reading something like Defiance or The Hunger Games then it would be action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in.

Also, I mentioned booktubers, and I was wondering if you guys wanted me to make a blog post about what YouTube Channels I watch, not just limited to booktubers. Though, most of them are booktubers...I think. Tell me what you think in the comments section!

Happy Reading! :3

Jan 6, 2013

Review: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Warm BodiesAuthor: Isaac Marion
Publisher: Atria Books 
Number of Pages: 239

"R is a young man with an existential crisis--he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse. Just dreams. 
After experiencing a teenage boy's memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and strangely sweet relationship with the victim's human girlfriend. Julie is a burst of vibrant color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that R lives in. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world."
LOLOLOLOLOL! I can't stop quoting this book...or just laughing every time I remember a certain part. This book is absolutely hilarious, and I loved every second of it. 

I discovered this on Thanksgiving day and I got it for Christmas (Yeah, I know right?). Ok so I discovered this book on Thanksgiving day when I went to see Breaking Dawn Part 2 (Ummm, amazing ending. One worth seeing even if you hate Twilight.), and at the beginning there was the trailer for Warm Bodies. I fell in love with the movie. I went home to see if there was a book and there it was. I loved the cover too. if I were shopping at Barnes and Noble and I saw it, I might have just gotten it just for the cover. So I started looking for every type of edition at Barnes and Noble and they didn't have it at all. Then I checked on December 24, a day before Christmas and they had it. So of course I told me parents and there it was waiting for me Christmas morning. I was kind of surprised how short the book was.

This book had it's up and downs as most books do. Overall I really liked this book. it had just the right amount of detail and humor. It didn't have as much romance as I thought there would be, but that definitely did not take away from the book. Though I didn't like how much Julie swore, which is kind of hypocritical because my friends are trying to get me to lessen down on the swearing, but whatever. let's talk about Julie then.

Julie, for the most part, is just how I pictured. Strong but not too strong that she seems like she's not vulnerable at all. I love her. She is totally me. I feel like she is me! Her Dad was kind of a jerk but I liked him overall.I really liked the way that she handled things, she was calm and was able to handle everything nicely and most of the time everything did go really smooth.

Ummm...R can you like pick me instead of Julie? :D R is such an incredibly sweet guy, er...zombie. He only kills because he has to survive, but otherwise he didn't like it. He knew (subconsciously) that what he was doing was wrong. Ain't that just sweet? I really like that he has feelings even though zombies aren't supposed to. 

This book is very humorous and I can't wait to watch the movie. I really the concept of the Bonies in the book. I really, really recommend this book. It is really funny. I really feel that this book should be given a lot more credit and could be more widely known. I have also read Isaac Marion's blog, he's one funny guy.

Here's a link to the first four minutes of the movie:



Review: 4 out of 5 stars!!

Jan 1, 2013

Most Anticipated Books of 2013--Part I

Hey Guys! Hope you guys had a great Christmas/Kwanzaa/Hanukkah! Now it's time for the New Year to bring us joy! ...Well that didn't make me sound like some old guy wanting to rebel for something random. Either way...now that 2013 is really close here is my list for the most anticipating releases of 2013!!!!!!!


 Now the first book to be released in 2013 is The Essence by Kimberly Derting. It is supposed to be released January 1.  I don't if that is just the US date or if Goodreads is wrong about that, but it has already been released in Canada. This is the sequel to The Pledge, which was an amazing book. I hope that I can buy The Pledge and I can reread it so I can write a review on it for you guys. The cover is gorgeous and here is a link to the synopsis and the cover:


Boundless by Cynthia Hand is another book I am really excited for in January. It is going to be released on January 22. This is the third book to the Unearthly series. I am madly in love with this series, and hope to have a review for the first two books up soon. If you check out the left side of the page and scroll down to the "I'm Team..." section you will see a banner that is a Team Tucker banner. I freaking love Tucker he is just so....amazing. I'm not that big of a fan of Christian. He's hot and all but I love cowboys and Tucker is a total cowboys. YAY! Here's a link to the synopsis:


There is one more books being released on January 22.  The next one is Everbound by Brodi Ashton. This is the sequel to Everneath. I read most of this book in about one sitting. I am really excited to read this because Everneath left us off on a really big cliffhanger. Here's a link to the synopsis and the beautiful cover:



Those are all the January releases. Now are the February releases. There are 3 different book releases on February 12. The first is The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead.  This is the third book in the Bloodlines series. This series is a follow-up to the Vampire Academy series.  I have a Team Adrian banner as well. I love the cover for this one.  If you haven't read it yet then I am telling you to go to the nearest Barnes and Noble or public library and pick up the series. You will not regret it.  The cover is gorgeous as well. Here's the synopsis:


The next book being released is Pivot Point by Kasie West. This is the first book in the Pivot Point series. I am really excited for this book. This book is being release February 12. Can't wait! Here's the synopsis:


Arcadia Burns by Kai Meyer is also being released February 12. This is the sequel to Arcadia Awakens. The book wasn't that good, but I do want to read the sequel. Here's they synopsis:


Next book being released is the Goddess Inheritance by Aimee Carter. It is being released February 26. This is the third book in the Goddess Test series. This series is about Greek mythology  I love this series. Here's the synopsis:


Pulse by Patrick Carman is also being released February 26. You might be saying "Hey! You are reading this right now!" I won an advanced reader's copy of this book. There will be a review up soon. Here's the synopsis:


Star Crossed by Jennifer Echols is the last book on my list coming out February 26. I love Jennifer Echols, she is such an amazing author and I love reading her books! This is supposed to be the first in two books. The series name is Stargazer. The cover is pretty too! Here's the cover and synopsis:



The first coming out in March is Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger. It comes out March 5. This is the first in a series. The cover is absolutely beautiful. Check out the synopsis and cover:


Emblaze by Jessica Shirvington is the third book in the Violet Eden Chapters series. I love this series. Lincoln is so freaking cute! This comes out March 19, and I am really excited for this! I <3 Lincoln. lol Here's the synopsis and cover:


The next book I am really excited for. I absolutely love Cassandra Clare and her Mortal Instruments/Infernal Devices series. Clockwork Princess is the third book in the Infernal Devices series and I believe it is the last. It comes out March 19. I am Team Will if your wondering. The cover is to die for. Here's the synopsis and cover:



The first book coming out in April is This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. It comes out April 2. I love the cover for this book even though the title is a mouth full. This book is a stand alone. Here is the cover and synopsis:


Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire comes out April 16. I can't wait for this book to come out! This is Beautiful Disaster is Travis's POV. I LOVE Travis Maddox. I don't even care that I know what is going to happen in the book. Here is the cover and synopsis:


Now if you guys know me then you know that I love The Selection by Kiera Cass. I love Kiera Cass! She is so funny you guys should check out her YouTube videos  The Elite, the sequel to The Selection, is coming out April 23. I am Team Maxon! Here's is the synopsis and cover (which is beautiful):


Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris is also coming out April 23. It is the sequel to Unraveling which I loved. This one should be even more epic! The cover hasn't changed much but I do like whatever they did change. Here's the cover and synopsis:


Now this next book is the sequel to Immortal City by Scott Speer. It isn't very well known which makes me really sad, and really cool part is, is that it is written by a guy. I don't see many books written by guys these days. The sequel is Naturally Born Angel and the cover is so pretty! I have been waiting for this book for like forever, and I just saw when it came out and I am jumping up and down in my seat. It comes out April 23. Here's the cover and synopsis:


I am so Team Derek. With this series it is either Lucas or Derek. The series is the Shadow Fall series and the fifth book is coming out April 30. It is called Chosen by Nightfall by C.C. Hunter. I love this series. When I finished reading the fourth book I was like this(this will be my only picture):

Can't wait for this to come out! Here's the synopsis and cover:


Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins and I have a love-hate relationship. This book was decent. The sequel is coming out now and it is called Sweet Peril. The second book in the Sweet Trilogy. It comes out April 30. Here's the cover and synopsis:


The Program looks really interesting and at the same time not. It is written by Suzanne Young and is set to be released on April 30. The cover's really cool. I really like that they fall in love and they are sort of the only normal left on Earth, but I hate the part about the thing taking over Earth is depression. Here's the cover and synopsis:


This part one of the Most Anticipated Books of 2013. I will have months May-December up soon this week in Part 2.