Dec 30, 2012

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Number of Pages: 335

Here's the synopsis:
"Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens. 
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 
If I don't kill him first, that is."

Let me just say something before I start this review. If you have not read this book yet, I need you to turn off the computer and go to the nearest Barnes and Noble and buy this book. Come back and sit on your bed and read until you finish this book. I doubt you will want to sleep until you read this book but your choice.

This book is absolutely amazing. It had the action we all crave from a book like this. It has the wit you all fall to our knees for and it has the romance we all die for.

When I first saw the synopsis I was a bit iffy, I wasn't on board for the idea of aliens. Ummm, I prefer my guys actually somewhat looking like humans not mini green people. Ummm gross. Was I dead wrong. When I saw all the 5 stars it was getting from my friends on I just decided to give it a chance. This book left me on my knees begging for more, left me in a temper tantrum because it ended. 

That was the first time I read it. Now I just bought my own copy and I read it again, at the end it had a few parts of the book in Daemon's point of view. I-I don't even know what to say. It left me helpless, and pleading for more. Wanting to go out to Barnes and Noble at one in the morning, break in and just read. When the book ended and there was no more parts in Daemon's point of view, I was pissed. I want more. 

This book is so well written. I love the characters. Kat is We both have blogs :). We both react to certain situations the same too. I freaking love her. If I could be her I would. I've actually been in one of the situations she was in (not saying which one) and we reacted similarly.

Daemon is just so amazing. He acts all high and mighty but he just has this side of him which is just so sensitive. I feel as if he uses the asshat side of him to cover up and hide that sensitive side of him. He is amazingly hot it should be illegal. It's not fair how Kat gets to have him and I don't. * pouts*  Sometimes I just want to hit him but overall I really like him. I really love his sister Dee. She is so exuberant and so excited all the time. I love it and love people like her. She is also really caring and loving.

The problem was actually a lot of fun to read. It was exhilarating and scary and just plain fun to read. That's what we all love about reading...its fun. The first time they fought I thought that was it then I turned the page wasn't over. Like WHAT?!?!? The problem sort of happened two times.

Guys, I love this book. I just found in print in my local bookstore and I am strongly recommending that you go find this book. Buy it and read it. If you can't find it in print and you have a e-reader you can definitely find it there.

Go have fun reading this while I struggle to find some money so I can buy the second one, Onyx.

Happy Reading :3

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!

Dec 22, 2012

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next DoorAuthor: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial Books For Young Readers
Number of Pages: 394


"A gorgeous debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.
“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”
The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase's family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?
A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over."
This book is absolutely amazing! It has got to be my favorite non-paranormal book or at least my favorite. This book is so amazingly and beautifully written. It has everything that an avid reader could possibly want in a book. I have read My Life Next Door before, but I just had to buy it and if I buy it I have to read it at least once.

The characters in this book are amazing and so realistic. Jase is such a caring person. He is so forgiving too. If I went through some of the things he did I probably would have thrown some punches by now. 

Alice is just so....strange? She is studying to be a nurse but doesn't seem like the type of person to care about helping people. She seems like one of those crazy rebel girls. 

George. George. I freaking love him. He the cutest kid I have seen or read about. He is such a curious boy and he is so sensitive. I literally want to pluck him out of the book and kiss him and just make him my little bro. Here's some things he says in the book:

“Is Jase already gonna marry you?”
I start coughing again. “Uh, No. No, George. I’m only seventeen.” As if that’s the only reason we’re not engaged.
“I’m this many.” George holds up four, slightly grubby fingers. “But Jase is seventeen and a half. You could. Then you could live in here with him. And have a big family.”
Jase strides back into the room, of course, midway through this proposition. “George. Beat it. Discovery Channel is on.”
George backs out of the room but not before saying, “His bed’s really comfortable. And he never pees in it.” 
“Did you know that in space it's very, very cold? And there's no oxygen? And if an astronaut fell out of a shuttle without his suit he'd die right away?"
I'm a fast learner. "But that would never happen. Because astronauts are really, really careful."
George gives me a smile, the same dazzling sweet smile as his big brother, although at this point, with green teeth. "I might marry you," he allows. "Do you want a big family?” 
I love how he wants a family just like his parents. 

Patsy is the little child of the Garrett's family. She is hilarious  he first word was "Boob". LOL or what? That kid is always trying to pull off people's shirt. Her second word was "Poop". We go from "Boob" to "Poop". 

Tim. Tim is hilarious  At the beginning of the book I hated him. he was just this pathetic drug addict who lived with his parents and tormented his sister. Eventually I grow to respect him. he is so funny and is forever trying to steal Alice from her new boyfriend that she gets every few weeks. Here's a quote from him:  

“Do you know how many times I've read "If You Give a Mouse a Cookie" to this kid? That is one fucked up story. How is that a book for babies?” 
All these characters just come to life in my mind. Fitzpatrick has made them so life like that I dream about them. Is that weird? This book is just one book I actually stuck post-it notes on my favorite parts. I have never done that before. I just love going back to this book and reading it over and over again. 

I literally want to be apart of the Garrett family. They are just such a caring free family. You can be yourself and still have the people around you care so much about you. I love the big family. I want to have a big family when I'm older. 

Guys, I really love this book. This book is kind of touching too. GO READ IT!

More quotes from My Life Next Door:

“Mines!” Patsy shouts, pointing at Tim. He goes to her, rumples her scanty hair.“See, hot Alice? Even the very young feel the pull of my magnetism. It’s like an irresistible urge, a force like gravity, or—”“Poop!”
“I like eggs and bacon," George tells me. "But" - his face clouds - "do you know that bacon is" - tears leap to his eyes - "Wilbur?” 
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!! 

Dec 21, 2012

We Survived the End of the World.

Sorry guys, I haven't posted anything in a while, but the year is ending and winter break is near, and that means tests and other things I must get ready for tests. Yeah...that's the end of my short-lived poetry session. Maybe I'll post some of my more successful poems. What do you guys think of that? Just comment.

So at the start of 2012, I made a goal on for how many books I would read! I made the goal of 200. Many people questioned me on whether I would reach that goal or not. Yeah, well, for all of you who didn't believe I did read 200 books, and guess what? I'm on book 202. Now I have another week to read a ton of books. Now, I need your help. What do you guys think I should make my next goal for 2013? I'm thinking 250, but I'm in high school now, so there will be times of jobs and such, oh well.

Here's my favorite books I read this year(in no particular order):
Just click on the name of the book to get a synopsis, or my review.
The Selection by Kiera Cass.
Fall of Angels Trilogy by Keary Taylor
Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax by Trinity Faegan
Pulled by A.L. Jackson
From What I Remember by
Rock and A Hard Place by Angie Stanton
Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Divergent by Veronica Roth

I still have to write reviews on some of these books. Expect some more posts soon!

So people the world was supposed to end today... we survived! I am so happy! So how do you guys feel? Do you think that people will make another date another 5 or 10 years from now about the world ending? I definitely think so.

So the season of giving is near and I received a $25 gift card from Barnes and Nobles today from my Secret Santa! Thanks C.W. I love you! So what do you guys want for Christmas/ Kwannza(did this end already?) or what did you get for Hanukkah? I really want Warm Bodies by Issac Marion.

Check out his blog:

So if anyone wants to send me it just comment or message me! ;p Just kidding....maybe.

Happy Holidays,
Little Bookworm

Dec 16, 2012

Review: Sacrifice by Cayla Kluver

Sacrifice (Legacy, #3)Author: Cayla Kluver
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Number of Pages: 438

"This is not the time for the fight to end. Now is when the fight will begin. This is the time to regain what has been lost.Alera Queen of a fallen kingdom, secretly in love with the enemy.
Daughter of a murdered father, rebel with a cause.
One lives behind the former Hytanican palace walls and walks the razor's edge to keep the fragile peace in her beloved homeland. The other slips through the war-torn streets, seeking retribution for her family's tragedy, following whispers of insurgency.
Both face choices that will separate them from those they cannot help but love. As their stories intertwine, a conspiracy ignites that may end in slavery or death—or lead to freedom anew, if only each can face what must be sacrificed."
Oh my god. Was that an ending. I really enjoyed the first two books of this series, but the end of the second left me somewhat heartbroken and scrambling to read the third one. Now that I've gotten and read this book I feel as if I enjoyed it, but others would have been more disappointed by this book. I finished this book a while ago, but I needed to get off the high I was on once I read this book. 

Now you all probably asking why I thought other might not enjoy this book as much as the first two. Well my answer is because of the amount of action and war that this book includes. This series was based on the forbidden love between two people from warring kingdoms, but now in this book one of the kingdoms rules the other and rebellion and war consumes everyone. This makes the romance between the two characters harder. We relieve much more war scenes in this book than romance, and many may not like that. I happened to be fine with that and I loved this book. Mockingjay may have had the same response. Many people didn't like Mockingjay because it had much more politics and rebellion than romance in the book, and that put people off and like Catching Fire better. I happened to like Mockingjay better.

Another reason people may have not like this book as much is because of we get the perspective of new character. In the previous two books we only get the point of view of Alera, the main character. Now we are getting the point of view of a girl named Shashelle who is willing to do anything to help her kingdom regain their freedom. I was not as willing to read Shashelle's POV(point of view). I was so used to Alera's POV that Shashelle's thoughts were foreign and not something I liked. Eventually I got used to it and it became something to look forward too.

I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5 because of the ending. I felt that the ending of the book was weak in Shashelle's POV. I felt that it ended abruptly and left us at some sort of a cliff hanger to what happens in the future, which definitely not work considering that this is the last book in the series. Alera's POV was much more satisfying to read. It gave us a sense of what happens in the future and that she lives happily.

This book is a must read for people who love to read historical romance. I love Narian and Steldor, but I have to choose Narian as you people can see my Team Narian banner on the left side of the page. Go read this book people, and if you want me to write a review on the first two books just say and I will!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!!

Dec 15, 2012

The Edge of Never

The Edge of NeverAuthor: J.A. Redmerski
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

OH MY GOD! I think I just died a little. Like seriously, I feel lighter. When I got to the last page of the book I felt my head just tip towards my shoulder as if something had just gone missing. I FREAKIN LOVE THIS BOOK! 

Here's the synopsis:

"Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.
Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she’s ever known, far behind.
With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.
But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she’d do. He shows her what it’s really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desire. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew’s dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?"
Yes, I know I didn't give it a 5, it isn't some mistake. I just found that the book went a bit too fast and I really do want more from the ending of the book, but otherwise the rest of this book just got 5+ stars. It passed my test with flying colors. This book was so freaking heart-warming. I was so close to crying when I got the news about Andrew. I could feel the blood drain from my face, this is really where I thought that the book could have gone on longer. I felt that Redmerski could have put us through some more pain just so we could feel more connected to this scene in this book. 

I loved Cam's innocence in this book. It wasn't too innocent where it just seemed that she was just a child, but it wasn't like she had no innocence left in her. I felt that there was an equal balance between the two, and that's how it should be for a character like Cam. Cam was a bit closed off at the beginning and that she was sort-of dependent person in some situation, but eventually Andrew was able to help her grow out of that. I simply loved that.

Andrew Parrish....what to say? Now, I'm not going to gush about him (well, not a lot at least) and scream about how I want him for myself. No, that is not going to happen. Andrew, is one hell of a character. He is everything a girl wants. He's got a bad-boy side, but not too bad boy that he's constantly in trouble. He may be a bad-boy but at the same time he is such a sweet guy, he is caring, loving, and just faithful. That letter he wrote to Cam was so touching, it just made you want to cry and just want that type of love for yourself.

The plot in this book was amazing. It was superb and it makes me want to either a) read a sequel to this book or b) read a book very, very, very similar to this book. I really did love this book and while I know this book doesn't have a capability to have a sequel I would still love to read one. No matter how short or bad it would be. I want to know what happens next in the life of these brilliant characters. If anyone of you read a book and it is similar to this book please, please, please just message me and tell me. I really do want to read another book like this. Thank you!

I am telling you people to read this book. Really read this book. You will not be disappointed. Instead you will be ecstatic, and happy that you ever read this book. Just look at that cover! Is that not beautiful?!?!? I think it is, and it contains all three of my favorite colors! (Red, black, and white!) SERIOUSLY PEOPLE READ THIS BOOK! Also, don't forget to keeping reading. Happy Holidays! 

P.S. I just want to thank Annie for gushing about this book so much that it just compelled me to read it. Thank you so much Annie! I have read so many amazing books because of you!

Just a discretion if you plan on reading this book, it does contain mature content!

Dec 12, 2012

New Book Releases (Week of 12/10/12)

Hey guys! So I'm thinking about starting posts about new teen book releases. I will do this weekly if there is a cool book coming out. If you guys like this please do tell, and if people like it I will continue. Ok, onto our first book release.

So yesterday, or Tuesday, December 11th Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout came out. This is the third book in the Lux series. This series is very popular, or at least it is on Goodreads. The first book was Obsidian and the second was Opal. The titles seem to be the names of certain rocks that effect these creatures.

This series is paranormal and it is about aliens. Not the most talked about creature recently, but this one is one of the popular alien books. Here's a synopsis of the first book Obsidian:
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.
Doesn't it sound really good? You will end up loving Daemon, but then you just want to kill him one sentence later. I am really excited about reading Opal because we finally get the point of view of Daemon. In the previous two books, we just had Katy's point of view. So guys give this book a chance, you won't regret it. This is Opal's cover:
Opal (Lux, #3)
It's so pretty!
So that is all that I have for today and the rest of this week, but I know that I have at least 2 for next week so stay tuned! I will have a review for My Life Next Door up soon!
Below are some links to purchase Opal. Just click on the store that you would want to buy it on!
Buy Opal at:

Dec 9, 2012

Review: Defiance by C.J. Redwine

Defiance (Defiance, #1)Author: C.J. Redwine
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST READ?!?!?!? This was freaking fantastic! AHHHHHHH! I FREAKING WANT TO BUY THIS BOOK NOW! Ok, I'll try to calm down now. *takes a couple 100 deep breaths in* Ok, I'm a little bit calmer now. Sorry if I start spazzing out on you guys again.

Here's the synopsis:
"Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city's brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father's apprentice, Logan--the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making."

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.
As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making."
Let me just say that this book was absolutely amazing which you probably figured out from my introduction. At the beginning of this book I thought this book was going to get like a 4 star rating because at the beginning people just tended to show up very abruptly and randomly, and it really confused me. It was like "Wow, umm OK abrupt topic change" kind of thing. I really, really, really did not like it, but it was a small thing so whatever. Also, I felt that the romance was beginning to quickly in this book. It was as if this book wasn't very well written. I understand that Rachel had feelings for Logan before this book started but still....

Then I read on, and OH MY GOD! Did the rest of the book make up for it? Hell yeah! There were scenes where it looked like Rachel and Logan were going to kiss, and I was holding my breath and waiting for it too happen and then....I got nothing. Those were the moments that really made me want to read on. This book had just the right amount of romance and action. The romance didn't overpower the action and the action didn't over power the romance. This book was meant for action and we got it. There were some parts in the book where I was like "Wait what?" because I just totally thought that something different was going to happen. I love how the author just kept us on the edge of our seat and just totally kept us surprised and wanting to know what that next shocker would be.

Let me introduce you to our first main character, Rachel. Rachel is such a strong character, and I love her for that. She is the type of person I would want to be. She is totally self-less in a way. She is just so caring and it seems that if she loves someone it is unconditional. That is the way I want to be able to love. She is a fighter...literally. Women in this society need to be looked after. They aren't safe on their own, they need to have someone to be at their side constantly when they are out in public, it isn't safe for them physically. Rachel is trained to be able to fight and she tries constantly to be able to use that power, but in this type of society she just can't. Punishment can be very hard on most and can leave people dead.

Then we have our second main character, Logan. I freaking want Logan. He is such an amazing guy. He knows how to control his temper. He has a straight head and know dumb from stupid and right from wrong. He is strong and courageous and just like Rachel he loves with a fierce power. Logan was orphaned when his mother was lashed to death by the Commander (ruler of the city. I will have a few sentences about how much I hate him in a few minutes). Logan has considered Rachel's family his own and therefore, he is right with Rachel when her Dad goes missing. He wants to find him, but unlike Rachel he wants to go out with a plan. Also, just so you know Logan is supposed to be handsome and funny so that makes him even better. ;P

Now onto the Commander. I freaking hate him, over course. I'm supposed to hate him, and I really do. I have no idea what happened to him at the end of the book, but I have a few things in mind about what I want to have happened to him, but I'm not going to say because it would either contain spoilers or it is just a little gruesome...OK, a lot of gruesome.

I really loved this book and hopefully I can buy this book and read it again, and again, and again. I can't read it again right now because it's going back to the library tomorrow. Really people, go out and read this. It is really an amazing read. You will fall in love with this book and characters. Tell me what you think of this book afterwards! Just comment. Also, this is supposed to have a sequel because it is part of a series but there is no news of a second book so once I get some news I will post it.

Here are some quotes from the book that I loved:

“I ache to hear her tell me she loves me, but forcing her to put words to how she feels pushes her further into the silence she seems comfortable calling home now. I tell myself to be patient and understanding, but inside there's a longing only those words will fill, and it hurts to ignore it.” ~Logan
*  *  *  *
“...because on some basic, soul-deep level within me, he is the solid ground beneath my feet.” ~Rachel
*  *  *  *  
“I need you, Logan. Just you"
I tighten my grip on her tunic. "Why?"
"Because I still love you." Her voice catches. "I never stopped. I thought I had. I wanted to. But somehow .. it's like a part of you lives inside the most important part of me, and I don't know how to separate the two." Tears spill over, tracing a glistening path down her cheeks. "I love you, Logan"
Joy surges through me, brilliant and wild. I cup her face in my hands and wipe away her tears. "I love you too, Rachel. Always" And then I do my best to use the full hour I've been given to kiss her senseless.” ~Logan
*  *  *  *
“I'm no longer a daughter.No longer a granddaughter.No longer a girl with dreams. With hope.I'm a weapon, now.” ~Rachel

Dec 8, 2012

Review: Boys, Girls, and Other Hazardous Materials by Rosalind Wiseman

Boys, Girls and Other Hazardous MaterialsAuthor: Rosalind Wiseman
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Here's the synopsis:
"Looking for a new beginning after a terrible mean girl past, Charlie Healey realizes there's no escaping high school drama...
Charlie Healey thinks Harmony Falls is the beginning of a whole new life. Middle school was brutal. But high school is Charlie's big chance to start over and stay out of drama, except that on her first day she runs into Will, her ex-best friend, who had moved away. Now a varsity athlete and hotter than Charlie remembered, Will hangs with the crowd running the school. But Charlie doesn't understand their power until an innocent delivery guy falls victim to a near-deadly hazing prank.
Torn between doing what's right and her secret feelings for Will, Charlie must decide whether to turn in her very best friend or live with the guilt of knowing what he did.
Rosalind Wiseman's first novel for young adults is a fresh, funny, and juicy read about friendship, betrayal, and how far some will go to be accepted."

That was really good! I was expecting something average. Like "OK I just read that whatever," and then just walk away from it, but I really liked this book. The first few pages were not so well written, but gradually it became less amateur and a lot more fun to read. I loved some of the points that this author hit about high school and friendships.

Charlie had two friends in middle school that pushed her around and got her into trouble and then blamed her for everything. She was being bullied by her own friends. This does happen a lot. I know quite a few people who have gone through this. I also went through this. Eventually Charlie did see that her friends were taking advantage of her and she took a chance and moved to a different high school to start anew. There she meets her old next door neighbor who used to be her best friend until he moved away. She also meets a friend from her old school who she ended up bullying with her two friends. Eventually, she and her old friend forget the past, create a truce and become friends. Wiseman does point out that bullying can be serious.

Another topic that Wiseman points out is hazing. In school, many freshman boys would try out for Varsity Lacrosse. For making the team the juniors and seniors would make them do things that were unpleasant and dangerous. Examples: running people over, drinking so much alcohol that some may pass out etc. Is being good enough to make varsity in your freshman year a crime? You should be getting congrats not being put through abusive hazing. Wiseman points out that some of the freshman boys were so desperate to be on the team that they would put up with this abusive behavior. Even if it meant hurting strangers in the process. Is being on a team really that important.

In my opinion, the most important point given in this book would be doing the right thing. Even if it means hurting someone you care about. Charlie, the main character, had to go through some times where she disagreed with what her friends were doing and she had to make the decision of choosing to turn them in or ignoring the bad things that her friends were doing. In some cases, when Charlie made the right decision by turning that person in they would get mad and ignore her, which hurt her, but in some cases they would realize that she did the right thing and they would be fine with it.

I think that this book is a really good read. I loved Will! Can I have him? Like seriously? Then again, I thought that Trevor was a total tool and an asshat. GET A LIFE TREVOR AND GET SOME GUTS! I loved Nidhi she was such a nice person and she cared for everyone. Sydney was...I just loved her. She reminded me She had the same obsessive behavior when making the float for homecoming and I would have gone off at Trevor just like she did.

Review: The Rules of Survival by Nancy Werlin

The Rules of SurvivalAuthor: Nancy Werlin
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just so you guys know, it didn't choose to read this book. I had to read either this or Fat Kid Rules the World for summer reading. I actually really liked this.

Here's the synopsis:
"For Matt and his sisters, life with their cruel, vicious mother is a day-to-day struggle for survival. But then Matt witnesses Murdoch coming to a child?s rescue in a convenience store, and for the first time, he feels a glimmer of hope. When, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt?s mother, life is suddenly almost good. But the relief lasts only a short time. When Murdoch inevitably breaks up with their mother, Matt knows he needs to take action. But can he call upon his hero? Or will he have to take measures into his own hands? A heart-wrenching portrait of a family in crisis, this is Nancy Werlin?s most compulsively readable novel yet."

Wow! What a touching book. I read this book for school and let me tell you I was not at all excited to read this book. When I did start to read this book it was amazing. I loved it. I felt that Matt was such a vivid character. He at first was very scared of his mother but as he continued to grow older he became less scared and more worried about helping his family. I loved how he was so brave and selfless.

I found that the whole book was basically the plot and so there really was so problem at all that would start somewhere in the middle of the book and be solved at the end. Instead the problem started on the first page and basically ended on the last. I really don't like to read books that do that but in this book it worked.

Nikki, the mother, pissed me off way too much. What mother, even if she is crazy, gets their first grader drunk just to shut up? Honestly, I wished that Matthew had kicked her head in. At least she wouldn't she wouldn't be terrorizing anyone even after she had left them.

I wished that in the book the author had written about what had happened to Murdoch. I had known from the beginning that he had been abused as a child but I wanted to know more. All I got that it was his dad that had abused him.

Review: The Hollow by Jessica Verday

The Hollow (The Hollow, #1) Author: Jessica Verday
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Here's the synopsis:
"A love like no other...
When Abbey's best friend, Kristen, vanishes at the bridge near Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, everyone else is all too quick to accept that Kristen is dead...and rumors fly that her death was no accident. Abbey goes through the motions of mourning her best friend, but privately, she refuses to believe that Kristen is really gone. Then she meets Caspian, the gorgeous and mysterious boy who shows up out of nowhere at Kristen's funeral and keeps reappearing in Abbey's life. Caspian clearly has secrets of his own, but he's the only person who makes Abbey feel normal again...but also special.
Just when Abbey starts to feel that she might survive all this, she learns a secret that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her best friend. How could Kristen have kept silent about so much? And could this secret have led to her death? As Abbey struggles to understand Kristen's betrayal, she uncovers a frightening truth that nearly unravels her - one that will challenge her emerging love for Caspian, as well as her own sanity."

What did I think about this book? I had mixed feelings about this book. At first it was a lot of fun to read and I didn't worry about anything, but then I got about halfway through the book and I started thinking about what I had just read. I realized that the plot had come to a complete stop after Abbey had found Kristen's diaries. I was just reading about Abbey's everyday life and what was going on. I guess there will be a purpose for all that in the series but honestly it was a lot of not needed information. If I wanted to read a book on someone's life and a book that didn't have a plot I would go read Gossip Girl.

OMG! Caspian. He is the perfect guy! Besides him being like not alive and a ghost. He was really starting to piss me off with the whole I'm-not-going-to-touch-you thing. I thought he would end up being some kind of story character of The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow book. That guess was definitely wrong. I felt bad for the guy.

This book overall was pretty interesting and I definitely will be reading the next book. Hopefully that will be better!

Review: Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton

Rock and a Hard Place (The Jamieson Collection, #1)Author: Angie Stanton
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Here's the synopsis:
"One day while watching the Interstate exit for her dad’s long awaited return, Libby’s life is rocked when Peter Jamieson steps off his tour bus and into her life. After a couple chance meetings with Peter, Libby breaks away from her rule abiding behavior and her life changes course.

Peter longs for normalcy away from the screaming fans who know nothing about the real him. He is amazed to discover Libby has never heard of him or his band. Soon their friendship turns to love. While Peter battles his family's growing interference so he can spend time with Libby, she struggles with her eccentric aunt who turns more bizarre each day.

Their lives are torn apart when Peter's family intrudes and Libby disappears. Peter’s desperate search for her comes up empty. Can they find their way back to each other while the world plots against them?"

OK I already had a review for this book, but honestly it just wasn't good enough for this book.

Here's the old review:
This book was awesome!!!! I rarely give books 5 stars but this was definitely deserving. I could not put the book down! I was reading this straight until my mom made me put the book down so I could get some sleep.

Really?! Is that all I had to say, because if I remember correctly I was raving about this book to my sister and friends. This book was one of the best book ever written. It was so good. I don't really like giving books a rating of a 5, because no book is perfect but this book was perfect. There were no boring parts at all. I was constantly reading this book at all times. If my mom made me put it down to eat or sleep (yes, I didn't even stop to eat or favorite pastimes) then I was only thinking about that. It was kind of freaky how into it I was. I even dreamed about it. Yup, definitely creepy.

Peter was such a sweet character. He was the perfect boyfriend. Kind, caring, funny, good-looking, and he's a rock star! What more can a girl ask for, right? I wanted him to just appear in front of me. Even after 2 months I still want him to appear in front of me. I loved how he pulled so much just to find Libby. How many boyfriends would do so much to find their girlfriend?

Libby, the troubled girl, she was so adorable! Libby was so strong to go through with all her aunt's crap. I probably would have socked her in the face a couple of times. I would have never been able to hold back as much as she did. I do respect Libby for going through all that and not giving up hope.

Angie Stanton created an amazing book that I will not be forgetting anytime soon. I just read the sequel and it wasn't as good as this book but it was good. I hope Angie writes a sequel with Garrett as the main character. He needs a girlfriend to help loosen him up. He is too stressed with all the band drama and work around him. I salute you Angie Stanton! You are one of my favorite authors! <3

Review: Branded by Keary Taylor

Branded (Fall of Angels #1)Author: Keary Taylor
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars 

Here's the synopsis: 

"Jessica's had the nightmares for as long as she can remember. Nightmares of being judged for people who have died, of being branded by the angels. Her friends and family think she's a crazy because of it all. Yet she carries the mark of the condemned, seared into the back of her neck, and hides it and herself away from the world.
But when two men she can't ignore enter her life everything changes, including the nightmares. The two of them couldn't be more different. She will do anything to be with one of them. Even tell him the truth about angels, why she never sleeps, and the scar on the back of her neck. But one of the two has set events into motion what will pull her toward her own judgment and turn her into the object of her greatest fear."

Oh My God! Do I have a lot to say about this book. Throughout all the books I have read in my life that include angels or fallen angels, I have never read one that portrays all angels as evil. It doesn't matter whether their the angels of Hell or Heaven. In this book they did that. I didn't know, going into this book that it was going to be about angels. 

The synopsis didn't say much about what type of creature they were. I thought this was about the fey, or as in simpler terms, faeries. The whole branded, or silver designs on your body thing usually goes along with the whole fey thing. I really didn't like my whole image of angels changing, it really made me just want to put the book down, but I had gotten like halfway through it and it was pretty good so I finished it. 

Wanna know what I thought of this book? Well.....I EFFING LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! <3 I really liked-no LOVED this book. If you sort of ignore the whole angels are evil thing it is an amazing book. I decided to not judge the book on the angels being bad thing because it's not fair to judge a book on the whole concept (even if I do that A LOT), but here the author was truly being creative. Keary Taylor really thought that people would enjoy the concept and people do! I'm just bias because I've never read a book like this. 

I really thought that Jessica was such a saint for being as kind as she is and having to endure the pain and nightmares that come along with those brands. If I were here I probably would have been a total bitch to everyone and wouldn't have given a damn about Sal. Yes, that is the sad truth. 

I loved Alex. He just seemed like a guy I would have loved to be friends. He apparently has the best smile which I can totally picture. I loved the sacrifice that he made at the end of book for Jessica. I thought I was going to cry. 

Cole......AGH! I'm not talking about him, He's an asshole, so screw him. This was an amazing, amazing, AMAZING book. I am already half way through the second book, Forsaken, it's not as good but still a lot of fun to read. 

These books are turning out to be emotional. I really hope that I won't be comparing the bad angel thing to Patch next week when Finale comes out. YAY!!! If it does, I will have to lower the rating down to a 1. I doubt it will though. GO READ THIS BOOK!!!!

This book is free for the kindle on Amazon, so you all might as well try it out. I doubt you'll regret it. Also, she will sign a copy for you if you email her at

Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent (Divergent, #1)Author: Veronica Roth
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Here's a synopsis:
"In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her."


OMG! OMG! OMG! I FUCKING LOVED THIS BOOK! Sorry about the eff bomb but I really loved this book. Usually if I really liked a book I would finish it in a day or two, but I couldn't just finish this that fast. I really did enjoy reading this book a lot. I had to savor this book one page at a time. I had been waiting over a year to read this book, and it's not that I couldn't get my hands on it, I was waiting for the chance to buy my own copy then read it. I didn't want to read it from the library or something then realize it was amazing and want to buy it. I wanted to read my own copy first. I don't have a lot of complaints about this book. Their not even complaints, just little things that confused me or just bothered me.

1) Al tried to kill Tris and then he killed himself because he felt guilty. He never liked Peter or his cronies in the first place so why would he join them and try to kill Tris when he likes Tris. We figure out that he has a crush on Tris. Why would he try to kill that same girl? It just bothered me. I felt that that exact moment when we figure out that Al is dead is a major turning point in the book. It shows the amount of stress and competition that has come up between all the Dauntless newbies.

2) Peter died but he was shot in the arm. How does someone die that quickly from a gun wound to the arm? Chad came to follow Tris when she had instructed him to stay with Peter because he was injured and she didn't trust him. So where did Peter go? Did he really die or did he end up getting help? They didn't discuss this or even give us any hints about it. This really confused me.

These were really the only thing two things to bother me in the book. I really felt for Tris when her mom died. I loved how much her mom sacrificed for her not being afraid that she might die, but I guess that comes along with being a Dauntless. I found Tris to be such a strong character. She was told that she was a Divergent, she had the choice to be in three groups: Dauntless, Erudite, and Abnegation, but I felt Tris also had Candor's intelligence and Amity's feeling for taking care of people. I found that Tris just had that glow of intelligence around her but her willingness for taking care of people was shown when she volunteered to take Al's place when Four was going to throw knives at Al because Eric thought it would be a good punishment for Al because he wouldn't go pick up his knives while everyone else was still throwing theirs. Tris is such an amazing character.

Now, to the character I have been waiting this whole review to talk about...Four or Tobias! Depends on what you guys call him. I like Four better, I don't think that Tobias totally fits Four's personality, so I'm just going to call him Four instead of Tobias. Anyway, I LOVE FOUR! <3 He is such a hottie! Yeah, he is, you guys can't deny it. I really thought my heart was going to break when we found out that Four was Tobias and his father abused him. He was abused so he left the Abnegation and transferred into the Dauntless. I felt so bad for him. The boy is afraid of small places because he used to be locked in the hall closet. Or I think it was the hall closet or at least some sort of closet. Also, when I found out that he too was a Divergent I was jumping up and down. It proved how much Tris and Four deserved to be together. It was a total "Yay!" moment.

Briefly I want to comment on the Dauntless being controlled to kill Abnegation. God, that was heartbreaking. I thought that I was going to cry my heart out. I was really upset. When Four became controlled, God, how much can a girl weep? I thought that the book would end that way and I would end up giving this book a negative 500. Yeah, it upset me that much, but eventually when Four came to his senses I was so happy and I thought it was such a great problem.

This book was amazing and I would recommend it to anybody and everybody. I can't wait until I can buy Insurgent and read it. I am so eager to hear about what happens in the rest of Tris and Four's relationship. I found this picture on Tumblr and found it absolutely hilarious. So after I read Insurgent I can't wait to read Detergent! Lol. I really want to figure out what the third book cover looks like and what it will be called. Will there be five books? One for each group? It would makes sense since the covers have the group symbols on them. I loved this book. GO READ IT PEOPLE!

Review: Gabriel's Inferno by Sylvain Reynard

Gabriel's Inferno (Gabriel's Inferno #1)Author: Sylvain Reynard
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Here's the synopsis:
"Enigmatic and sexy, Professor Gabriel Emerson is a well respected Dante specialist by day, but by night he devotes himself to an uninhibited life of pleasure. He uses his notorious good looks and sophisticated charm to gratify his every whim, but is secretly tortured by his dark past and consumed by the profound belief that he is beyond all hope of redemption. When the sweet and innocent Julia Mitchell enrolls as his graduate student, his attraction and mysterious connection to her not only jeopardizes his career, but sends him on a journey in which his past and his present collide. An intriguing and sinful exploration of seduction, forbidden love and redemption, "Gabriel's Inferno" is a captivating and wildly passionate tale of one man's escape from his own personal hell as he tries to earn the impossible...forgiveness and love."

I don't have a lot of things to say about this book, but good lord was this book long. I think I read this book for four hours straight and I wasn't even half way done.That made me really mad because, of course, later on in the book it got boring, but overall it was still pretty captivating. At first I hated Gabriel because how big of a jerk he was. So what if he didn't know Julia? She was his sister's friend and he still should have been nice. Afterwards, I absolutely loved him. I loved how he vowed that he wouldn't take her virtue even if she offered. I found it so sweet how much care he took over her. This was an overall enjoyable book and I really want to read the sequel. I really do recommend this to people. The only negative thing was the length and that it got boring after awhile. The next book is Gabriel's Rapture and I am trying my hardest to get it as soon as possible, but life is just not cooperating at the moment so hopefully I can get it soon. I was very harsh when rating this because it was lengthy and therefore became boring so here is some praise for it;

"This is not only one of the best debut books this year, but Reynard is one of the best new authors this year. 5 stars."
- Donna of Offbeat Vagabond

"It's not very often that I am left so affected by a book, but this one took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions ... This novel is thought provoking, entertaining and beautiful. 5 stars."
- Nix of Scorching Book Reviews

"This is one of the most romantic and sensual stories I have read ...the words he writes will sing to you. 5 stars."
- JJ of JJ iReads

"I was seduced, entranced, and completely satisfied ...The narrator, and its characters were equally charming and sinful. 5 stars."
- Tigris Eden's Garden of Books

Review: Over You by Emma McLaughlin

Over You Author: Emma McLaughlin
Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 304


"After the grand explosion of her relationship, seventeen-year-old Max Scott developed what every girl in the history of the world has been waiting for: a way to get over being dumped. Now Max is the go-to guru for heartbroken high-school girls all over NYC. But when her ex unexpectedly shows up in her neighborhood, Max’s carefully controlled world starts to unravel. With her clients’ hearts hanging in the balance, Max will have to do the seemingly impossible: get over him once and for all.
Brilliant at bringing humor to the trials and tribulations of the lovestruck, #1 New York Times bestselling authors Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have crafted a tale that will resonate with any girl who has ever been in love or had her heart broken. It brims with smart observations, features a pitch-perfect teen voice, and will attract fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Mlynowski, and Lauren Barnholdt. Readers are sure to fall head-over-heels for this sharp spin on breaking up, making up, and getting even."
Well holy crap. I really truly loved this book. When I started to read this book I was scared as hell that it was going to be one of those books that had the prettiest covers but then had the crappiest plot line and story. Thank God that didn't happen! 

This book was very well written. The writing style was really hard to follow for the first hundred pages. It was very confusing to read, but eventually I got used to it and so I decided not to judge the book on that. 

Then oh my God! When she kissed Hugo! I think I literally punched the wall. Not kidding. I was pissed...not just pissed, like burning rage that makes you want to go Hitler on people...well maybe not that mad, but I was pissed. Then she saw Elizabeth and she totally told Hugo off. You go girl! 

Ben is such a freaking sweetheart. I can totally picture him as one of those popular guys that are extremely shy with shaggy brown hair. *Sigh* He's just so...perfect. I really hope that I find my Ben one day. He's the type of guy that I want. Sweet, cute, and caring. 

I FREAKING LOVE ZACH! Zachary I love you. Too bad your gay. Grrrr. I loved how in this book they didn't make him overly gay that it was obvious. He was just like a normal guy except that he liked other guys. He didn't like girls. 

Phoebe I just didn't understand. I kept on forgetting who she was. She was just that person in the background who no one really cared about. I thought that she could have been incorporated better but I honestly don't care. Is she some girl. I really liked her as a character. She was very entertaining for some reason. 

Now Max, the main character. You are like the best main character ever! I want to give a Best Character Award/Best Personality Award or just Most Vivid Character Award. She is so human...yeah, I know. Of course she's human, that is suppose to be the point. I've read books that the characters just seem so fake. They make these decision that any real person would have trouble making, but Max didn't do that. If it was one of those fake characters she would have never kissed Hugo or have kissed Hugo then realize what she did was wrong and bitch slap him. Not Max, she actually spent the night with him. That really made her come to life. Some people would like to think that they would resist but they probably wouldn't. *cough* me *cough* 

Yeah....Well this book is definitely going on my Books Worth Reading List. GO READ THIS BOOK PEOPLE! I loved this book. Salute to Emma McLaughlin.

Review: 5 out of 5 stars!!